BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    History told differently

    This series (there are 3 books) tells of how history may of turned if Lee had acted on Longstreet's suggestions of going around the Union army during the Gettysburg campaign. This books starts with the actual history and then statrs the turn down the other possible track. If you are interested in a good story that could have shown a different road to the civil war then this is the series for you

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Read all three books. Very interesting analysis of the politics and decisions that happened during the Civil War.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Excellent Read

    The authors do an excellent job changing one decision made by Lee and seeing the battle through to a very probably conclusion. The charactors are brought to life, and even if your loyalties lie with one sie or the other, you find yourself identifying with individuals on both sides of the battle. Very realisitic and well done. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Fiction - Non-fiction blurs.

    I found a very plausible alternative to Gettysburg. I loved the characters, the fundamental possibilities, and the detail the authors went into. They put me in the trenches along side the likes of Longstreet, Lee, Meade, and especially Henry Hunt, who, In my opinion, plays an important, colorful character. Having studied Gettysburg myself several times, I found myself immersed in the 'did or did not' really happen syndrome, blurring history in my mind. I found the character development superb. I highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What if Pickett did not charge?

    In this novel Lee listens to Longstreet and decides against sending Pickett against the Federal lines- from that point on history takes a new turn and the tide of the war changes. A must read for Civil War buffs. The fairness and evenhandedness to both sides is striking.Really enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    A Real Eye-Opener

    When Newt Gingrich and Bill Forstchen created Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War, they created a spectacular illustration of alternative history.Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War is a great eye-opener for understanding how one change in the sequence of events could could alter the entire outcome of the Civil War. Whether you are a Civil War buff or not, I highly recommend reading Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War, by Newt Gingrich and Bill Forstchen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    Great Book

    I Could not put this book down. Most Civl War book have some dry chapters but, not this book I enjoyed the whole thing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    this is the only book I read so far in this series. Very good bo

    this is the only book I read so far in this series. Very good book .Really interesting on how many people died in the battles up to Gettysburg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    The north did win

    Idiot below the north won this battle then lee retreated and surrendered to teh north duh little idiot

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Not recommend

    Thoght I'd be reading a factual story of the battle of Gettysburg
    however everything I've read thus far said the north won the battle
    and not the south.
    Didn't know Col. Chamberland(?) was taken as prisoner. I understood
    he and his men were a large part of the winning of the battle.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Amazing

    It amazilll...
    ...






    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Gettysburg

    I enjoy the book, When I first start reading it, it sound like a John Wayne classic but after I got into it. It really got me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    See 3/9/09 anonymous review of "Never Call Retreat"

    See 3/9/09 anonymous review of "Never Call Retreat"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Too Far Out

    Try as I might, I could not get past the first chapter. Even for a 'what if', it was too far out in left field. The only thing it had going for it was the recognizable name of Newt Gingrich on the front cover. I found it to be too one-sided in perspective.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    A must read for any civil war buff!

    A great book for any civil war buff shows what would have probably happened had Lee listened to Longstreet at Gettysburg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    You're right there!

    The fiction format brings events to life. Lee know this battle was do or die. As for the 'implausable scenario' reviewer who said Lee would not have made these mistakes - Lee lost the real-life battle. Right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Implausible scenario

    Anyone who has been to the Gettysburg battlefield knows that the terrain is too open for Lee to surprise Meade with a bold move to the south. By comparison the ground and vegetation around Bull Run (Manassas) provided more concealment to maneuver a Corps. Also Lee fought both Bull Run battles early in the war when untested and inexperienced generals led the Army of the Potomac. By the summer of 1863 poor generals like Burnside and McClellan had been relieved of command. It would be foolish for Lee to move or split the Army of Northern Virginia in plain site of a seasoned and well lead Army of the Potomac.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    Outstanding Characterizations

    This is a great book that captures the personal interaction that is at the center of all human drama in war. Most books on the CW never get the characters right. They are cardboard cutouts. Here, the characters live. You understand their motivations, they fears, their decision processes and the pressures they faced in committing so many soldiers to certain death. I loved the book. Can't wait for the next two. And as a southern born and bred, I hope they will tell Lincoln's story as well as they have told Lee's, Mead's, Sickles, and Longstreet's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    Great Book

    This was an excellent book. To finally see Lee realize that Longstreets plan of action to flank the AOP to the south and east and cut them off from Westminster, Baltimore and Washington was wonderful. This book is well written and masterfully put together, I was unable to put this book down! A great read. Second only to The Killer Angels as my favorite fictional history of Gettysburg book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    When things go wrong they really go wrong!

    This book reminded me that history can go either way, so what if? In the 'civil war' neither side really won.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3