Customer Reviews for

Getting More: How to Negotiate to Achieve Your Goals in the Real World

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Worth learning!

    This is the most helpful guide to negotiations I have found yet! The system Stuart Diamond presents is sound and inspirational. The entire book is geared towards anyone striving to improve his or her negotiating skills. It contains numerous examples of how people have overcome their fears and pre-conceived ideas in a situation and have been rewarded with what they wanted the most. Getting More prompts us to stop and consider that most negotiations fail because they forget to take into account the emotional needs of both parties. Stuart takes the reader on a journey through the basics of human social interaction and reminds us that only when we begin to see the entire array of needs involved can we ever realize our goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Not just for the workplace!

    As soon as I began to read Getting More, I wanted to try to use the strategies Stuart Diamond provides. My first challenge came in the form of my two daughters who were noisily playing in the office I share with my husband. Trying to finish some work, I was getting frustrated, unable to concentrate. Remembering this book, I decided to try out the Getting More strategies. First, I (clarified the goal) which was to get the girls out of the office and playing somewhere else. Next, I (identified the problem) which was that they were happy where they were and didn't want to leave. I decided to offer them something (unequal trade) to entice them. That's when my husband unexpectedly gave me the next step (gather more information). He reminded me that they hadn't seen him all day and were there because HE was there. I quickly consulted with him, (finding the person who can make the decision) and then offered them the chance to have him spend time with them, if they would just wait somewhere else until I was finished. To my delight, they agreed! This was the first time I attempted to use the strategies provided in Getting More, but it most certainly won't be the last! Using only 5 of the 12 strategies Stuart provides, I had success in a situation that would normally have ended in tears! I would highly recommend this book to anyone, not only for business, but for family interactions as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    You will be thinking differently during negotiations after you read this book! Getting More covers every aspect of a negotiation from the making a human connection at the beginning to how to know what the cost will be if you walk away. Stuart Diamond delivers a detailed and concise guide to follow in any negotiating situation. There are many notable points to remember in this process, but Stuart has provided a Four Quadrant Negotiation Model to download at the Getting More website to aid in the process of learning to use these tools. This is not just a rulebook for winning. It's a lesson in how to treat people in order to achieve your goals and have healthier relationships in the process. Learning and applying these tools, at work or in your personal life, won't only change your negotiating style, it will YOU.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    A really great read!

    This book has already started making a difference in how I deal with people. Like Stuart Diamond suggests, I find myself asking more questions in order to understand the person I am negotiating with. It's amazing how much calmer and in control I feel when I am putting the strategies from Getting More to work.

    Part psychology, part strategy, and part common sense, this book is full of great examples of people who have mastered the art of negotiation using Stuart Diamond's teachings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Very Useful

    In a clear down-to-earth way, Stuart Diamond shows us how to get more out of negotiations using 12 practical strategies. This process doesn't come across as a quick-fix solution, or a way to manipulate people. In fact, it made me want to take the course Stuart teaches as a follow up! These strategies will definitely be useful both in the work place, when making purchases, and at home.

    Even the first step of clarifying your goal in a negotiation is something many of us overlook. We think that our goal is one thing when really it is another. Getting More has definitely gotten me to take a closer look at what it is I want and how to get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Well organized and applicable

    This book will change the way I view negotiations from now on! It was refreshing to find a new way of viewing the situations I come across. I feel more prepared to take on the hard negotiations now and armed with Stuart's 12 strategies, I know that I will definitely find myself getting more from these encounters.
    Stuart charts a course that anyone can follow.The 12 strategies are the stepping-stones.
    1. Goals are paramount.
    2. It's about them.
    3. Make emotional payments.
    4. Every situation is different.
    5. Incremental is best.
    6. Trade things you value unequally.
    7. Find their standards.
    8. Be transparent and constructive, not manipulative.
    9. Always communicate, state obvious, frame the vision.
    10. Find the real problem and make it an opportunity.
    11. Embrace Differences.
    12. Prepare-Make a list and practice with it.

    Along with these key steps, Stuart provides purposes for each of these strategies and shows how you can select from them in any situation. In addition, he supplies real world examples of the many who have honed these tools and how they have proven to be effective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Brilliant!

    Have you ever found yourself fruitlessly trying to get someone to help you get what you need only to be met with anger and unfounded resistance? Getting More holds the answers on how to deal with exactly these situations. Stuart Diamond does an incredible job of mapping out the strategies required to turn an argument into a successful negotiation. Stuart breaks down the negotiation process in detail and shows the reader exactly where they should be each step of the way. With multiple examples of others who have used this system successfully, he provides the evidence that these strategies really work. I was inspired to change my own style of negotiation completely after reading this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    A good resource

    This book is full of sound negotiation strategies and I have already begun to use them and share them with the people closest to me. However, I can see how these strategies not only take practice to master, but a willingness to use them. Stuart reveals that it takes a personal connection with the person you are negotiating with and I am sure it would be very difficult for some people to achieve that. Most people are too caught up in their own needs to stop and consider the situation from the other persons point of view, as Stuart suggests, even when it might benefit them. Overall though, I found this book to be very insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Kind of skeptical

    The process in Getting More could be an effective, but it isn't a process that can really be simplified. In a typical situation, such as the ones described in the book, I imagine you would have to have not only read the book but also have taken the course to be as prepared as some of the people in the examples. Even though this process could certainly be used by anyone, it would still require a large amount of courage to face an intimidating person who may even cause you bodily harm (as in one of the examples). I would like to have seen more variety in the stories showing times that it didn't work and what could have been done different. Not a bad starting point though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Well Written

    I really appreciated Stuart's approach to ethics in Getting More. In no way does he condone unethical behavior in negotiations. In fact, he adamantly seeks to show that you will get more from being truthful, honest and credible. This is not only because it is not acceptable, but because using lies and unethical practices are usually found out and can ruin the entire negotiation. Getting More shows clearly how much more likely someone is to help you, even at a greater risk to themselves, when they trust you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    A good read, but lengthy

    This book brought out some concepts in negotiating I hadn't thought of before. It was interesting, but packed with stories of people who had used the system and gotten things they needed. Even though these stories were encouraging, they added to the length of the book and I found myself skimming over them. It did give me some new ideas on how to negotiate though, and was worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Motivating!

    Getting More is excellent! I never realized how many opportunities there are to negotiate for more until I read this book! Stuart reveals 12 effective strategies to use in any negotiation and I now feel more confident knowing how to handle myself and others when negotiating. Even the simple step of eliminating emotion and replacing it with empathy will make an enormous difference!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3