BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ghost Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Superb

    This was the first book I read by this author and I was not disappointed. It grabs at you, making you want to continue to read more and more until you are done. Her words, so descriptive they make you feel like you are there, right over her shoulder while all is happening. As soon as I was done with this book I ran out and purchased Beautiful Child. I could not put that one down either. Her writing is flawless. I can't imagine having seen the things she's seen/heard as a teacher for special ed children. But I recommend her books to everyone. It is tragic however, the terrible things that happened to those children. It's just unimaginable, until you actually read this book. Be warned-it is graphic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I LOVED this book. The first night I started reading at 9:00p.m and didn't stop until 2:00a.m! It was really a page turner and I COULD NOT put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is such a wondeful story. It has tear jerkers around every corner. Its such a horrifying story, knowing that some one has been treat this way. It makes me wonder how any one could ever treat anyone like the way Jadie was. Theres beauty and brilliance in every sentence. This story made me have a few tears in my eyes. Its definatly worth reading, and a tremendous 5 star!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Ghost Girl - Wonderful Winner From Hayden

    The story Hayden tells will leave your jaw dropped! It blows the mind to think that this is in fact a true story. I was intrigued, shocked, and ultimately moved to tears with Hayden's haunting story of such a broken little girl. A girl facing a darkness so disturbing I scarce could take it in. This book will have you staring at the cover days after you have finished it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    Amazing.

    I found the book truly amazing. I had heard of Torey Hayden, and was intrigued to know more, so I went along to the book shop and looked up her name. I was surprised to find a selection of books, and through reading the blurb's on the back of the books, I was immediately drawn to Ghost Girl. The book was an incredible, and it deeply saddens me to know that people can be so cruel, and its horrible to know that things like that are actually happening in the world. I would like to thank Torey Haden for bringing us such an amazing account of the story. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    Absolutely amazing novel

    Everything you read in this book is so surreal, torey is an amazing person and it just really makes you wonder like jadie if torey isnt god. this was probably the best book i have ever read. Every chapter i was finished with made me want to read more, i finished it in a day because i just COULDNT put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Profound...

    Brace yourselves. This is a suspenseful, heart wrenching, and sadly, a truthful novel. But it is also eye-opening. I was riveted by the first chapter. As every sad detail of Jadie's life is revealed, I felt as if I was getting punched in the stomach. This book is so horrifying because it isn't fiction,it is fact. My heart just goes out to Jadie, and I admire her strength and determination. I recommend this to readers who are willing to find the hope in this book , to know that there are people like Torey who can help the children and inspire us to do the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Ghost Girl

    This book is a thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat page after page. A teacher accepts a job as a teacher for the slower children ,in a small city but little that she knows she has a lot to deal with. She meets all the children and gets to know them well, then a little girl named Jadie comes after school everyday to play with dolls and other things. The only problem with this girl Jadie is that she doesn¿t talk in class, so Mrs. Hayden always tries to get her to talk but never could get anything out of her. Then finally one day she spoke, as she spoke she would tell some stories that didn¿t sound realistic, but later to come out that it really is true and Mrs. Hayden has a lot of thinking to do. When she finally comes to the bottom of everything it shocks her to find out the truth about it all. Ghost Girl by Torey L. Hayden would be a great book to read if you would understand the issues going on. That is why I am recommending this book to all to read it and love it. Once you get into the book you will never want to let it down til you get to the end. In the book you will never know what is going to happen next, and when it does it still shocks you for what the outcome is. This book is what you can call a ¿Page-turner.¿You never will find another book well written and well described like this one, once you read this you will want to read more books of the same author. When your done and finished you will be in totally awe because it is very surprising.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2004

    It was a great book

    I loved the book I'm only 11 years old but it was one of the best books I ever read. It is not a book I would reccomend for 9 and under

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Best book i have ever read!!!!!!!!

    This book was awsome once you read it you will be dieing to read her other books!!!! Im only 14 and i loved it. We i had got it i didn't think i would read it but i fell in love with it!! Its makes you want to never put down the book at all till your done! ANd it keeps you woindering kind of like a 'S. King's' book but better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    Great Book

    Another great read by Hayden. The only dissapointing aspect of the book was the lack of a solid conclusion. However, don't let that deter you from reading it. It is definately a great read and I recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    Ghost Girl is a Scary-Good Book

    "Ghost Girl" by Torey Hayden is an amazing book and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good read. In the book, Hayden writes about her true experience with a disturbed child and how she helps the child be pulled out of her awful world. The story begins when Torey Hayden gets a job as a special education elementary teacher in the small town of Pecking, but little did she know, she would have huge obstacles to deal with. Jadie, and eight-year-old girl in Torey's new class, never talked and looked miserable all the time. Despite numerous attempts to get Jadie to speak, no one ever could, so Torey wanted to be the one to help the young girl everyone else had given up on in order to pull her out of the dark world she was in. As time passes, Torey convinces Jadie to speak, but nothing could have prepared Torey for the horrendous, gruesome, awful stories Jadie shared about her life, and Jadie refused to share these stories with anyone but Torey. Now, the whole town is wondering whether Jadie has driven Torey to insanity with these stories, or if Jadie is really in pain with no way out. The book's major theme is that the power of love and the passionate determination of the human spirit can help anyone in extreme peril. Until Torey came along, Jadie has never opened up to anyone. But, Torey treated Jadie with love and compassion, which made Jadie feel wanted and like she was important enough to share her stories with Torey. Also, through all the frustration, Torey did not give up on Jadie. Torey was determined to get her better, and it taught Jadie that someone was willing to fight for her. There were many elements I loved about this book. I loved the story, and the fact that the story is true made it even more powerful. The author also used many similes and metaphors, which enhanced the book's power and made it come to life more. Furthermore, I loved that the author ended every chapter with a cliff hanger, which made me want to read on. I can honestly say there is nothing I disliked about this book, because everything about it was great. I believe someone should read this book because it is truly an inspiring story. The book is all about a woman helping a miserable child no one else could help, and it just inspires the reader to go do something good for someone in the world. I would also recommend this book because I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, and I did not know what was going to happen next which made me want to keep reading. The author of the book is Torey Hayden, who has other great books like "One Child" and "Just Another Kid." Overall, I give this book a five-star rating because it was amazing. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Fair reading

    Reading was easy. Origional ideas that could be useful to professionals.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    This was a fascinating story that I stayed up late to finish in one night.<BR/><BR/>When a Special Education teacher begins to see clues that Jadie, one of her students, might be the victim of possible ritualistic sexual abuse, she digs deeper and ultimately must come forward with her suspicions.<BR/><BR/>This is a haunting, riveting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    wonderful read

    I randomly came across this book in Scotland and decided to take it for my plane ride home. It never made it to the plane as I read it for two days straight. I was thoroughly impressed with Hayden's accounts and it renewed my belief that there are people willing to help at any cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    Ending leaves you hanging

    I enjoyed the book up until the end. They leave out all the details that you need to finish the book. They never tell you who did all these things to her or what the police did about it. I really wanted to know who was responsible for these terrible things and WAM, you just assume its the parents but you don't know for sure.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    Ghost Girl

    This book is great, if not a little graphic. But it's real, and it's scary to know that it actually happened to three innocent little girls. I couldn't put the book down, even though I got somewhat freaked out at night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    Or not too much?

    I feel that Torey had to include such detail to give the reader all information needed in order to come to his or her own conclusion. Without such details, the reader might not have understood why Torey came to the conclusion she came to. We must understand that such horror exists, and without writers such as Torey Hayden, we might never know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    Too much?

    This was a great book, but it may have given a bit too much detail. I enjoyed reading the book, but I found it very disturbing. The things described by Torey in this book are for older, more mature readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    The book was not the greatest, but it was good.

    I would give this book three stars out of five because I believe the book gives a little too much information about Jadie, Amber, and Sapphire being sexually abused. For the most part, I did enjoy the steps that were taken to prevent the inncodent from happening again. When I finished this book, I knew this book was not for me, but for some of you, I think you should read it because it makes you realize how fortunate we are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2