Customer Reviews for

Getting Stoned with Savages: A Trip Through the Islands of Fiji and Vanuatu

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Another Troost Hit

    I guess J. Maarten Troost is probably living the dream life of many of us. His first book, The Sex Lives of Cannibals, was a riot. This, his sequel is equally well worth the read. So far, only three books have made me laugh out loud. Troost has written two of those books.
    If you just plain and simply need to have a good laugh at the author's expense, read his two books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    .I haven't read J. Maarten Troost's first book but I must say th

    .I haven't read J. Maarten Troost's first book but I must say this is actually a great book! I am not the best of readers nor can I sit down to read for an extended amount of time. Except when I started to read this book I found myself more eager to read to find out what will happen next. Within the book he undergoes many humorous events, shares facts that are interesting about the people and the islands in the South Pacific, as well tours around and uses his words to make you think you are there with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great READ!

    I highly recommend reading this book if you enjoyed the first one. However if you didnt enjoy the first one this will be very displeasing to you or perhaps more displeasing than the first. Suffice this to say if your read for displeasure be sure to pick all his book :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Great book - good writing and interesting travels

    I enjoyed this better than the first one. I liked the first one a lot, and you got more of a sense of living on Kiribati that you don't get from this book about Fiji and Vanutu, but he went off of on political diatribes in the frist book that were distracting, which he didn't do in the second. Also, Sylvia was much more of a character in the second book than in the first - it was fun to hear about her. Both books are very well written and I enjoy the humor Mr. Troost finds in evry situation (at least after the fact). He also is a good writter in general - his vocabulary and prose are very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    J Maarten Troost scores again!

    Troost follows up "The Sex Lives of Cannibals" with another South Seas adventure, "Getting Stoned With Savages". These two could be the base for a series entitled, "Paradise, Not As Imagined".
    Returning to Washington D.C. after a long stint in Kiribati Troost does not adapt well to "civilization" and a job at the World Bank. Realizing that he wasn't exactly thriving amidst the culture shock entailed in his present situation he determined to get his wife, Cynthia, to return to the South Pacific. His prayers seemed answered when Cynthia's former employer on Kiribati, the Foundation for the Peoples of the South Pacific, offered her the position of Regional Manager to be based on Fiji.
    They had a job offer, a plan and an escape, life was good. And then the reality starts to set in. The newest coup hits Fiji.
    Troost is all for pressing on, Cynthia is not so sure. She comes around when she learns that A. he has been fired, B. They want to move the job to Vanuatu temporarily. Yes, the same Vanuatu that television sent a group for the show "Survivor".
    That is the setup, then Troost moves into his forte as a writer. He has an amazing ability to use a slightly jaundiced eye and wry sense of humour to weave a story that combines history, background and personal observation into a richly rewarding experience. Follow Troost as he meets and interacts with members of all social strata. Expatriates, prostitutes, transvestites and tribal chiefs. He meets to many French tourists and disappointingly, no cannibals(they each died last month?).
    Learn the ins-and-out of kava preparation and the enjoyment of said beverage that liberally lubricates Troost experience.
    You will learn of an appalling social caste system, people who ate missionaries that irritated them, typhoons and poisonous centipedes that are virtually indestructible.
    Paradise? Certainly not, but oddly I have more desire to visit now than before reading Troost' take on it. A very entertaining read, one that leaves you glad that you made its acquaintance and wanting more by the same writer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    A little funny, but basically an imitation of Sex Lives of Cannibals

    This book could be funny if you did not read his previous book, The Sex Lives of Cannibals. It is as if he had a new plot line and just copied the style and delivery exactly. Unfortunately, this type of humor has to be fresh to be funny and it is not. Also, this book simply tried to capitalize on absurdity in general, and did not really teach you anything about the locale or culture. I may give the author another chance, but I'm going to be careful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    So much more than just a literate travelogue

    This book was better than I expected it to be, having read his first and having been blown away by it. It reads in parts like a travelogue, in other parts like a memoir, but everywhere there is wit, wisdom and outright rib-splitting hilarity! The book is infused with a canny and compassionate worldview. Did I mention that there were parts that make me laugh out loud just by thinking about them? I'll be at work, in a restaurant, whatever, and something will remind me of a particular scene -- particularly the one where he takes the flight. You know, the FLIGHT! This book is a keeper, much like its predecessor, 'The Sex Lives of Cannibals.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    My thoughts on Getting Stoned with Savages

    Getting Stoned with Savages was a great and interesting story of a man names Maarten and his wife Sylvia who felt to up tight in the regular world and wanted to return to a simpler life which he had came back from just two years earlier. The book is all about his adventures on the islands Fiji and Vanuatu where he lives with all of the village people and learns from them. Also while being on the island of Vanuatu Maarten and his wife find out that they are expecting a baby. My favorite part of the book is how Maarten described all of the things he encountered with such great detail and humor. I also enjoyed how after the two¿s son was born he became very adapt to the island and the way they live in complete contrast to Maarten. One thing that was a major dislike of mine in this book is that there were really no important messages most of the book was just about all the different situations that the couple encountered. I think if someone is just looking for a fun book then this would be great for you. I¿m sure though if you would want a better understanding of the book you should read The Sex Lives of Cannibals which Maarten wrote before Getting Stoned with Savages. The overall rating for this book on a scale from one to ten I think would have to be about a seven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2