Customer Reviews for

Getting Near to Baby

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

excellent

this book was excellent i have never read anything so sophisticated in my life.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a reviewer

I think That this was a very good book. It was sad, like walk two moons. But I enjoyed it. It is about two girls, Willa Jo and JoAnn (Little sister) who are temporaraly livind with their aunt Patty and uncle Hob. It is only temporary because the mom wants them back....
I think That this was a very good book. It was sad, like walk two moons. But I enjoyed it. It is about two girls, Willa Jo and JoAnn (Little sister) who are temporaraly livind with their aunt Patty and uncle Hob. It is only temporary because the mom wants them back. The reason they are there is their baby sister died. Little sister does not talk and what I think is very interesting is that Little Sister's real name is only mentioned once in the book. Through Sunday School and Cynthia, Liz Fingers and Sunsets, do they survive? Read it and find out. I know I already said it but I give this book 5 stars!

posted by Anonymous on November 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    excellent

    this book was excellent i have never read anything so sophisticated in my life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    I loved it

    This book is the greatest. I read the last 75 pages in a 45-minute period, and still got a 90% on the AR quiz. This book was very good and I was sad when it was over. I realy liked how the book ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2004

    When Baby died everything really did change!

    I found this book to be more amazing. It had so many emotions. There were happy, dissapointing, funny but mostly sad moments. This book was a Newbery Winner and after reading it you'll know why.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    Heart warming story

    In this book there is a girl named Willa Jo and her sister who is nicknamed Little sister. These girls live with their aunt Patty and uncle Hob because their mom is very depressed so she needs some time to be alone. She is very depressed because her other daughter name Baby died of drinking bad water in the fair. All Willa Jo¿s mom wants to do is draw pictures of baby with in angels in heaven. The girls get sent with their aunt Patty and they don¿t like it because they think all aunt Patty wants to do is boss them around. This of coarse is not true aunt Patty and uncle Hob really care about them. When they first get there, they have strict rules that they have to follow. Then the next day, aunt Patty took them to the store to buy them clothes and sandals so they can have something to wear. They later on learn to follow the rules and behave. When their mom gets better after a couple of months later, they go back to live with her. Little sister doesn¿t talk any more because everyone thinks shehas lost her voice because of the tragic accident. Until one day¿¿¿ I really enjoyed reading this book because there is always something that Willa Jo and Little sister are going to do. They are always up to something. This book helps you understand how kids feel when they are away from their parents and feel like no one understands them. For example Willa Jo and Little sister sit on top of the roof top to watch the sun set, since that¿s what they used to do with their mom. All they have left is the memory of them sitting together watching the golden sun. As soon as you pick up the book, you don¿t want to stop reading it because it always keeps you guessing what¿s going to happen until the next minute. The author really accomplish what he is trying to do by putting clues in the book with things that have to do in the title. You will think this book doesn¿t make sense until you actually get further in to the book then you will start comprehending how Life is for Willa Jo and Little sister.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    I Promise You'll Love It!!!

    This is one of my favorite books of all time! If you want a book that will make you laugh, cry, love, and think, then this book is for you. I guarentee you'll really enjoy it, and afterward you'll ponder the message the book gives for days - it's great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2002

    Wounderful!,Magnificent!!!

    I read this book and it is great....I loved it and i'm reading it for the fifth time now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    Getting Near Baby

    Getting near baby was a GREAT book. I really enjoyed the twists and turns in the story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    read this book!!

    This is actually really good. I didn't know whether I would like or not when I first checked it out, but after reading it, it's probably one of the best stories I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2002

    Great Book!

    This is a great book with a wonderful plot. I give it four stars. If the baby lived, I'd give it five.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2001

    This is a very good and well written book!

    This book is a very outstanding book that captures the characters feelings expressions, and most memorable moments. If you have the chance you'll be doing it for yourself to read this book,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2001

    Excellent book!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It is a sad topic as told through the eyes of the older sister, Willa Jo. I liked how the author let you know how everyone was feeling about each other throughout the book. It kept my attention from beginning to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2001

    Touching and well writen

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. It is so touching and sad and happy and the charaters are so easy to relate to. The author also made it seem like you are there. I LOVED it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    Excellent book!!!

    'Getting Near to Baby' is a very good book by Audrey Couloumbus. I think it is the best book I have ever read! It's about a girl named Willa Jo who has a sister named Little Sister who doesn't talk. Their aunt takes them in because their mom is trying to get over the loss of her baby and she doesn't think their mom is fit enough to raise them right now. I think this is a sweet story about a girl and her family tryiing to cope with the loss of her baby sister.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    a reviewer

    I think That this was a very good book. It was sad, like walk two moons. But I enjoyed it. It is about two girls, Willa Jo and JoAnn (Little sister) who are temporaraly livind with their aunt Patty and uncle Hob. It is only temporary because the mom wants them back. The reason they are there is their baby sister died. Little sister does not talk and what I think is very interesting is that Little Sister's real name is only mentioned once in the book. Through Sunday School and Cynthia, Liz Fingers and Sunsets, do they survive? Read it and find out. I know I already said it but I give this book 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2000

    WONDERFULL!!

    This book, 'Getting Near to Baby,' was one of the best books I have read in a while. It is a book about 2 young girls, Willa Jo and 'Baby Sister', and their sister has died and they have been sent away to their aunt's because their mother is sick. This book is full of 2 of the hardest things for kids to deal with: loss of a loved one and the separation of parents! I STRONGLY suggest this book to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    Touching Story about coping with loss

    This was beautifully written from the point of view of the oldest sister, but the reader also got a feel for the feelings of the other characters. My 5th grade daughter is reading it now and can't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Getting Near to Baby

    This is a wonderful story. Its sad and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Great book

    I have this. Read it many years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Two thumbs up

    I loved reading this book! It puts you into a young girls sandals and how painful it is to loose someone you love. Its hard to live with someone who dont exactly know; with new rules and new friends. Getting near to baby gives you a new way to look at things. Its an easy read book and you wont be able to put it down. It wasn't given a Newbery Honor Book award for no reason. Read it for yourself and experience what life for two young girls is like after being sent away from their mother after baby has died.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    Getting near to baby.

    The story is about two little girls named willa joe and little sister. These to girls had kind of a difficult life because they had to be away from their mother due to her depression problem.The story takes place in aunt's Patty's place she is a really strict women she likes everything perfect.The main characters are Willa Joe,little sister, and aunt patty. This book shows us how two little girls sufford but never gave up they cared for one another they were respectful little girls and very small they suffered a death in their family, the death of their little baby sister. I really loved reading this book is one of the best books i've read because its genre is about family it is always good to try to read a book were you might get a message from fo example this one. the author purpose for writing this book might be that a problem no matter how hard it is you have to try to get out of it because if you dont put effort to help yourself you will never get out of a serious depression. In my opinion i belive this is a really good book no changes have to be made because it is understandable and a really good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2