Customer Reviews for

Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

When Lauren Wood turns Helen Worthington in as the snitch for the senior prank, the last few weeks of Helen's 8th-grade year are torturous. When her parents announce that they are going to be moving from Michigan to New York, Helen couldn't be happier. She thought Laure...
When Lauren Wood turns Helen Worthington in as the snitch for the senior prank, the last few weeks of Helen's 8th-grade year are torturous. When her parents announce that they are going to be moving from Michigan to New York, Helen couldn't be happier. She thought Lauren was her best friend, but when she confronts Lauren, she finds out that Lauren intends to make it to the top of the popularity ladder. And Helen has no interest in the journey.

So imagine Helen's horror when her parents announce that they are going on a year-long meditation retreat and Helen is going back to Michigan to live with her grandmother. Her parents convince her that karma will catch up with Lauren and can't imagine that anyone remembers Helen's outing in 8th grade.

Thankfully, her grandmother is cool and helps convince her parents to let her enroll under a different name - Claire Dantes. It's only a little lie, as Claire is her middle name and Dantes is her mom's maiden name. And as the new school year approaches, Helen creates an intricate plan to get her revenge on Lauren, whom she's determined to dethrone.

Helen's plan seems to go off without a hitch. Break up Lauren and her boyfriend, done. Cause dissension among her friends, done. It's when she comes to beating out Lauren in the school play and getting her kicked off the cheerleading squad that Helen's conscience starts to get in the way. Innocent people are becoming involved, and Helen doesn't feel as good about her revenge as she thought she would.

GETTING REVENGE ON LAUREN WOOD started out slowly. But Ms. Cook develops the story at just the right pace for the reader to decide if they are rooting for Helen or feel sorry for Lauren. It was refreshing to see the popular girl get her comeuppance without that "all's perfect in the end" wrap-up. But to be honest, it was the secondary characters that I found the most appealing with this story. Lauren's sidekicks, Bailey and Kyla, weren't just two-dimensional characters taking up space. Helen's friend, Brenda, also develops her own backbone as the story progresses. And Christopher sounds simply delicious.

I'd almost like to see a follow-up book with these characters - getting revenge has never been so much fun!

posted by TeensReadToo on April 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

It kept me interested, however, the plot could have been more creative and less predictable.

posted by 6417116 on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    When Lauren Wood turns Helen Worthington in as the snitch for the senior prank, the last few weeks of Helen's 8th-grade year are torturous. When her parents announce that they are going to be moving from Michigan to New York, Helen couldn't be happier. She thought Lauren was her best friend, but when she confronts Lauren, she finds out that Lauren intends to make it to the top of the popularity ladder. And Helen has no interest in the journey.

    So imagine Helen's horror when her parents announce that they are going on a year-long meditation retreat and Helen is going back to Michigan to live with her grandmother. Her parents convince her that karma will catch up with Lauren and can't imagine that anyone remembers Helen's outing in 8th grade.

    Thankfully, her grandmother is cool and helps convince her parents to let her enroll under a different name - Claire Dantes. It's only a little lie, as Claire is her middle name and Dantes is her mom's maiden name. And as the new school year approaches, Helen creates an intricate plan to get her revenge on Lauren, whom she's determined to dethrone.

    Helen's plan seems to go off without a hitch. Break up Lauren and her boyfriend, done. Cause dissension among her friends, done. It's when she comes to beating out Lauren in the school play and getting her kicked off the cheerleading squad that Helen's conscience starts to get in the way. Innocent people are becoming involved, and Helen doesn't feel as good about her revenge as she thought she would.

    GETTING REVENGE ON LAUREN WOOD started out slowly. But Ms. Cook develops the story at just the right pace for the reader to decide if they are rooting for Helen or feel sorry for Lauren. It was refreshing to see the popular girl get her comeuppance without that "all's perfect in the end" wrap-up. But to be honest, it was the secondary characters that I found the most appealing with this story. Lauren's sidekicks, Bailey and Kyla, weren't just two-dimensional characters taking up space. Helen's friend, Brenda, also develops her own backbone as the story progresses. And Christopher sounds simply delicious.

    I'd almost like to see a follow-up book with these characters - getting revenge has never been so much fun!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Luv the book

    Omg i luv this book it is an amazing book .It inspired me like if your thinking about reading it and your a teen or a tween go for it.Like i wish i was still reading it .I hope her other books are this good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    OMGeee

    This book is sooooo goood!!!I hate reading but after reading a few pages in this book i waaass soooo hooked!!!! Definetly 5 starzzz!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    AMAZINGGG and ADDICTING!!!!!

    I absolutely luved this book!!!!! It was the BOM!!!!! I bought this book and waited to read it after i finished the other one and it was amazing that i finished it very quickly. Im not a big reader but this book is undescribable!!!!! I recomend it to everyone who likes drama!!!!! Its worth every penny and minute of reading it!!!!! 5 starz!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING

    I loved this book. My friend reccomened it to me and i couldnt put it down. I was 12 when i read it the first time and i re- read it when i was 13 and it was fine. A must read for all teen girls!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    This book is s good

    It is appropriate for 113 year olds trust me i am 13 :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Queen Bee

    This book was so awsome I want to read this book again! I LOBE THIS BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    friggin awesome!

    I loved it. I recomend it to teens :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    cool!

    Good book, but kinda graphic?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Read from Eileen Cook

    What teenager doesn't want to get revenge on someone who has wronged them? The game of popularity is more like a war, and when Lauren Wood throws her best friend Helen under a bus in order to rise to the top of the cheerleading pyramid, she gets exactly what she wants. And losing her lifelong friend is the cost.
    But what about Helen? The other students aren't likely to believe the truth, so she's thrilled when her parents move her across the country. Three years later, she has to come back, but she's got a plan. And there's nothing more delicious than revenge. Or is there?
    Once again, Eileen Cook amazes me with a realistic and funny storyline and characters with just the right mix of devious and heartfelt natures. I'll be reading it again and again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Loltruth

    So far me likey :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    I absolutely adored this book. The main character is really some

    I absolutely adored this book. The main character is really someone i think i can relate too in some ways, shes a bit of a nerd with films.
    The story plan is amazing though, its a typical story of two used to be friends but not in the same way. Lauren Wood, is Helen Worthington's 
    old middle school best friend. Lauren betrays Helen to get to the top of the food chain for high school, We all have a friend who changed
    for high school. Another thing i liked was how they included bullying, it gives the story so much more realness to it. Its not alll rainbows
    and unicorns. The word use is very good and it matches what teens in high school would say, which i find to be a big facotr. The book isjust a wonderful read, that i think any teen girl in highschool would love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    :)

    A really good book about revenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Hi

    Is this a good book 4 a 10 year old girl? Plz tell me!!
    ~Dani

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    I just cant get enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A juicy fun book - must read!

    Helen Worthington has been wronged. Very wronged. So wronged that after three years away, living on the other side of the country, she's still looking for revenge on her former best friend.
    But even when Helen's vengeful plan is going well and Lauren's life starts swirling the drain, Helen knows there's still something's missing. But what? And why, after three years of reliving her humiliation at Lauren's hand, isn't Helen feeling great about getting back at her former friend?
    GETTING REVENG ON LAUREN WOOD is a quick, fun read with real, three dimensional characters. I'm not going to lie, this book is a juicy read. Full of scandal, evil frenemy retaliation, boyfriend stealing and high school vigilante justice. But it's not just guilty pleasure fun; Helen learns a little something along the way with the help of her savvy but hip grandmother, a new friend and the school's hot bad boy. And who doesn't love a hot guy to help teach a girl a few things? GETTING REVENGE ON LAUREN WOOD is a great read and the perfect follow up to Eileen Cook's WHAT WOULD EMMA DO?.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2