BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Get Out of My Life, but First Could You Drive Me and Cheryl to the Mall?: A Parent's Guide to the New Teenager

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Survival Guide

Before I read it I thought I was going insane! Now I understand is all normal and okay! Through humor it helped me remember how difficult and awkward this time is, not only for me, but also for my teen. This book is a great guide of exploration of our feelings and daily...
Before I read it I thought I was going insane! Now I understand is all normal and okay! Through humor it helped me remember how difficult and awkward this time is, not only for me, but also for my teen. This book is a great guide of exploration of our feelings and daily experiences with our teenagers.

posted by Anonymous on October 13, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What a crock!

If anyone wants to know what is wrong with our children today, he needs to look no further than books like this one. A couple of examples: on page 134, when a daughter has lied to her parents about going over to a friend's house, Mr. Wolfe says, "Beyond confronting Meli...
If anyone wants to know what is wrong with our children today, he needs to look no further than books like this one. A couple of examples: on page 134, when a daughter has lied to her parents about going over to a friend's house, Mr. Wolfe says, "Beyond confronting Melissa with her lie and letter her know that they don't like it, there is little more that parents can or should do." Or really! On page 164 when a son has skipped school dententions, his parents should let their son know they don't want anymore calls from the school. Mr. Wolf says, "Beyond that, involvement may be counterproductive." Yea, just let him skip school with nothing to fear. I'm when he gets into trouble with the law, he will expect the same treatment. In addition, Mr. Wolf believes that when your teens says "F-you" to you, you should walk away. He also believes that condoms should be freely available to anyone, at any time. Anyone who believes that their teen should be responsible and understand that their are consequences to their actions should steer way clear of this nonsense.

posted by Kevin_CMD on March 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    So helpful!

    I feel like carrying this book around with me for moral support. Dr. Wolf really knows what we parents of teens are going through and helps us understand what our teens are going through as well!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    Survival Guide

    Before I read it I thought I was going insane! Now I understand is all normal and okay! Through humor it helped me remember how difficult and awkward this time is, not only for me, but also for my teen. This book is a great guide of exploration of our feelings and daily experiences with our teenagers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    This book is just what I needed to read

    I loved the book, it was recommended by my son's teacher who read it while dealing with her teenage daughter. I can't believe the similarities to the conversations that my husband and I have had with our teenage sons. I was beginning to believe that by some grievous error in parenting that I had created a monster. Just knowing that it wasn't my fault and that I'm not alone in the insanity that is involved in living with and raising a teenager is reassuring. I had so many "ahah" moments while reading, it was like he took the words right out of my son's mouth. The insight that Dr. Wolf provides into the real meanings of what teenagers say and do is so right on target, it's amazing. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has a child who is close to or going through those awful teenage years. Before reading this I could feel the gray hair and ulcers forming at every confrontation I had with my sons. I now feel a great sense of relief.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    What a crock!

    If anyone wants to know what is wrong with our children today, he needs to look no further than books like this one. A couple of examples: on page 134, when a daughter has lied to her parents about going over to a friend's house, Mr. Wolfe says, "Beyond confronting Melissa with her lie and letter her know that they don't like it, there is little more that parents can or should do." Or really! On page 164 when a son has skipped school dententions, his parents should let their son know they don't want anymore calls from the school. Mr. Wolf says, "Beyond that, involvement may be counterproductive." Yea, just let him skip school with nothing to fear. I'm when he gets into trouble with the law, he will expect the same treatment. In addition, Mr. Wolf believes that when your teens says "F-you" to you, you should walk away. He also believes that condoms should be freely available to anyone, at any time. Anyone who believes that their teen should be responsible and understand that their are consequences to their actions should steer way clear of this nonsense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    I laughed, I cried

    I read this when my daughter was 14 and we were making each other crazy- she is now 25 and we get along great. What I remember about this book was how I felt the author knew exactly what I was going through and showed me how to change our interpersonal dynamics. One of the books that have really mattered in my life. Read it , read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Thank you for my sanity

    My daughter is a junior in high school and we were driving each other crazy with so many things from sports to boys to college choices. I have learned so many new concepts from this book, basically pick your battles and remember who the parent is. I carry it in my purse and share it with many moms and dads. Easy to read, and a terrific learning tool - I just had to put down the highlighter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2006

    I refer it constantly!!!

    I read this book years ago because of conflict with my daughter. It changed our lives and I refer it to friends constantly. I think it is outstanding!!!!! Make it so your kids can't push your buttons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    recommend this, very helpful!

    I have just barely started this but it came highly recommended! I am enjoying the developmental information so far on teenagers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    CTTDWFFGGTT

    Bhhvghy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Helpful and Funny

    If I had to pick only one piece of priceless advice in this book, it is how to end the bedtime struggle that draws bedtime out for hours and hours.

    Not only did I Ohhhh and underline a lot, but I also found myself laughing out loud while I was reading it.

    The best thing I can say about this book is that I first read it when my child was in 1st or 2nd grade and 8 years later I still use Wolf's information and guidance to both understand my child and to iron out trouble spots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    A must read for all parents of teens

    I am not a big reader of parenting books - but I have to say this one has changed my family life. A friend recommneded it after hearing about some of the issues I was having with my teenagers, so I picked it up - now I am recommending it to all my friends who have teens.
    The book is a very easy read - I read it in an afternoon and it is so helpful. Now that I understand why my teens are behaving the way they are I can be calmer and not take things personally. So many of the conversations he describes in the book have taken place in my house - word for word! I have put to use some of Dr. Wolf's recommendations and they really work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2