Customer Reviews for

Ghost Brigades

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great series and the best of the three

Excellent sequel to Old Man's War. Actually superior. Besides excellent action raises interesting questions about individuality, government control of the individual and duty beyond self.

posted by Iowa_SF_Lover on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ho-Hum, Yawn, Stretch

Scalzi's first book of this series, "Old Man's War" was entertaining and worth reading, but in his second book he deviates from his previous characters and introduces new main characters. However, his writing fails to generate significant interest in what should have b...
Scalzi's first book of this series, "Old Man's War" was entertaining and worth reading, but in his second book he deviates from his previous characters and introduces new main characters. However, his writing fails to generate significant interest in what should have been an interesting plot. He also fails to make the reader identify with the main character, so when the story ends, my thought was, "so what".

It's not a bad story, but I am sure there are books out there that are more worthy of your investment of time and money.

posted by LarrySC on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series and the best of the three

    Excellent sequel to Old Man's War. Actually superior. Besides excellent action raises interesting questions about individuality, government control of the individual and duty beyond self.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Full of action, this title is a fun read.

    John Scalzi's super-futuristic novels are a SciFi fan's dream come true. They have great characters, interesting alien species and are full of insane technology and crazier action. If you like Star Wars, Star Trek, or Douglas Adams you will like John Scalzi's work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Excellent

    I enjoyed the first book, Old Man's War, but this is much better. More interesting riffs on the plot ideas.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Great series!

    A great sequel or a decent stand alone novel. Highly recommend this trilogy. My only complaint is that the books are all $8 but the first book is 700+ (Nook) pages where this one is only 240 pages. Will that stop me from buying book 3? Not a chance! This is definitely a series I will reread in a year or two.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really is a good book!

    I have now read every book in the 'Old Man's War' saga. I picked up my first book by chance at an airport to read on the plane and man was I hooked! I didn't read them in order, as I picked them up as I came across them and it didn't matter each book stands alone as a great story and if you read them all....they tell one awesome adventure. This book was just great, John has giving the characters such personality and emotion, that I create pictures about them in my mind while I read. I recommend you first read the first book in the series. There is some detail in that first book about the characters as to who they are, where they came from and the choices/sacrifices they made. The stories are great regardless, but the first one had me laughing and it really serves to build the foundation for the other books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    First rate creature features

    If your taste runs to alien contact, this John Scalzi series (begun with The Old Man's War) will delight you. Workable premises skilfully developed. Scalzi writes with a light touch. This is to science fiction what Bullitt was to movies: it doesn't attempt to be great literature, it aims to entertain. And does so flawlessly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    AWESOME!!!!

    Another awesome Sci-Fi book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Ho-Hum, Yawn, Stretch

    Scalzi's first book of this series, "Old Man's War" was entertaining and worth reading, but in his second book he deviates from his previous characters and introduces new main characters. However, his writing fails to generate significant interest in what should have been an interesting plot. He also fails to make the reader identify with the main character, so when the story ends, my thought was, "so what".

    It's not a bad story, but I am sure there are books out there that are more worthy of your investment of time and money.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent "Sequel"

    I say "sequel" because you don't really need to read Old Man's War first to enjoy this one, although it might help you get into the universe quicker. I didn't think anything could live up to the greatness that was OMW but I was pleasantly surprised. I really liked the existential themes that were present in this book, it reminded me a lot of Philip K. Dick. I'm tempted to say that I like this book more than OMW but I think the humor in OMW makes that one slightly more enjoyable. Scalzi has really surprised me with how great this series is and I can't wait to pick up the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    A natural follow-on story to Old Man's War

    After reading a review I wanted to read this book, but had to wait on my library so I got the author's first book, Old Man's War. Read Old Man's War first, you will understand a whole lot more when you tackle this book. Author creates a new story which picks up after the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    Amazed

    I have to admit, the sci fi genre had never appealed to me, so it came as a pleasant surprise when I loved this book. It was thought provoking, action - packed, and full of things that could be possible many many many many years in the future. It made me laugh, it made me feel for the characters who died, it helped me identify with the main character even though he was...'created'...in a completely different universe. It flowed in such a way that reading was enjoyable, it explained everything needed to understad it. I loved it, and definatly reccommend it, even if you're not a fan of the sci fi genre it's still a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    More Good Stuff part-2

    After Old Man's War, this was as expected, another great read. I enjoyed it from the beginning, especially how new characters and new mysteries were developed. I highly recommend this and all of the Old Man's War trilogy to all sci-fi enthusiasts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    Book to of the ¿Old Man¿s War¿ series brings another view to the

    Book to of the ‘Old Man’s War’ series brings another view to the world of the CDF and takes us into the life of the CDF Special forces AKA “The Ghost Brigade”. The cast of characters are a few old faces but mostly new ones, and is well written with enough background to read stand along or as the next in the series. The characters are likable and the story really focuses in on the humanity of the characters and really makes you connect with them. Along with that is enough action and futuristic tech to make you think “who the F comes up with this stuff?”. Highly recommended for the sci-fi lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Good read!

    Loved this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Better than average second book in a series.

    The last blurb I read about Scalzi, as do many blurbs about others, referenced Heinlein. In this case, while many more books would be needed to prove the case, at least that identifies the right area of intelligently imaginative SF with human character deeper than cardboard. I intend to read more of Scalzi.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    I highly recommend If you like sci fi!

    My new favorite sci fi author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just finished Ghost Brigades, and it has been a wonderfully thoughtful view of life. It leads to some amazing conclusions about the universe Scalzi has created. I loved the way choices and life are so carefully intertwined. I hope Scalzi continues to write in this universe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    If this book is anything even remotley close to Old Man's War, it will be one of the best Sci-Fi books in history!

    I just finished reading Old Man's War and I must say taht I was addicted to it. I couldn't hardly put it down. I went off the recommendation of Sci-Fi.com and purchased this book. I was hooked form the moment I read an excerpt from the book on Sci-Fi.com. They say that John Scalzi reads like one of the greats in SciFi and I will admit he is probably my favorite writer only after Issac Asimov. If Ghost brigade is even one tenth the book that Old Man's War was, I will be completely satisfied and will buy everything this guy ever writes. I have read many many SciFi books by many many different writers and John Scalzi is remarkable. I was actaully depressed when I finished Old Man's War because it was over and The Ghost Brigades iwll not come out for another 3 weeks. I am not sure if I can wait that long. I was so entranced with the characters, that I actually felt for John Perry as he told the story of his wife and their life together. I am now a fan for life of John Scalzi and I would not be at all surprised if they made Old Man's War/The Ghost Brigades into a movie. If they did it right, it could rival almost any SciFi movie ever created. All I can say is BRAVO John and keep putting pen to paper and lets have MORE!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7