Customer Reviews for

Get Lucky

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    No place like texas

    This is a great easy read that sucks you into the lifes of these vivid people. I enjoyed the story and look fotward to more from this auther

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute Story!

    Very cute story about two sisters and one pregnancy! Good secondary characters including Sarah and Mackie's dad's new fiancee and the zany preservation library people that Sarah works with. A quick read - great for reading out on the deck or at the beach. Read her earlier books too - they are fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An author to watch

    Ms. Center became a part of my world last year after I read raving reviews for Everyone is Beautiful. Unfortunately I didn't get the chance to read it. When I heard her latest book would be released in the spring of this year, I immediately added my name to the wait list. My only regret is I waited to start reading her books.

    Get Lucky is a fascinating story between two sisters Sarah and Mackie. Sarah makes one careless decision which costs her her job. Uncertain what to do next, she flies home to spend the holidays with older sister Mackie. Mackie and her husband have attempted several times to conceive a child. When Mackie informs Sarah they have decided to give up, Sarah decides for once she will take care of Mackie and offers to become their surrogate. Little did each sister know the impact this will have on their lives.

    What I liked most about Get Lucky were the relational themes throughout the novel. At first glance, it's obvious the story is about sisterhood. Ms. Center delves deeper and explores parental relationships, the loss of relationships and forming new relationships. Just when we think everything is okay, the past has a nasty way of blindsiding us. Until that moment of sudden impact, little did we know it was there all along shaping us and protecting us in all our relationships. Center does a great job of examining the unhealed wounds of the past.

    So, yes I'll admit my first thought of Get Lucky was a quick, light read. But after reading the last page and closing the book, I realized it was much, much more than that. Take a lesson from me, don't wait to read a book by Katherine Center. Get Lucky was my first read, but will not be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Fun Read

    Fun and enjoyable summer read. I read it on my honeymoon to St. Croix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    Katherine Center's Best Yet!

    This is a touching story about honesty, losing yourself, finding yourself and trusting your gut. Sarah loses her highpowered advertising job in NY, returns home to Houston to be with family and ends up being a surrogate for her sister and her husband. But this story is WAY more than that! Katherine Center writes characters with heart, spunk and that are so human you fall in love! I read this book in one day and will read it again. Bravo Katherine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Get Lucky

    A sister's relationship is something that is indescribable. They are often more than best friends. Because, like Katherine Center points out, there are times when even best friends come and go. But a sister, a sister is forever.

    Get Lucky was a fast, emotionally charged read. I was chuckling one second and wiping tears the next. The ups and downs of being a Sister were what this story was built on. And Katherine Center nailed it. From the unbelievable devotion to the frightening hints of jealousy to the sharing clothes and eating ice cream in bed. The relationship two sisters have will, without a doubt, may be the most important relationship they ever have. I absolutely adored this book. Katherine Center has a gift when it comes to writing about human relationships and she certainly nailed it with Get Lucky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging family drama

    In New York, Sarah Harper is rising to the top at an advertising agency. However, she suddenly feels remorse and guilt over her bogus bra campaign. She drafts an email with pictures of boobs while confessing that her ad campaign was B.S.; she accidentally (on purpose as she rationalizes that dumb decisions can be good choices) sends it to the entire firm .

    Fired, she flies home to Houston. Her sister Mackie and her brother-in-law Clive take her into their home. Mackie tells Sarah that they have tried for a baby for years but failed and is resigned that she will not conceive. She has told Clive no more. Sarah offers to serve as the surrogate mom, which the couple accepts. Nine months of carrying has Sarah confused as she wants Clive and her former boyfriend Everett while she and Mackie drift apart. Making matters worse for the battling siblings, their widower dad announces he is getting married.

    This is an engaging family drama in which the sisters act at any moment as if they are ready to rumble. Amusing throughout, the story line gets deep inside the siblings yet for the most part fails to dig into how it feels to be carrying your sister's baby from the perspective of both. Mindful of the movie Baby Mama, fans of a lighthearted contemporary will want to read Get Lucky.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2