Customer Reviews for

Getting Rowdy (Love Undercover Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Adorable Sexy Suspense Romance LORI FOSTER - GETTING ROWDY

Adorable Sexy Suspense Romance


LORI FOSTER - GETTING ROWDY

• Love Undercover #3
• 448 Pages
• release date - 24 September - 2013

Book #4 Dash of Peril will be out March 25 - 2014

Please read the first 2 books before you start with Rowdy's story. You will ...
Adorable Sexy Suspense Romance


LORI FOSTER - GETTING ROWDY

• Love Undercover #3
• 448 Pages
• release date - 24 September - 2013

Book #4 Dash of Peril will be out March 25 - 2014

Please read the first 2 books before you start with Rowdy's story. You will first meet Rowdy in book 1 - and he's SOOOO worth meeting! The other guys too - of course ¿

¿¿¿¿¿ 5 Stars

My Opinion:

Just like the first two books in the series - Getting Rowdy is a very sexy, romantic and suspensy book.

We already met 29-year-old Rowdy Yates - Pepper's brother - in the first book in the series and then of course he's in book 2 as well.

Now he gets his own book.

And his own girl ¿ Avery.

She's working in the bar he just bought - she has been working there for a while - we already met her in the previous book - where Rowdy was flirting with her - without much success ;)

Rowdy wants her - but he's not a commitment type - he just wants sex - lots of it. But Avery is different - he could even imagine more than only one night. He never wanted that before. He spent most of his life on the run from bad people - there was never time for anything long-term - so he never felt the need to do the whole 'love thing'.

Avery is hiding something - or from someone. She gets weird hang-up phone calls at the bar - and we 'see' someone following her.

It takes a while for Avery and Rowdy to finally 'get together'. There are a few kisses and lots of sparks - but Avery is afraid that she'll be just one of many. And Rowdy is scared of feeling too much - of maybe even - falling for her!!! *HeShuddersAtTheThought* ¿

I don't want to tell you too much - I don't want to spoil anything...

there will be a few problems at the bar - someone will get hurt.

A little boy will play a part in the story

and the most important thing - we meet a new guy - Cannon....hot cutie alert!!!!

Avery's family will play a part in the book - she has been gone from home for more than a year - we will of course learn why ¿

Logan and Reese - from book 1 & 2 - and their ladies will of course be in book 3 again!

there will be LOTS of sexy moments ¿

dangerous moments

(we might see those 2 hot cops from book 1+2 again!)

and moving moments ♥

¿¿¿

but that's all I'm telling you ¿

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

I REALLY LOVED THE BOOK!!!

This was - and still is - an amazing romantic suspense series! I loved ALL books and more important - ALL CHARACTERS - and that's not something that happens a lot. You always find something you can't stand - but those 4 guys here and their girls are all really wonderfully written!

This book had EVERYTHING I love in a book - sexy and romantic scenes & dangerous suspense scenes.

Rowdy is H.O.T.!!!!! Jeez is that guy good looking! Take a look at the cover of the book! I know he's not real - but the poor model guy just has to live with it now - he's my Rowdy!

And Rowdy is sooo adorable too - he's a tough - street-wise guy, who always had to take care of his little sister and he's so sweet and protective with all this friends and their girls. He never even had any friends before his sister got it into her head to fall in love with a COP - of all things ¿ And now he has a family and a new girl that he starts to have weird feelings for - feelings he never felt before!

Getting Rowdy is an amazing - sexy - suspense Romance!!

But please don't forget to read the first 2 books before reading Rowdy's story!

Now I can't wait for the next book - Dash's story - coming in March 2014 ¿

and I heard rumors that there will be a book/series about Cannon one day - Once he's all grown up ¿

posted by BJsBookBlog on September 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Being a big fan of Lori Fosters Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor s

Being a big fan of Lori Fosters Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor series, I am a little disappointed in the men in this series. Logans story was awesome. But then Reeses story was a disappointment and now Rowdys story. Been looking forward to it for so long. But geesh, he ...
Being a big fan of Lori Fosters Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor series, I am a little disappointed in the men in this series. Logans story was awesome. But then Reeses story was a disappointment and now Rowdys story. Been looking forward to it for so long. But geesh, he did not turn out to be the man I expected. The man that took care of his sister the way he has.....had a few people say he has issues. He is trying to figure out his issues. Well, sorry. Just too much for me.
I will try Dash & Canons stories. But really, only because I have read Lori Foster when I love her writing. Its enough for me to try.

posted by krazymama_98 on September 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    Adorable Sexy Suspense Romance LORI FOSTER - GETTING ROWDY

    Adorable Sexy Suspense Romance


    LORI FOSTER - GETTING ROWDY

    • Love Undercover #3
    • 448 Pages
    • release date - 24 September - 2013

    Book #4 Dash of Peril will be out March 25 - 2014

    Please read the first 2 books before you start with Rowdy's story. You will first meet Rowdy in book 1 - and he's SOOOO worth meeting! The other guys too - of course ¿

    ¿¿¿¿¿ 5 Stars

    My Opinion:

    Just like the first two books in the series - Getting Rowdy is a very sexy, romantic and suspensy book.

    We already met 29-year-old Rowdy Yates - Pepper's brother - in the first book in the series and then of course he's in book 2 as well.

    Now he gets his own book.

    And his own girl ¿ Avery.

    She's working in the bar he just bought - she has been working there for a while - we already met her in the previous book - where Rowdy was flirting with her - without much success ;)

    Rowdy wants her - but he's not a commitment type - he just wants sex - lots of it. But Avery is different - he could even imagine more than only one night. He never wanted that before. He spent most of his life on the run from bad people - there was never time for anything long-term - so he never felt the need to do the whole 'love thing'.

    Avery is hiding something - or from someone. She gets weird hang-up phone calls at the bar - and we 'see' someone following her.

    It takes a while for Avery and Rowdy to finally 'get together'. There are a few kisses and lots of sparks - but Avery is afraid that she'll be just one of many. And Rowdy is scared of feeling too much - of maybe even - falling for her!!! *HeShuddersAtTheThought* ¿

    I don't want to tell you too much - I don't want to spoil anything...

    there will be a few problems at the bar - someone will get hurt.

    A little boy will play a part in the story

    and the most important thing - we meet a new guy - Cannon....hot cutie alert!!!!

    Avery's family will play a part in the book - she has been gone from home for more than a year - we will of course learn why ¿

    Logan and Reese - from book 1 & 2 - and their ladies will of course be in book 3 again!

    there will be LOTS of sexy moments ¿

    dangerous moments

    (we might see those 2 hot cops from book 1+2 again!)

    and moving moments ♥

    ¿¿¿

    but that's all I'm telling you ¿

    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    I REALLY LOVED THE BOOK!!!

    This was - and still is - an amazing romantic suspense series! I loved ALL books and more important - ALL CHARACTERS - and that's not something that happens a lot. You always find something you can't stand - but those 4 guys here and their girls are all really wonderfully written!

    This book had EVERYTHING I love in a book - sexy and romantic scenes & dangerous suspense scenes.

    Rowdy is H.O.T.!!!!! Jeez is that guy good looking! Take a look at the cover of the book! I know he's not real - but the poor model guy just has to live with it now - he's my Rowdy!

    And Rowdy is sooo adorable too - he's a tough - street-wise guy, who always had to take care of his little sister and he's so sweet and protective with all this friends and their girls. He never even had any friends before his sister got it into her head to fall in love with a COP - of all things ¿ And now he has a family and a new girl that he starts to have weird feelings for - feelings he never felt before!

    Getting Rowdy is an amazing - sexy - suspense Romance!!

    But please don't forget to read the first 2 books before reading Rowdy's story!

    Now I can't wait for the next book - Dash's story - coming in March 2014 ¿

    and I heard rumors that there will be a book/series about Cannon one day - Once he's all grown up ¿

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Ehhh

    I like Lori Foster, but in all honesty this was a slow read, i skipped pages especially when Marcus was brought into the story and Rowdy was soo worried about him: I get all the sentiments about his upbringing but really some parts were just boring, and it took way too long for Rowdy and Avery to get together.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    Being a big fan of Lori Fosters Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor s

    Being a big fan of Lori Fosters Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor series, I am a little disappointed in the men in this series. Logans story was awesome. But then Reeses story was a disappointment and now Rowdys story. Been looking forward to it for so long. But geesh, he did not turn out to be the man I expected. The man that took care of his sister the way he has.....had a few people say he has issues. He is trying to figure out his issues. Well, sorry. Just too much for me.
    I will try Dash & Canons stories. But really, only because I have read Lori Foster when I love her writing. Its enough for me to try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Okay read.

    Readable, but fairly predictable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    Getting Rowdy is book 3 in the Love Undercover Series. In Gettin

    Getting Rowdy is book 3 in the Love Undercover Series. In Getting Rowdy we get to know Rowdy & Avery's story. Logan & Pepper (from Run the Risk) and Reese & Alice (from Bare it All), Dash (Logan's brother, whose story will be next) all make appearances. We also meet Marcus and Cannon (Cannon's story is coming after Dash's). I've thoroughly enjoy the entire Love Undercover Series. However Getting Rowdy is my favorite so far! ;)I want my own Rowdy! I can't wait to see what happens next in the Love Undercover series. I highly recommend all of Lori Foster's work. She's a excellent author. Never fails to hook you from the very beginning.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It's not like Rowdy Yates has made it a secret that he wants her

    It's not like Rowdy Yates has made it a secret that he wants her. Ever since Avery Mullins started working with him, getting his bar ready for re-opening, and later as his bartender, he has been very clear in expressing his interest. Problem is, he has a broad interest ......and a short attention span. And even though Avery has had the hots for her boss since day one, she is not about to become another notch on his bedpost. 




    Sex has always been a release for Rowdy. Ever since he ended up looking after his younger sister, Pepper, when he was still virtually a boy, he discovered it was as good an outlet as any, for anger and stress. He just never was a long-term, settle down kinda guy. 
    In fact, buying the bar had been out of character for him, since it implied setting down roots. But his sister was married now, and he had never ventured far from her side. Besides, he had some new interesting friends in his life now.......one in particular he really would like to know better.




    Avery had never really opened up about her past wanting to leave it behind, but when strange calls start coming in a the bar, and she feels uneasy after hours, she wonders if it may have caught up with her. Rowdy notices her uneasiness and tries to get her to open up. Initially she resists and tries to waive him off, but when Rowdy's protective instincts take over, there is no holding him back. Before she knows it, she is in his apartment and the sparks are flying!!




    Avery is not a fool, she knows this will likely be temporary, until Rowdy deems it safe enough to send her off on her own again. Despite that, she is determined she is going to enjoy him while she can, no holds barred. 




    Rowdy keeps Avery as close as he can. He tells himself he is making sure she stays safe, but the only person he has ever felt so protective about is his sister. Normally he doesn't like sharing himself or his space with anyone, but with Avery.........it feels kind of nice.




    *****




    Rowdy Yates is a fine, fine man!! A FINE man. Yup. Heart in the right place, honourable, protective, huge hot Alpha man with a vulnerable side..............and I'm sold.




    Couple that with a slightly mysterious, independent, tom-boy, hands-off beauty like Avery Mullins............and you have a potent mix on your hands!




    The dynamic between the two was delightful. I loved the dialogue, the descriptions of body language, the sizzling chemistry. I also enjoyed the combined points of view. That always makes for a more complete immersion in the story. 
    Great to see both characters, who are rather reserved, slowly open up with each other and process some of their respective life issues, showing definite development. 




    We are also introduced to a hot, new and very interesting character who starts working at the bar, and I can't help but think he would make a perfect leading man for a possible future book? Ms. Foster???




    I have read every one of Lori Foster's contemporary books and I think this is by far the sexiest I've read. Now that may be personal preference, since I really seem to have a thing for Mr. Yates, but no one will be able to deny that this is one seriously seductive and steamy book!!!




    ¿Tight suspense, fiery characters and red-hot romance!!¿








    **ARC courtesy of NetGalley and Harlequin HQN in return for an honest review.**

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    What?

    Right around the last 100 pages the story just drops and 2 other characters are show cased for several more pages. I mean it is plain as day LF is getting the readers ready for her next installment. Hows about just keep this story going! This book was not even romantic. Rowdy was creepy, Avery was stupid and the plot was drug out and weak. I don't get why so many good reviews? I'm just glad to get this train wreck of a book finished. No more boring Lori Foster books for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    This is the first book by Lori Foster that I haven't liked. I ow

    This is the first book by Lori Foster that I haven't liked. I own all of her books and this is the first one that I don't even know if I want to finish it. I was looking forward to reading Rowdy's story. But I found myself not really liking Avery all that much. She doesn't come off as the brazen,confident, fun smart ass as she did in the snip its of Reese and Alice's story. She just harps on Rowdy's past and his safety. It is obvious Rowdy loves her but I don't. She just starts to feel like a thin character. Rowdy and the other characters are done well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Plot spoilers

    Too many plot spoilers here ruined the book by revealing too many details of the story. Come on, a few lines is enough. There is absolutely no reason to rewrite the entire book then brag how YOU got your book for free for your so called honest review. Its not an honest review. Its a bought and paid for review. Bn, please ban these plot spoilers and delete their posts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Awful

    ## God, I hated Rowdy. One of the worst "heroes" ever. And I read a lot. He's a complete *whore. He wants sex, sex and more sex. And he doesn't care with whom. The heroine even walks into his office and has to witness it. Even though he keeps saying he's interested in her. But he straight out tells her, since she won't give "it" up, he's got plenty of willing women who will. He's just plain revolting. Night after night she has to watch as he picks up women at his bar. This woman is ridiculous. I wouldn't touch this guys' man parts with a ten foot pole. And she gushes: "He's so wonderful", "he's the best man I know", "I love him".... blah, blah. Even later in the book after they are together, he flirts with everyone, constantly checking out their "racks". She asks if they can be exclusive for however long they last, probably so she doesn't have to watch him scr*w someone else and he just evades the question. I wish she would've ended up with Cannon. Now there's a hero. There is no way I would believe that Rowdy could be faithful to one woman. I've been a huge fan of Lori's for many years, but this was a big disappointment. I hope she takes more care with Dash's character. We get that these men are hot and do well with the ladies. No need to hit us over the head with it. I love sex scenes,but between the hero and heroine, not random skanks. Cannot recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is now my favorite book! I can almost see Rowdy while I'm r

    This is now my favorite book! I can almost see Rowdy while I'm reading his book! Don't understand how someone could give this book a one star! They must be from mars. I loved Rowdy an Avery's story! I love a woman that can't stand with her man and not back down! Great job Lori!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Great read!!!

    Love MS. Foster's books! Amazing heros and so lovable! Hope Cannon and Dash get their own story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Lori Foster is not only a great writer of stories but develops h

    Lori Foster is not only a great writer of stories but develops her characters so well you can actually picture the action
    in your brain as you read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Wow!!!!!!

    I absoulutly loved this book it is a great read. If you have not tried Lorie Foster this is a great book to get started with. If you have read them then you know she is an awsome writer. Rowdy and Avery's story is one of my new favoriot's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Great suspense and story telling. Lori Foster delivers another f

    Great suspense and story telling. Lori Foster delivers another fun and sexy story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Loved it!

    So good, best story to date!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Love love loved this!

    Lori Foster did it again! This is why she is an auto-buy author for me. I love everything she has ever written and this is no exception. I anxiously waited for Rowdy and Avery's story and this was perfect!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Love

    Love this series Lori Foster has been a favorite of mine for the last 10 years! She is a great writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Great

    I have waited so long to read this book! Have tead ALL the books since Ready Set Jett. Rowdy is absolutely georgous! Who is this guy on the cover? Or is he a composite? Avery is great and I love the chemistry. But with Rowdys sexual history, should not they have taken better precautions? The pill will not protect you from STDs. Did I miss them using condoms? Kinda yucky.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Love this whole series

    Love all the books in this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6