BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Get Well Soon

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I Loved It, And Highly Recommend

First off, the idea of a giant yellow frowny face on the cover was genious. My copy curently is sitting on the front of my bookself, just screaming 'LOOK AT ME I'M YELLOW'. And Second, I love this book. The main character, Anna, has the best personality and thought proc...
First off, the idea of a giant yellow frowny face on the cover was genious. My copy curently is sitting on the front of my bookself, just screaming 'LOOK AT ME I'M YELLOW'. And Second, I love this book. The main character, Anna, has the best personality and thought process for mental patient, and it wasn't at all sad. I found myself laughing at least tree time a chapter. That's another thing I liked, the chapters were in a letter/journal entry format, making it feel more like a personal telling rather than a narrative say-so. So far, I've read it about nine times, plus some parts over. If you're looking for a short, quick, yet funny read, this is definately the right choice.

posted by irideon on December 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

You¿ve Got to Read this Novel This book is about a depressed gir

You’ve Got to Read this Novel
This book is about a depressed girl named Anna Bloom. She gets sent to a mental hospital by her parents, there she meets a cute boy that likes her. The author Julie Halper does a good job on putting the book together, she wrote the story as...
You’ve Got to Read this Novel
This book is about a depressed girl named Anna Bloom. She gets sent to a mental hospital by her parents, there she meets a cute boy that likes her. The author Julie Halper does a good job on putting the book together, she wrote the story as if Anna were writing a note to her best friend, Tracy who is a caring and loving friend. The author Julie Halpern did an amazing job putting the book together, she is a very talented writer. I wish I could tell you more about this awesome book but I don’t want to spoil it for you. I would not mind reading this book again it was great.

posted by YourEverydayReader on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    You¿ve Got to Read this Novel This book is about a depressed gir

    You’ve Got to Read this Novel
    This book is about a depressed girl named Anna Bloom. She gets sent to a mental hospital by her parents, there she meets a cute boy that likes her. The author Julie Halper does a good job on putting the book together, she wrote the story as if Anna were writing a note to her best friend, Tracy who is a caring and loving friend. The author Julie Halpern did an amazing job putting the book together, she is a very talented writer. I wish I could tell you more about this awesome book but I don’t want to spoil it for you. I would not mind reading this book again it was great.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    hope369. Click for a review.

    This book is DA BOMB. Why? Because it has reallh amazing mixed feelings. It tells about a girl who APPARENTLY has mental problems because of her weight! Her parents are eighter worried about her or doesnt care about her. But you must read the book to find ojt. Of course people make fun of her b/c of her size. Hen jer parents send her to the mental hopital her eye caught a boy chich is cute and seems sweet. But she dont understand why he is at the mental hospital. Later when they talk to each other more they actually are falling in love with each other. Cant tell you more. But you should read it really its very good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    More than love?

    Omg i freaking loved this book!!! i rate this book 10 million stars out if 5!!! :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    A must read

    This book was absolutely refreshing

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    I Loved It, And Highly Recommend

    First off, the idea of a giant yellow frowny face on the cover was genious. My copy curently is sitting on the front of my bookself, just screaming 'LOOK AT ME I'M YELLOW'. And Second, I love this book. The main character, Anna, has the best personality and thought process for mental patient, and it wasn't at all sad. I found myself laughing at least tree time a chapter. That's another thing I liked, the chapters were in a letter/journal entry format, making it feel more like a personal telling rather than a narrative say-so. So far, I've read it about nine times, plus some parts over. If you're looking for a short, quick, yet funny read, this is definately the right choice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    I picked this book up at a used book shop for a quick, light rea

    I picked this book up at a used book shop for a quick, light read. I received that, though I was a bit disappointed by the ending. I suppose it was just too much to ask for it to continue a bit longer (once you read it, you'll understand). Overall, good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Good short read

    A true look into the mind of a teen in need of some help

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Love it!

    I just love it, I've read this before and I'm definitly reading it again <3

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Best book ever!!

    Funny yet emotional. I love Justin!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Yes

    I love this book i just absolutly positivly LOVED IT best book i have ever read i love it and recommend it to EVERYBODY CUZ ITS SO GOOD! fav book rating 5 stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Semi-lighthearted look at depression

    Having never been in a mental institution, I don't know exactly what they're like. However, having suffered through depression and considered going to a mental institution, "get well soon" describes it much as I imagined. At least the main character's experiences and feelings are much how I imagine I would feel in the same position.

    Teenager Anna's parents send her to a mental institution after she can't make it through a class without a panic attack and so stops going to school. She is admitted as a "PSI II - Possible Self-Injury Level II," which she describes as "meaning I could kill myself at any moment, so someone has to watch me constantly." After a rough start, Anna soon finds a bunch of misfit teens to befriend and help her survive her healing time. Though she starts to feel better, she holds the very real concern, will I still be okay when I leave this place?

    Julie Halpern has created a likable character in Anna, who keeps a good sense of humor throughout her ordeal and genuinely seems like the type of person you'd want to befriend. This story could appeal to anyone who is wondering what it's like to feel depressed, as well as to any teen looking for an underdog tale where the ignored become popular and personalities trump outward looks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    AWSOME BOOK

    OMG this book is madd good ihts like funny cute and sadd =]] i would recomend this book to somebodyy if yu need some cheering uhp wen yur sadd

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    ??????

    HOW MANY PAGES???????
    HIHI

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Erica hamby here read

    Hey boo i love you youre wounderful please dont cut or anything your amazing yourll find someone oneday dont be upset life sucks yes but it will get better soon i will be here forever i love you respond if you ever felt said kik me ericameagan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    To the

    The the third most helpful review: who cares how long u were waiting in line?!?! Talk about why u thought the book was so good geez! And why so many extra letters? Ttttttthhhhhaaaaatttttsssss sooooooo unnessaryyyyyyyy

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I read this book a year ago and really enjoyed it and now I'm re

    I read this book a year ago and really enjoyed it and now I'm reading it again. Its a book about a mental hospital and depression but it makes me happy and laugh. Anna is a unique character that is so honest, I love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    True to experience!

    I absolutely freaking adore this book. I must first admit that I myself was in a psych ward as an adolescent for close to the same reasons as Anna. This book though funny is very true to the atmosphere in there. You really have to make your own fun. And the no contact rule is spot on! I love that this book told the story so that people might relate with people that have gone through this. I &lt;3 this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    I absolutely loved Get Well Soon. I thought it was a great book and reccomend it for everyone. It really makes you think and wonder. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    Wow, I couldn't stop thinking about this book once I read it. MY summer was very boring, all I did was sit at home. I found out that I loved to read. All summer I went to the public library and checked out books. I started to check out five books in one day and read them all in one week. One day I saw Get Well Soon. It caught my eye but once I read the teaser it caught my attention. There was no way that I could turn down this book. <BR/><BR/> This book has a great story and wonderful comedy. My favorite books are about teenage love stories. I am a teenager myself and I love it. I beleive that Halpern should make a second Get Well Soon book. This book touched my heart and made me wonder. It truly gave me great interests on how Halperns other books are. I can't wait to read them! If you like teenage love stories like I do then you would check out some of theese books I have read during the summer!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: GET WELL SOON

    I came across Julie Halpern's first novel while browsing the offerings over at Feiwel & Friends. I was so grateful they were publishing LONG MAY SHE REIGN that I grabbed CARPE DIEM and GET WELL SOON as well because if they're publishing Ellen Emerson White books they not only have superb taste, they deserve my undying loyalty. Plus, both books just looked good. GET WELL SOON tells the story of Anna Bloom, a depressed teenager whose parents commit her to a mental institution when her panic attacks get in the way of her going to school. Alone, overweight, and braless, Anna starts writing a series of letters to her best friend Tracy as a way of staying sane despite being surrounded by drug dealers, Satanists, pregnant cheerleaders, oh my! <BR/><BR/>Anna's voice is at times bitter, amused, desperate, and uncertain. But it is always matter-of-fact. And it is this quality that is most appealing. I never got the feeling she was sugar-coating the way things were or trying to put something over on her reader. She writes all of these letters describing her experience in minute detail yet she doesn't send a single one. They stay in her room with her, her roommate Sandy, and Sandy's plastic baby Morgan. They seem to be a way of processing the unimaginable thing that has happened to her. By keeping them she can continue to review and add on to the narrative so that when it is time to go home there will be a record of how she survived. In an ironic twist of fate, life in the mental hospital turns out to be more interesting and "healthy" for Anna than it was outside. She makes friends who understand her and who do not send her "Get Well Soon" cards as though she had chicken pox or mono. Despite the absurd hospital workers and a few admittedly crazy fellow patients Anna is able to be herself. Paradoxically, the confining walls give her the space she needs to figure out not only what happened to her, but what she will do with this new-found self knowledge. I laughed repeatedly while reading about Anna and Sandy, Justin and Matt O. I felt about like Anna did when the time came to leave the hospital. I wasn't ready. A little more time in the loony bin, please. The real world can wait. But Anna had to go back home and the book had to end and I'm happy I got to spend this time with her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3