Customer Reviews for

Get a Financial Life: Personal Finance In Your Twenties and Thirties

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    A Mother's Gift to Her Son

    When our son graduated from Law School, I got him this book. He had never had a credit card, had his first car loan and had school loans he had to pay. I honestly didn't think he would read the book, but decided it was worth $10 to try! Once he started it, he never put it down. Within a few weeks, whenever we discussed anything related to finances, he was quoting the book to me! It is the BEST $10 I ever spent!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Great Book

    This is a top rated book that both of my son's enjoyed receiving over the holidays. They were grateful for having such useful information written in a clear and concise manner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2006

    A workbook for early-career savers

    Books like Beth Kobliner¿s have to earn their place on your bookshelf. After all, these days plenty of personal finance advice is available for free on the Internet. That said, this book is a wise investment for early-career professionals who would like advice about getting out of debt. Although its guidance is solid-if-predictable, it is well-researched and straightforwardly written. Kobliner provides an authoritative 'further reading' list for those who want to delve deeper into how to get their finances on an even keel. This book does not promise to make you rich overnight, and it doesn¿t exactly qualify as a page-turner, but it lends a helping hand. We recommend it to young people whose financial life is just a bit too exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Changed my Life

    This is by far the book that had the greatest impact on my life. I recommend this book to everyone. As an engineer coming out of college I never had any classes in finance and when I graduated I had some big debt. This book helped me change all that. I got the book when I was 23 and was in $35,000 in debt. Now I'm 30 and own a house, rent out my condo, and have 0 debt besides my mortgages. Get this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Empty buisiness lot

    Three stories. It costs 500,000,000.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    Loved this Book

    I bought the original in 1996 and I think I'm going to buy the updated version for my boyfriend. I found it so helpful and it definitely got me on the right track. Spells the vital stuff out without 'talking down'. Excellent first financial book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Advice for young adults

    This book covers many of the basic requirements needed by those in the early stages of their financial lives. The advice is excellent and the author points out the importance of beginning a savings and investing program while still young. In addition, she covers many topics offering good guidance for her readers everyday lives, including how to decide between renting or buying, how to find a bank and choose the right type of account to open, etc. My only complaint with her advice is the suggestion readers "consider mutual funds your entire investment universe, at least for now." That is bad advice. Now is the time for learning how to invest in individual stocks and how to use options to make those investments safer. Learning how to make careful stock selections is worth the time and effort, and IMHO, using mutual funds is not the best path to financial success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    We're in the money

    I purchased this book for my 21 daughter. She is buying her first home and getting married next spring. Thanks to what she has learned from this book she is now also contributing to her 401K and has come to realize that new cars are a bad investment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2001

    Help hints, data, thought and memorizing

    I found that Kobliner's book had allot of help and hints and in some cases she had to much insight into the financial world. However, I am in my early twenties reading this book and I've realized that the more you know about the financial world, the better. Read at your pace...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    Got a copy for each of my daughters

    I read several books of this type looking for some generalized financial information for my two daughters. I settled on this one and recently asked if it had been helpful. Here's the response I got: 'Very readable. Very easy to understand. Doesn't expect you to understand *anything* about finances prior to reading the book. And also has an understanding attitude, like 'ya, ya, I know you don't *really* feel like thinking about this stuff so let's make it as quick and painless as possible...'. The first chapter is sort of like cliff notes too, just a quickie overview of some of the most important stuff. I read some of the other stuff on car buying and loans, and...oh, I forget what else...credit card stuff I think... I recently lent it to Rebecca and she found parts of it useful. She mentioned especially stuff like 'if you have credit card debt at 16% interest then pay that off before trying to put money in a saving account that's only giving 4% interest'. Stuff that you *know* but when someone spells it out for you, you think about actually doing it. Oh, and stuff like there's a table in there somewhere that tells you how long you should keep stuff like bank statements, and tax files, and other paperwork that I, at least, seem to hang on to indefinitely until I either run out of space or move.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    Salvage your Financial Life...Buy This Book!

    I bought this book 4 years ago, when I turned 30. With school loans, credit cards and past due taxes, I was over $25,000 in debt. I was a financial mess! I read the book cover to cover and followed Ms. Kobliner's easy to understand steps. I purchased my first home last year and I own a new car. More importantly...4 years later, I am totally DEBT FREE. I am about to order the 2000 edition to help me start investing on-line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2