Customer Reviews for

Ghost Boy

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Amazing!

    Ghost Boy is a wonderful novel following the story of Harold Kline, an albino. There are many colorful and interesting characters who help Harold understand himself, his friends, and people in general. This book is both sad and intriguing, it teaches the reader valuable lessons they won't want to forget. When you finish Ghost Boy, you will be thouroughly satisified!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    Plot couldn't have been more slow!

    I'm in Grade 10 and read it for English class and I find this story so, not fulfilling. The beginning was slow, and I would seriously abandon this book in the beginning if I was not forced to read this for school. Near the middle, it finally gets interesting - but, Harold is such a pushover and at moments, it was just so frustrating to read because the storyline moved so slow. When it came to the climas, it was SO rushed. I had to re-read it a few times, and I still don't quite understand it. The falling action was like only 1 chapter and everything seemed to be resolved so quickly that it truly let me down. I love the topic and theme - I think it's amazing, I just believe the plot needs to be .. timed better?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    OH MY GOD LIKE AWSOME!

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! I'm in the 9th grade and all my friends think its the gayest book ever but I think its awsome! Write another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    This book is my FAVORITE BOOK!!!!!

    Ghost Boy is an outstanding book about an albino boy who is extremly self conscious about himself. One day, he goes off from his home to a wandering circus. There he joins it and becomes one of the 'freaks'. From there comes betrayal of his best friends just to hang out with a beautiful girl he's in love with. But something terrible happens... If I were to rate this book out of ten I would give it an easy 15!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    Booooooooo!

    This book is not very interesting at all!It's boring and very stupid. I would never want to read it ever again. I mean come on you cant teach a elephant to play baseball. And he is si self conchious and listens to every body else.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Just Great!

    I read this book along with his other book in 5th and 6th grade. I finished 'Ghost Boy' in 6th grade and I just have to say that it's really good. Get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Wowsers!

    Good Book. Harold Kine Is An Albino Boy That Runs Away From His Mean Mother, And Leaves Behind His Dog To Join The Circus As A Circus Freak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    The Most Amazing Book I Have EVER Read!!!

    I have read most of the classics, some of the recommended, and a few of the unnoticed, and yet still, I return to this book again and again! A ghostly albino figure, Harold Kline, is lost on hope. His family is torn between death, disappearance, and insanity, while he wanders quietly about his town, taunted and teased, for years. A circus stops near his little town, and he joins it eagerly, being caught between what seems two different worlds- the freaks, and the other people. It leaves you curious, whether it was all in his head or not, and yet... It leaves you satisfied, not hanging. Iain Lawrence is bloody brilliant, and full of talent. She leaves me begging for another tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    Outcast

    From the beginning to the end, Iain Lawrence attracts attention to the story Ghost Boy. In Liberty, the small town sits in a big wheat field. Everyone in town looks at Harold as an outcast. When Harold does something about being made fun of, the town becomes shocked of his actions. Harold is known across the town due to his appearance. What I mean by that is Harold is an albino person that lives in a town where everyone knows each other. Harold feels awkward whenever he walks to town because the other kids tease him and call him names like ¿Powder Boy¿ or ¿Ghost Boy¿. Finally one day Harold hears that the circus is coming to town and he is all fascinated about it, but when he goes and ask him mother can he go to the circus, she furiously yells at him like he had killed somebody. Later on that night he sneaks out the house while his parents are sleeping. While he is leaving he looks ahead and sees the gigantic bright shining colors of the circus lights. The conflict of the novel is that Harold isn¿t allowed by his parents to go to the circus. Then he takes upon himself and his own actions to do what he wants for himself. Harold isn¿t a bad son or teenager, he just wanted to view the circus and enjoy. Also the parents aren¿t awful parents either because they were protecting Harold from being hurt from the townspeople. The conflict of the story can be reasonable because maybe if Harold¿s parents went along and inspected, maybe they would of received satisfaction from some of the performances. Ghost Boy should be a seller because the readers would enjoy the adventures Harold went on. Or did he even go to circus and join them?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1