Customer Reviews for

Getting Air

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    Getting Air

    This book was AWESOME!!! It was so funny! This book makes you want to read forever and ever! I could NEVER put it down until I finished the book! This book teaches you not only important lessons in life but it also teaches you lots of survival skills. If your one of those kids who LOVES airplanes (like me) you will LOVE this book even more! My mother came home one night from work and bought me this book. Then I went in my room and started to read this book Getting Air by: Dan Gutman. I read the book in two nights until I finished every last page. As you see right now you probably think you are going to love this book like I did. This is the BEST book I EVER read in my ENTIRE LIFE!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Jimmy, David, and Henry are off to do what they do best - skateboard. They call themselves the Woodpushers. <BR/><BR/>On a plane headed to California, they hope to skate their way into the money-filled pockets of some big-league sponsors. Along for the ride is Jimmy's younger sister, Julia, and a plane full of old ladies headed for a knitting convention. <BR/><BR/>The Woodpushers' big plans are dramatically detoured when four terrorists hijack the plane. All of the passengers ban together to overpower the hijackers, but unfortunately the pilot and co-pilot don't make it. With no one able to fly the plane, Henry uses the knowledge from his one flying lesson to crash-land the group in the deep woods of Canada. The six survivors include the three skateboarders, sister Julia, one stewardess, and Mrs. Herschel, an 80-year-old knitter. <BR/><BR/>Thanks to the amazing knowledge of Jimmy's sister, Julia, the group is able to start a fire and find water and food to survive. Readers will be entertained by crazy antics, a few scary moments, and the group's efforts to get along in a stressful situation. <BR/><BR/>Although the story is pretty unrealistic, most reluctant readers should find it entertaining and fast-paced. GETTING AIR is a fun summer read or one that will make returning to school next fall a bit more enjoyable. This one is definitely worth adding to your Dan Gutman collection.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    A Great Book

    This book was great I liked how Dan Gutman had the idea to make a survival story. The book is about a team of skateborders who are about to go on an adventure in Californa when their plane gets highjacked and only,Henry,Zimmerman,David,Julia,Arcadia Nd Mrs.Mildred Herschell are left they need to survvie. This is Dan Gutmans best book yet and I dont know why anyone would think differenyly.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    A good eye catcher

    Getting Air, Dan Gutman Jimmy-He¿s 12 years old and he loves to skateboard with his friends. Henry-He is a funny kid and is Jimmy¿s friend. David- He is a brave friend that also loves to skateboard. Julia- She is a girl scout and also Jimmy¿s sister. Arcadia-She is the flight attendant that is on the friends¿ plane. Mrs. Hershel-She is a old lady that was going to a knitting convention. Jimmy Zimmerman is dreaming that he is a pro skateboarder. Jimmy and his friends are on a plane and hijackers take it over. Jimmy and his friends take control of the plane again. The plane crashed in Canada. They set up a campsite to sleep. They make a fire to signal any aircraft over head. They search for water and find dirty water that they can't drink. They use seats and the plane as shelter to sleep in. They find berries to eat but they are not amazing. David comes back and had gotten bit by a snake. They eat the snake that David had already killed. The boys go hunting for food with spears but the girls stay back and catch a rabbit. Then they eat the bunny. All of the boys make a half pipe to skate they use the plane overhead and start to build it. They get rescued and skate their half pipe that they were working on. In middle Canada in a forest. The author is teaching teamwork. I like this story because in every chapter you want to read more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    As Aa AWsome

    Bestt book ever

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great book

    This book was awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    Jimmy, David, and Henry are off to do what they do best ¿ skateboard. They call themselves the Woodpushers. On a plane headed to California, they hope to skate their way into the money-filled pockets of some big-league sponsors. Along for the ride is Jimmy¿s younger sister, Julia, and a plane full of old ladies headed for a knitting convention. The Woodpushers¿ big plans are dramatically detoured when four terrorists hijack the plane. All of the passengers ban together to overpower the hijackers, but unfortunately the pilot and co-pilot don¿t make it. With no one able to fly the plane, Henry uses the knowledge from his one flying lesson to crash-land the group in the deep woods of Canada. The six survivors include the three skateboarders, sister Julia, one stewardess, and Mrs. Herschel, an 80-year-old knitter. Thanks to the amazing knowledge of Jimmy¿s sister, Julia, the group is able to start a fire and find water and food to survive. Readers will be entertained by crazy antics, a few scary moments, and the group¿s efforts to get along in a stressful situation. Although the story is pretty unrealistic, most reluctant readers should find it entertaining and fast-paced. GETTING AIR is a fun summer read or one that will make returning to school next fall a bit more enjoyable. This one is definitely worth adding to your Dan Gutman collection. **Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka 'Readingjunky'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    AWSOME

    Classic

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Nedding air ? Needing air?

    This bokk is ggreat rrreeeaaaddd iiittt!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Best book EVER!

    I love this book.i read it in fifth grade and i read it now. love it .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    Awesome

    THIS WAS THE BEST BOOK I EVER READ IT MADE ME WANT TO READ IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    ummm whatv umm what the fuck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Terrible book

    How the hell did this book get published. First when they are trying to survive they are hanging around skating on the wings of the plain. Also Damn guttmen has written better books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Awesome book

    Getting air is the best book ever its funny when theres a hold up on the plane he does something crazy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Atheism 101

    This is generally a good story about a group of kids that survive a plane crash and spend a few days in the woods. The only issue I had with it is in chapter 8 a full 3 pages are spent on atheism. I felt like the author was pushing his beliefs on my child. I think it was completely unnecessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Swords!!!!!!!###!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    / c[}::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Awesomesause :D

    A great short read :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Awesome book

    It was really fun to read and it kept me reading highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    This book has some ups and downs

    Gutman, you out did yourself. But, I disagree with some of the langage you used. I know kids might not care, but, you parents do. The words for 98% of ths book was good, but two words I disagree. Yes, I know that part is interseting, ( actully my second favorite part :) but those were very strong words so that is why I am only giving four stars. Other than that AMAZING book. Like I said before, you really out did yourself.
    My favorite part was when Mrs. Hershel (she`s 80) does the halfpipe on the airplane.


    I am a kid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    I love this book

    This book is my fav book of all time incoulnt put it down until i finnished i highly recomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3