Customer Reviews for

Ghost (Ghost Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    A terrible letdown

    After watching a developing author come to life in his "There Will be Dragons" series, this was a terrible disappointment, and closed my door on John Ringo. Why turn to trash with an unstable "hero" who gets his jollies getting off on sadism and sexual games of dominance? Why waste one third of a book on detailed pornographic descrptions with two girls? And maybe worst of all, why throw away all those credentials of a potentially excellent author? The "Dragons" series had real characters, a full and complex story line, and a rich background as it unfolded. You associated with the characters, and it became natural to get involved in the excellent action sequences. It was also writtetn very well, and walked you through successive events, each more dramatic than the previous. In this case, there's this improbable throwback who is very much like a comic book hero minus the deviate behaviot- he takes punishment, gets shot, survives a nuclear explosion, lives through a transatlantic flight in the upressurized nose wheel compartment of a jst, and yet is capable of single-handedly wiping out a battalion of bad guys. A little like reading the old Captain America series. Basically, no substance, impossible heroics, and cheap plots where the bad guys just all manage to get shot at the hero's feet. Pure pulp. No need for an "author" to produce junk like this.



    comic books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Action Thriller or Cheap Porn?

    Books 1 and 3 are excellent - 5 Stars. Book 2 is best thought of as a pull-out Domination/Submission manual (a.k.a. - how to convert college age, air-headed chickie-babes to be your own personal love slaves). For anything else, it's an absolute waste of time. Generally I like Ringo (although sometimes his endings leave much to be desired) and books 1 and 3 are exceptional reads. There's actually no real point to book two, though even the 10 minute action sequence is pretty pathetic. (Do they have something less than 1 Star?) Great for adolescent boys who have grown bored with Playboy and want something kinkier to hide under the bed. Ah well, since two of the three 'books' are great and one was a complete and total catastrophe, we'll give it 3 Stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I looked forward to reading another John Ringo book, and boy! was I disappointed. If I wanted to read pornography, I would have ordered it. The first part of the book was good. Lots of action, and a complicated character. However, 'Book 2' was totally horrible. I was grossed out by the sado-masochistic garbage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Most Pornographic Title I've seen in B&N

    I had to quit reading this. The first third of the book, covering the abduction and rescue of the co-eds, seemed a little raw, but kept me going hoping for a bit more action and less sexual degradation. No such luck. After the protagonist goes south, so does the book, if possible. Glorifying rape and sadomasochism, it reads like a middleschool student's testament to his macho, macho manhood. Truly revolting. The only deep dialog seems to be trying to convince women not to become either lesbians or liberals because they were raped. Please. Pass the lighter fluid, I've got to burn this one before my kids see it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    This Book Should Not Have Been Published

    I have read all of Ringo's books, but after reading this book, I will purchase no more of his books. I don't see anything entertaining about degrading and raping women. This is a vulgar book. Librarians should refuse to purchase this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    Last read for John Ringo

    I had been a fan of Ringo's for awhile now, but Ghost has finished that for me. In the world we have today, there are too many abductions and rape going on to have someone try to glorify a hero with it. Whether you pay for it or just take it, rape is rape. I found no entertainment value in this book, it was just sick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2005

    Blood and core mixed with sado-masochism.

    This book was so terrible that I could not finish reading it. It is a trio of books contained in one binding. The main character is based upon a 15 year veteran of the Navy Seals. A truely dangerous and wild ride through book one, the character is a walking container of nitro, ready to explode at any moment. He seems to be a Richard Marcinko on steroids, cocaine, LSD, heroine, and any other illicit drug a person could think of. Then add in his sexual sado-masochisitic tendencies in book two and you have something that would only bee good to use under the foot of a table to keep it level. I could not finish book two as it was, the only word to discribe it was stupid. This character makes the recently caught BTK killer seem like normal. If you are into this type of scene, then by all means read the book, you will enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Ghosts den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Porn

    Porn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    So the main character is a violent, deviant, male chauvinist ex

    So the main character is a violent, deviant, male chauvinist ex-special forces member. ..sounds like a good start to me. Yeah it was a bit blunt at points but if anything that just keeps misunderstandings down. You never have to wonder which way Ghost will choose, he may be not have much of a conscience but he is the good guy (mostly). Enjoy the Ghost series like you enjoy a good action movie. Explosions, big guns, evil bad guys, tough good guys, and a lil sex thrown in. Very fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Not for kids...and not for me

    Sorry. I started reading Scifi when I was 12. I love Military Scifi the most. I have loved Robert Heinlein. I loved David Drake (still do). But, I also know the demographic this type of book is most popular with...teenage boys.

    I will never, never, never read another John Ringo book. Cally's War was bad enough, but this is crap.

    Might as well be Bondage and Domination porn...it is actually a primer for someone wanting to get into the B&D scene. And this is aimed at teenage boys!

    John Ringo I salute you for your service to your country. I was a Captain in the Army too, so don't think that is going to mean I'll give you any slack for this.

    Shame on you and shame on Baen books for producing this drivel.

    I really liked your O'Neal books...this was an ultimate fail for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    A new genre the hard core thriller

    I really liked this book although it isn't for the prudish. Definately a guy book. Lots of violence, sex , and action.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    A very good and enjoyable read if you are not bothered by some of the characters sexual quirks. It is a terrific series of books that I recommend for the 18+ crowd.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Fast paced. Shocking. Ridiculous. FUN!

    OK... to start with, this is most certainly a departure from Ringo's previous entries into the annals of military sci-fi. The book is broken up into 3 parts. I thoroughly enjoyed the first story. I was admittedly surprised and unfortunately a little bored with the second story which reads like a primer for the S&M 'scene.' I felt the third story was the grittiest and the most shocking. We discover that the protagonist truly is one of the Orwellian 'rough men' that is a necessary evil of the world that Ringo is depicting. It strikes me that the one star reviews on this site are judging this book on it's extreme sexual content alone and I don't think that's fair. Clearly many of these people have no issue with the extremely explicite depictions of violent eviscerations and dismemberments and mass murders depicted in the Posleen series. Their reviews clearly reflect their own personal sexual hang-ups and I think that makes for poor literary analytical hackery. (Which we are engaged in here) To sum up... If you like the previous Ringo books but have a problem with depictions of somewhat mild sexual deviency you will probably not enjoy this book and I would not recommend it. If you have no problem with depictions of mild sexual deviency but are very politically correct... you will probably not like this book. If you don't take yourself too seriously, realize that this is not literature with a capital 'L,' and enjoy military fiction or science fiction, you will probably enjoy this book. I plan on reading the rest of the series..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    Take care with this one...

    Alright, this is one that is definitely not for the faint of heart. Looking at the other reviews it's a love it or hate it book with no in between. Well, I loved it. It has dashing heroics, a true grit antihero(this may not be a strong enough word), a bit of politics, and the dark side of terrorism. Some of the things done by both the good guys and the bad guys are downright dispicable. In the end though everything works out. Beware the dark side and enjoy some of the humor. After all, it is just a story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2005

    not for the faint of heart or stomach

    As if 15 years as a Seal was not enough excitment for a lifetime, Mike finds some people are just NOT destined to retire quietly.Trouble and his own demons find him. More violence and sex than some readers will care for and definently not the norm for John Ringo's books.Well worth reading though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting and action packed

    After fifteen years as a Navy SEAL special ops agent, Michael ¿Ghost¿ Harmon retires because his body can no longer handle the pressure following degenerative damage to at least half of his major joints. However, his adjustment to civilian life proves difficult as he attends the University of Georgia as an undergrad. It is not the assignments as he used to eighteen hour days it is the inactivity to release his growing rage. So to give him something to do, the Ghost uses his skill of blending in to stealthily stalk pretty coeds and fantasize having sex with them..................... Ghost follows a beautiful blonde who suddenly is kidnapped by men driving a van. He follows them to a deserted warehouse where he learns of an odious terrorist plot to abduct and assault American women. Ghost attacks the men, killing most of the enemy and trails the survivors and their prisoners to Hartsfield where he stows on a plane heading to Syria before continuing elsewhere like Amsterdam. Wherever the trail takes him Ghost is a WMD causing havoc and death as he begins to understand the strange, but dangerous conspiracy that threatens the West.................. Ghost is a weird combination of hero and antihero as he tries to break up the conspiracy as only he can, but also is a dark soul abusing women as he does in a Bosnian brothel or just stalking the as he does on the Athens campus. Fans will be shocked by his actions as heroes are supposed to be ethical John Wayne types, but in this case he is amoral. Not for everyone, John Ringo provides a powerful techno-thriller that reminds the audience that some of our heroic ¿trained¿ killers have a dark tendency to violence................. Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2