Customer Reviews for

Get Positively Beautiful: The Ultimate Guide to Looking and Feeling Gorgeous

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    So helpful!

    I read Carmindy's first book "The Five Minute Face" and whilst it focused on wearing the proper makeup for your age, this one is even more informative and gives you the tips and techniques for working with our individual features! I think Carmindy DID take our suggestions after her first book came out and really delivered some useful advice. This book is stellar and compliments the first one well!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Carmindy has done it again

    As with her first book, Carmindy celebrates the faces of all women, but the tips she offers are universal. In this book, I particularly loved the makeover section, where I saw real women who are gorgeous but don't fit society's warped standards of beauty, and I love the way Carmindy made them look their best without changing their look. I also learned a few tips that I can use on my own face. Thank you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Give Yourself A Makeover

    This comprehensive book is every woman's dream for how to properly use make-up. Chapters include tips for each separate area (eyes, skin, lips,) along with separate chapters for tools and travel. I especially like the before/after full size color photos and tips chapter called, "Everyone Loves a Makeover." A shopping guide is located at the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    Positively beautiful book!

    I absolutely enjoyed reading this book! It made me feel good about myself! The eye chapter was my favorite. Probably because it was so well illustrated. I wish the others (cheeks, lips, etc.) were like this chapter. Otherwise, it is easily understood. I am 44 years old and have been putting on eye shadow the same way since I was in high school. Needless to say I was bored! So, I made myself try the different techniques and WOW!, they work. Today I am a new person. Thank you Carmindy, for putting all your secrets into a book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    Beautiful Book

    This book made me happy just looking at. The colors, photos and text throughout are amazing. It just uplifts you to keep reading through. I loved that the message was about being beautiful as you are. The only thing I would love to see improved is how the makeup steps are explained. In one spot of the book, they show a diagram of an eye to show where each product should go. I would have loved to seen that done in other areas for the book, such as lips, cheeks, blemishes, etc. Altogether though, this book is great. I liked it much better then Bobbi Brown's Living Beauty.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Book! Great Message!

    First let me say that this book is simply gorgeous! The photography and layout of the book is superb and very eyecatching. The thick, glossy pages make it almost sinful to browse and read through this book. I was expecting the usual makeup/beauty book, but that's not what I got. This book is as much, if not more, about becoming a beautiful you from the inside out. Carmindy wants every women to realize that she is unique and is beautiful and to use those attributes to present your best you to the world. Definitely a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Make-Up 101

    I have always wanted to learn how to apply make-up so that it accentuates my positive features, plays down my negative features, and does not look unnatural or overdone. I have also wanted to be able to purchase a staple of cosmetic and skin care products that does the job well but without costing a fortune. In addition, I have wanted to develop an effective daily skin care and make-up regimen that doesn't take a long time to perform. I believe that Carmindy's book has helped me to achieve all of these goals! It has become THE source of make-up ideas, techniques & products for me, and I find myself reading sections of it over and over again while taking notes. Thanks to Carmindy's extensive list of specific product recommendations, I am now able to go shopping for beauty and skin care products with knowledge and confidence and without wasting time and money. The photography in this book is breath-taking and inspiring for women of all ages and beauty types. Carmindy's message throughout the book about all women being beautiful in their own unique way has finally hit home for me, as I am no longer as self-critical when I look in the mirror. I would highly recommend this book to any woman who currently feels overwhelmed when trying to develop or improve upon a quick & easy make-up and skin care routine that works beautifully!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Ok

    The book was ok. I think that it could have had more how-to and a bigger selection of people to choose yourself from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1