Customer Reviews for

Getting to 50/50: How Working Parents Can Have It All

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    I sure wish when I was first having kids this book was available

    I sure wish when I was first having kids this book was available. I had kids through law school and often had to beg my professors for time to finish assignments because I was up late with the kids, caring for them etc. Doesn’t help that my partner had a gambling addiction and would stay out at hours. Reading this now, in a new life, in a new family, is extremely helpful. Parenting is a partnership, and you both need to treat it as a 50/50 opportunity. You both get time to yourselves and alone. To stay sane, you need these. I sure didn’t have that at first and I went crazy. It’s give and take. This book really explores that and I’m grateful for their solid advice and impressive attention to both men and women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    A book that I wished my parents read. It teaches everyone an es

    A book that I wished my parents read. It teaches everyone an essential lesson: a father needs to be with his kids as much as a mother. It tells how to balance work with family. I was glad to see the book agreed that a working mother isn't really a bad thing. But what really got me was when it talked about how a job can affect one's home. It just reminded me of a Dad when he came back from a tough day at work. Honestly, this book should be a requirement for all parents. What are you waiting for? Get it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    I got this book for my best friend who has a 50/50 family and co

    I got this book for my best friend who has a 50/50 family and constantly juggles and struggles; she was able to work with her husband and work things out much better thanks to the wisdom of Meers and Strobel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    What I find particularly remarkable about this book is that from

    What I find particularly remarkable about this book is that from the beginning, the authors clearly allot fathers an important role in child development. They say that having more paternal influence in a child's life can improve anything from SAT scores to lifetime self-esteem. It's incredibly interesting, especially in today's society that champions single-mother households. The chapter that breaks down taxes is quite informative as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Knowledgeable book and a great guide for parents looking to bala

    Knowledgeable book and a great guide for parents looking to balance between home and work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Great for any woman in the workforce - gives great info and advi

    Great for any woman in the workforce - gives great info and advice about career advancement, gender bias, and unique challenges working women face. Will be saving for when I have a family one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    There has been so much progress in regards to women┬┐s rights, bu

    There has been so much progress in regards to women’s rights, but do children hold us back from our desired career?
    To me the answer has always been yes, and as someone who is not a parent I want to know that there will be a way to balance my life.
    I want to be able to meet my professional goals and still have kids. Getting to 50/50 explains that it is possible and realistic to have it
    both. This book is freeing for someone who doesn't have kids yet because it means I don’t have to fear that everything in my
    professional life stop if I get pregnant.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Full disclosure: I don't actually have kids. Nonetheless, this b

    Full disclosure: I don't actually have kids. Nonetheless, this book speaks to me on many levels: with advice for my career as well as my relationships. I'm guilty of the 24/7 workplace mindset, and 50/50 is helping me realize that maybe I'd do better work if I weren't constantly exhausted. It also lays a roadmap of how to get to an equal relationship. How do you date while feminist? How do you plan for an equal division of work at home and in the office? Sharon and Joanna have the answers, and they lay out their (research-backed) arguments cleanly and concisely. I'll be sending this book to my mother and my close friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    As a woman, I know what it's like to feel inferior in the workpl

    As a woman, I know what it's like to feel inferior in the workplace BUT, I also know what it's like to prove people wrong. In Getting to 50/50, Joanna Strober and Sharon Meers give personal experiences, advice, philosophies, and more to their readers, inspiring working women (mainly mothers and wives) to persevere.  This book strives to achieve and maintain equal opportunities in the workforce, how to manage a happy family, how to be successful AND busy simultaneously, and how to keep sane in the process. Don't give up, ladies, this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    I'm not sure what I was expecting when I first picked up this bo

    I'm not sure what I was expecting when I first picked up this book, but I was pleasantly surprised by how... GOOD it is. Sharon Meers and Joanna Strober truly collected useful, practical, reasonable advice to help working parents get the most out of their lives. Their take on these issues is refreshing, and I really feel like I can do it all and have it all with the help of this book. I definitely recommend this book to working parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1