Customer Reviews for

Getting to Happy

Average Rating 3.5
( 470 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

This is why having girlfriends is so important

This is the first full ebook I read on my nook. This book was one of the best I have read. These women show why it is important to have your best girlfriends to pick you up when youre down. No matter what was going on their personal lives these four friends always have ...
This is the first full ebook I read on my nook. This book was one of the best I have read. These women show why it is important to have your best girlfriends to pick you up when youre down. No matter what was going on their personal lives these four friends always have one anothers support. It tells you what true friendships mean. Anyone who reads this book you will not be dissapointed by no means. I have read other books by Terry McMillan and this book really sticks out.

posted by mchavez on September 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

60 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

AAMBC Book Reviews

Savannah, Bernadine, Gloria and Robin are back after 15 or 16 years to bring us up to date with their lives. After 15 years or so, you'd think these four women has found some happiness and piece, but sadly things started off for them all wrong. Savannah finally has a hu...
Savannah, Bernadine, Gloria and Robin are back after 15 or 16 years to bring us up to date with their lives. After 15 years or so, you'd think these four women has found some happiness and piece, but sadly things started off for them all wrong. Savannah finally has a husband, but he's kicked to the curb. Bernadine met the perfect man name James, so we thought. Gloria is blissfully happy, but that is instantly taken from under her feet and Robin, my goodness is a single mother with a teenage daughter that is acting like she is the mother.
When I received Getting To Happy, I couldn't wait to read it. I was so anxious, just to see what transpired for four of my favorite characters from Waiting To Exhale. I must truly admit I was disappointed. I had such high expectations for this book and by the time I got to maybe the fifth or sixth chapter I was ready to put it down. I was honestly wondering how after 15 or 16 years these women were still experiencing such an amount of pain and agony. As I read on I kept expecting something more, something great, but I didn't get it. By the time I was done, I had this what the hell did I miss feeling, because almost everyone in the book, including the now adult children had something going on that was not quite right.
Getting To Happy, is more like Getting To Sad. I am very disappointed, maybe because I had such a high level of expectations for this novel. I honestly will say that after 15 years, four intelligent women like Savannah, Bernadine, Gloria and Robin should have been better than they were in Waiting To Exhale. It was like getting bad news every other day in this novel. For me, this book was a true let down. I wanted to feel as half as good as I felt reading some of Terry's early books, but I didn't.
Anna Black
AAMBC Book Reviewer

posted by aambcreviews on June 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 473 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    AAMBC Book Reviews

    Savannah, Bernadine, Gloria and Robin are back after 15 or 16 years to bring us up to date with their lives. After 15 years or so, you'd think these four women has found some happiness and piece, but sadly things started off for them all wrong. Savannah finally has a husband, but he's kicked to the curb. Bernadine met the perfect man name James, so we thought. Gloria is blissfully happy, but that is instantly taken from under her feet and Robin, my goodness is a single mother with a teenage daughter that is acting like she is the mother.
    When I received Getting To Happy, I couldn't wait to read it. I was so anxious, just to see what transpired for four of my favorite characters from Waiting To Exhale. I must truly admit I was disappointed. I had such high expectations for this book and by the time I got to maybe the fifth or sixth chapter I was ready to put it down. I was honestly wondering how after 15 or 16 years these women were still experiencing such an amount of pain and agony. As I read on I kept expecting something more, something great, but I didn't get it. By the time I was done, I had this what the hell did I miss feeling, because almost everyone in the book, including the now adult children had something going on that was not quite right.
    Getting To Happy, is more like Getting To Sad. I am very disappointed, maybe because I had such a high level of expectations for this novel. I honestly will say that after 15 years, four intelligent women like Savannah, Bernadine, Gloria and Robin should have been better than they were in Waiting To Exhale. It was like getting bad news every other day in this novel. For me, this book was a true let down. I wanted to feel as half as good as I felt reading some of Terry's early books, but I didn't.
    Anna Black
    AAMBC Book Reviewer

    60 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    This is why having girlfriends is so important

    This is the first full ebook I read on my nook. This book was one of the best I have read. These women show why it is important to have your best girlfriends to pick you up when youre down. No matter what was going on their personal lives these four friends always have one anothers support. It tells you what true friendships mean. Anyone who reads this book you will not be dissapointed by no means. I have read other books by Terry McMillan and this book really sticks out.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read!

    Four best friends were originally featured in McMillan's "Waiting to Exhale" return in this new novel. They have new highs and lows, joys and disappointments, and we meet many new family members along the way. Another reviewer felt the book had too many lows, but I found the book to be sweet, sad, and funny all at the same time--just like real life. I dont want to give away any spoilers so I will keep this short. If you liked Waiting to Exhale, you will like Getting to Happy.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Held My Interest

    Kee -- I am an avid reader and I thoroughly enjoyed this read. However, you will have to read 'Exhale' first and probably refer back to it a few times. I was surprised a few times, which made the read very interesting. I would recommend this book......and I am not a huge fan of Terry's. Really enjoyed it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Electric

    It's been 15-years, through parenting, divorces, death, addictions, bitterness, and loneliness, the fantastic four are still moving and shaking. Now in their 50's, Savannah, Robin, Gloria and Bernadine have all realized that something needs to change, something is missing and it's imperative that they do whatever is needed to regain it.

    While opposites may attract, Savannah can no longer deny it, she is unhappily married. It's not that Isaac, her husband of 10-years, is a bad guy. He's just not the man she wants to spend any more of her tomorrows with. Is she willing to let go in order to get back to her own happiness?

    Robin loves being a mom. Sparrow is an awesome child, and one of her closest friends. However, Robin has seen all of her friends married and she's wondering when her turn is coming. Willing to try anything, Robin tries internet dating. Can this finally be her path to happiness?

    Gloria's life has been ideal. Married 14-years to the man of her dreams, her business is thriving and Tarik, her son, is married and a father. In one quick blink, Gloria's life is forever changed. Is happy forever off the table for her?

    Poor Bernadine has had it the hardest. Married, cheated on and divorced. Only to repeat the cycle more viciously the second time. This time, bitterness has made Bernadine hollow on the inside. She's barely living as she pops pills in hope of coping. Will she ever experience happiness again?

    I liked GETTING TO HAPPY. I loved how the characters invited you back into their world. In their 50's, they showed readers that life was still worth living. While it wasn't as explosive as WAITING TO EXHALE, I believe that it was the right formula for learning to breathe again.

    Thank God for girlfriends!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    Disappointing

    I have the audio version of the book. Despite the poor reviews I read, I decided to buy the book any way. I should have listened to those who panned the book.

    I don't know if it's because Terry is the narrator of the book or what, but I'm finding the book tedious to listen to and the writing not up to what I expected from Terry. I actually look at the reviews again to see if she co-wrote the book with someone else, like her sister, Rosyln, who I don't feel is a good writer at all. Without giving anything away, I also am beginning to understand those who say her books bash men.

    Sadly, after my disappointment in her last book and in this one, I probably won't purchase another of her books. I suspect her personal life has affected her writing.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    RIVETING BOOK

    'Getting to Happy' was captivating from the beginning. The ongoing drama demands undivided attention until the story's completion. It is therapeutic, in the sense that the complexities of the characters and their lives are relatable to all on various levels. Their journey to 'happy' offers hope to the hopeless and a lifeline to the drowning. And yet, for those in a current state of 'happy', the story provides numerous reasons to be appreciative. The overall tone presents the understanding that throughout the journey of life, despite the emotional state, every moment is a blessing and opportunity to 'Get to Happy' . The choice is yours.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Disappointing

    I have read and enjoyed Terry McMillan books however "Getting to Happy" did not match the Hype. Loved hearing about the Ladies after ten years but I felt this book was weak and was very disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Very depressing book

    This book was disappointing to say the least. Very predictable storyline, every character is boring. And the ending was uneventful. The only book i enjoyed from Ms. Mcmillan was her first book called Mama. I wish she could return back to that writing style. I believe she is so bitter from her lifestyle experiences that it reflects her acrimony in her books. Stay away from this one. Unless you loved to be bored to death by four depressed cougars trying to find a man.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Recommended

    It took me a while to get into this book. At first it appeared that Ms. Mcmillian was not going to give anyone a happy relationship. (I thought at first that this book was a reflection of her own personal life) I plowed through, then I got to the point where I couldn't put the book down. When I got to the book's end, I was clamoring for more. I was reeled in. I would recommend this book to others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    What A Finish

    If you enjoyed Waiting To Exhale you are going to love Getting To Happy. It should inspire all of us to get to our happy. Giess what we don't know when it is too late. Really enjoyed this conclusion, did't want it to end. Thank You zTerri

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Why

    I bought this book when it first came out practically...I am very disappointed, they exhaled then went back for more problems...it seems. They were happy and they didnt get back to happy, it was sad and i think Terry should have waited on this or not revisited this novel because it is sad. I dont know if it is because of what she went through or not but it took me until now to finish this book. I am a big reader this is so boring and sad and dry???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Save your money

    Not what i expected. Terry did not put her best in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Liberating

    So many emotions in this book. I would have loved for Gloria's husband to have enjoyed the boat a lil before his passing. Bernie & John to get closer than they did. Savannah's marriage to work out. Robin's story happened just the way it should have. They should end the movie with her wedding, not @ the benefit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    It had been too long...

    This is a book that I would recommend for a book club discussion. I have read several McMillan books and was glad that she decided to write a follow up of our four favorite friends. I was glad and sad to see some of the things that had taken place with our girls, but this is life. This was a nice read but I was disappointed because I wanted more. I was left wanting more of the ladies lives and outcomes, but it was indeed a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Quick Read

    so as life goes and as you grow you learn more and more about yourself. so goes this contiuation for Waiting to Exhale. If you are looking for a toalt happy ending life is not like that. I really enjoyed reading this book and picking up the characters 15 years later. I could actually hear the charaters from the movie as I read. Savahna is just as she was before as ll the characters were. I enjoyed this book a reccomend it to my friends it is worth it to pick it up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed this book. It touched all emotions. Some parts were so hilarious that I laughed out loud. It's a fast read with an ending that will make you say aaahhh. It really shows how important friendship and family support can produce positive solutions. It show that great friends and family can get through anything. This book is great to read alone or with book club with your friends. I recommend that you read "Waiting to Exhale" also and prior to this book if you can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Well worth the wait a must read

    Truly a great continuance to Waiting to Exhale examining their lives 15 years later and true life long friendships. Terry you out did yourself this time. Loved it! Recommend reading all of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    Highly Recommended!!!

    Terry did an excellent job with the follow up of her characters. I'm so glad that I read this book. I laughed, cried, even found it to be a bit theraputic. All I'm saying is, if you enjoy a good drama, comedy and suspense novel, this one is all that. In my opinion well worth the wait. Thanks Ms Terry. And I'm so glad you've finally got to "Happy"! God's continued blessings! Love, Evette Major PS, I would love to have my copy autographed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    A definte must have!!!!

    This book was awesome and full of unexpected surprises!!!!! Can't wait for the next one. Glad to see Terry back on the scene.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 473 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24