Customer Reviews for

Ghost Country

Average Rating 4
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ctoos

Read The Breach first for continuity,,,,,then strap yourself in for an exciting ride! I heard birds this morning before realizing I was up all night reading!

posted by 3385447 on June 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paper: $7.61, Nook: $9.99. Is the publisher INSANE?

HarperCollins is obviously run by people who believe that "nobody buys eBooks." So they price the eBook almost twenty percent higher than the paper edition. All that does is guarantee that I won't buy the eBook. And since I haven't bought a paper book in over ten years,...
HarperCollins is obviously run by people who believe that "nobody buys eBooks." So they price the eBook almost twenty percent higher than the paper edition. All that does is guarantee that I won't buy the eBook. And since I haven't bought a paper book in over ten years, it means I won't be buying the book at all, despite the fact that the previous book, "Breach," was a do-not-put-down thriller from start to finish. Quit trying to force your customers to buy what YOU want them to buy and provide what THEY want to buy. The art of marketing is getting people to give you money for things. Supreme excellence in the art of marketing is making them GLAD to do it.

posted by sehlat on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    Paper: $7.61, Nook: $9.99. Is the publisher INSANE?

    HarperCollins is obviously run by people who believe that "nobody buys eBooks." So they price the eBook almost twenty percent higher than the paper edition. All that does is guarantee that I won't buy the eBook. And since I haven't bought a paper book in over ten years, it means I won't be buying the book at all, despite the fact that the previous book, "Breach," was a do-not-put-down thriller from start to finish. Quit trying to force your customers to buy what YOU want them to buy and provide what THEY want to buy. The art of marketing is getting people to give you money for things. Supreme excellence in the art of marketing is making them GLAD to do it.

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book starts slow and then takes off until the conclusion

    With all the accolades given to this book I was expecting a lot more. It took more than 75 pages to get into the story but then it got good up to the end. Adam Chase is again asked to attempt an impossible rescue of Page. This time by Bethany, an employee of Tangent, a secret government agency whose main function is to guard and study The Breach. The Breach is a gate to another dimension, from which mysterious devices keep passing through.

    Page is captured by gunmen and held by government agents working for the President. Page had shown the President a device from The Breach that show a future Earth that was devastated by some calamity that is supposed to happen in a few months. Page tells the President, if he knows about something that can cause this, he should think about stopping the action. Apparently, this bothered the President and Page is taken soon after.

    Page had sent a message to Bethany and she understood enough of the message to use a twin device to the one Page had to also look into the future to see what Page saw. She then goes looking for Chase, who is now living a quiet life under an assumed name.

    Chase has to go back and save Page one more time and then, along with Bethany, need to go against a vast government network and try to avert the disaster that is impending. From there the book moves rather quickly, with the trio constantly having to escape "sure death" situations.

    Most of the book kept my attention but I am very hesitant to give it better than three stars for several reason. The slow beginning is one reason. Secondly, some of the rescues are similar to the first book. Thirdly, when all is finally revealed, there are a lot of similarities to a recent book I read called The Ark.


    Lastly, having read The Breach about a year ago and it was difficult to follow some of the plot without going back to read the first book again. Therefore, I suggest you read The Breach first.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Ctoos

    Read The Breach first for continuity,,,,,then strap yourself in for an exciting ride! I heard birds this morning before realizing I was up all night reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    Fair to middling

    It has been a while since I read the first book so it took me a bit to get up to speed. This is a nice thriller, but you can pretty much see all the twists coming. Need to kill time on the beach or at the airport, this is your book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very+good+sequal%21%21%21%21

    In+my+opinion+this+one+was+better+than+the+first.+This+definitely+a+page+turner+and+all+the+suprises+and+tension+kept+me+on+the+edge+of+my+seat.+Very+well+written.+The+author+gets+better+with+each+book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    NOOK $9.99 ? Paperback 7.91?

    The paperback is cheaper than a digital edition ?

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Great series - Patrick Lee is my new favorite author.

    Great series - read all three in this series. Imaginative, inventive, creative, non-stop action. Could not get enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great action-packed science fiction tale

    In Washington D.C. Paige Campbell leaves a meeting with POTUS. Her motorcade drives away when a precise unit attacks them. Everyone accompanying Paige is killed. Before she is taken prisoner she manages to contact her partner at Tangent Bethany Stewart.

    Stewart asks Travis Chase, who was involved in a Tangent operation (see Breach), to assist her in rescuing Campbell. She also informs him of a top secret essence that looks like a dark metallic cylindrical gizmo that opens a window into time. What has been seen is a forbidden future. Chase and Stewart believe POTUS or advisors close to the President were behind the assault as the timing was impeccable and though they want to save Campbell, the first priority is to save mankind.

    This is a great action-packed science fiction tale that grips the audience from the opening cell phone call Campbell makes to her partner and never slows down as Tangent works a dangerous scenario in which the duet switches from mission recue Paige to save the world. Fast-paced at an incredible rate of speed, fans will not stop to ponder plausibility or a deep breath as Patrick Lee hooks the reader with his superb Ghost Country thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Unknown

    Loser

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Emily

    Im sorry i have to go *leaves*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Unknown

    Leaves u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Noah

    Naw bruh leave me alone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    I recommend

    This book is a continuation of The Breachso I would recommend that you read that first. While it is not necessary it help wioth the understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Crypt

    "Probably faster."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Ghost

    Ok, good. And how large could i get? O.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    I would recommend this book.

    Exciting and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Were at

    Res four.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another Thriller in this 3 part series

    A great second chapter of this 3 book series. Really kicked up the action and provide a great blend of scifi. This time our hero Travis is brought back from a life of remote destitution to help save Paige. The subject of this book which is about 2 years after the previous book is a device that allows you to step through an iris into the future 74 years. The problem is all the people are gone and Travis, Paige and newcomer Bethany, a real techno wizard, must find out what happened and try and stop it from happening. It is discovered the event happens 3 months from the present day. A lot of action and cat and mouse as the trio moves back and forth in time to evade their pursuers and find out what happened. Highly recommend and am starting the final book in this series right away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Great

    Excellent, very intense, story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7