Customer Reviews for

Get Known Before The Book Deal: Use Your Personal Strengths To Grow An Author Platform

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    Better for non-fiction writers than novelists

    There was a little bit of good information in it for fiction writers, but most of the information pertained to non-fiction. The content was okay, but the voice was pretty boring and at times, egoistic. It was basically a waste of money for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good book about building a platform!

    I am working my way through this book slowly as I apply Katz's concepts in the real world. I really like what she says and I've increased my personal influence as a result. Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Authors, you need this

    Hopefully new authors will read this while they're writing their books or they'll learn the hard way that building an audience starts way before publishing. Christina spells it out in a chatty and very personable way. Easy to understand. (5 stars for those who don't mind chatty.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Step By Step Approach to Creating a Writing Platform

    "Get Known before the Book Deal" is made up of a philosophy of authorship and strategies and methods important and essential to getting known while establishing a platform. Christina Katz answers questions on what a platform for a writer is, why it is important, and how to build a writing career around your unique platform.

    The book is organized into four phases: Platform -- development and building, Book proposal -- development and pitching, Book writing, and Book marketing. The format is reader friendly with fast paced narrative, highlighted topical headings and exercises for practical application.

    The pages are packed with keys, tips, suggestions, and valuable information which include everything from becoming visible, cultivating your expertise, developing your style, connecting with others, to web site design.

    "Get Known Before the Book Deal: Use Your Personal Strengths to Grow an Author Platform" is an important reference and resource guide for every beginning writer and for those established authors struggling with distribution and marketing issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    New Point of View

    GET KNOWN BEFORE THE BOOK DEAL was a revelation to me. I was barely starting to Tweet when I read Christina Katz's tweets and decided to buy this book. Now every email promotes my blog and I try to visit Twitter,Facebook,and some of my Followers and Friends every day. Because my agent is pitching my current YA ms. set in a DV shelter, I blog weekly about my experiences there. I'm already planning post-publication promotions,which orgs to contact,the best review sites, etc. I have learned a lot from all these activities and wouldn't have even thought about a platform before the sale without reading GET KNOWN BEFORE THE BOOK DEAL. If you're a writer, you need to read it!
    Patricia H. Aust http://bit.ly/rural writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book for those wanting more exposure

    Christina does a great job providing thoughtful and compelling ideas on creating your platform. She writes in a way that keeps you entertained while learning. I highly recommend this book and in fact, can't stop talking about it with all my friends!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you want to be a writer, READ THIS!

    Just read "Get Known" over the summer and have already implemented many of the ideas to build my platform. Didn't even know I needed one of those! This book is a must for both the budding author and the seasoned, published author alike. READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Prescription for a Powerful Platform

    Katz is witty, smart, and she talked directly to me on each page of Get Known Before the Book Deal in a way that I, not being a techie, could comprehend.
    Got a book to be published, even just thinking of one? Your Platform, yes, with a capital P, is what it's all about today if you want to get your book sold. Christina will give you the recipe - she practically measures out the ingredients for you along with step-by-step instructions - to do just that. Now get cookin'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Road Map for Getting Known Before You Publish

    Christina Katz's new book, Get Known Before the Book Deal, is an easy-to-follow guide on how writers can become known to a wider audience and increase their chances of landing a book deal with a reputable publisher as a result. As with her first book, Writer Mama: How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids, the author offers practical advice that the reader will want to refer back to over and over again.<BR/><BR/>The book is divided into three sections that clearly identify how to get started, how to hone your image and how to reach a wider audience all while putting your most professional foot forward. It's a great primer for learning how to market yourself, an essential skill for writers in today's publishing world. Even if you're fairly savvy on promoting yourself, Katz's book offers ideas and details that can only enhance what you are already doing. I plan to use this book to help me set goals for the new year and many new years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1