BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Ghost Hunter

Average Rating 4
( 394 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

An exciting read!

Ashley Hunter arrives in the small English village of Crossroads ostensibly to settle into the crumbling pub she inherited from her aunt, but in reality to find out what happened to her father. She talks to ghosts, a secret she's hiding from the townspeople. But what sh...
Ashley Hunter arrives in the small English village of Crossroads ostensibly to settle into the crumbling pub she inherited from her aunt, but in reality to find out what happened to her father. She talks to ghosts, a secret she's hiding from the townspeople. But what she doesn't know is that they're hiding secrets from her, too. So is Christian, the fallen angel who has to conquer a great evil in order to get what he wants most in the world. To do it, he needs Ashley's help.

I devoured this book. Though it's a contemporary book, it has a Gothic feel that I enjoyed. Ashley and Christian are great characters, and they match a plot that kept me guessing, with a lot of surprises. Some books start of great and the excitement tapers off. Not Ghost Hunter. It started off great, and kept getting more exciting. A highly recommended read!

posted by erlovesbooks on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ok

It was a ok read, i felt that their was too much going on in the book, also it took forever for the two main characters to finally get together. I did however loved her imagination, i will definately check her other books out

posted by 8854239 on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 395 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    An exciting read!

    Ashley Hunter arrives in the small English village of Crossroads ostensibly to settle into the crumbling pub she inherited from her aunt, but in reality to find out what happened to her father. She talks to ghosts, a secret she's hiding from the townspeople. But what she doesn't know is that they're hiding secrets from her, too. So is Christian, the fallen angel who has to conquer a great evil in order to get what he wants most in the world. To do it, he needs Ashley's help.

    I devoured this book. Though it's a contemporary book, it has a Gothic feel that I enjoyed. Ashley and Christian are great characters, and they match a plot that kept me guessing, with a lot of surprises. Some books start of great and the excitement tapers off. Not Ghost Hunter. It started off great, and kept getting more exciting. A highly recommended read!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Loved This

    I love this kind of story! It had a very unique story line, and I really liked the characters too. I will look for more books by this author!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Ok

    It was a ok read, i felt that their was too much going on in the book, also it took forever for the two main characters to finally get together. I did however loved her imagination, i will definately check her other books out

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too much going on that the story is lost

    Way to long and drawn out...too much going on that the story got lost in the shuffle. I realize that the main characters are somehow met to get together, but the round about way to get there is too much. I thought the plot was good, but the added on and added on characters and side stories lost the flow. I have been reading this book off and on for months and I can tell you it did not get better. I finished it to get it off my currently reading list.

    The sad part about it is...I have read this author before and enjoyed her work. This book needs editing to make it flow better...cut cut cut. The romance even took a back seat to all the other stuff going on that didn't seen to get the reader anywhere. 2 1/2 stars

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    hate to give bad reviews

    i hate to give bad reviews especially to free books because i love to read and can't afford books all the time but i just couldn't get into this book and i really wanted to. maybe i'll come back to it at a later time and try again.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Confusing

    I think this story has a lot of potential. Unfortunatly it keeps jumping around I'm so confused. In one chapter she is ignoring the ghost in the next she talks about how they won't answer her questions. I think this syory has a lot if potential. I just feel like i am always playing catch up.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Less than average - glad it was only 99 cents.

    I would have rated this 2.5 if you could do half stars. It's not quite as bad as a 2, but not really a 3 either. I loved the idea of the book, but it just wasn't pulled off as well as I think it could have been. 1) There are alot of contradictions and duplications in the story line. 2) By the end of the book, nothing has really happened. They are still in the same situation as the beginning of the story, just with one different character. 3) The dialogue is horrible. I would have preferred the author just say, X character is from England, Y character is from Scottland, etc, instead of trying to phonetically "enhance" the dialogue. I can easily imagine an English or Scottish accent, but the phonetic dialog comes off pirate-like. As a result almost ever character in this book was a drunk pirate. It just didn't flow. Out of these, the dialogue was by far the worst part for me. I probably won't read any sequels unless they are very cheap, I am very bored and I'm in the mood for some pirate action.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put it down! I read it in 2 days. I just got the secon

    Could not put it down! I read it in 2 days. I just got the second in the series. At only a little over 200 pages, it will only take an hour or so to read. Please hurry and write more in this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    so good!

    I loved this book! I couldnt put it down and im gonna get the second one right now

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Would recommend

    This book was the perfect blend of sci-fi, action, and romance. The love story sometimes got a little redundant, but I found myself rooting for them just the same.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Could be a good tale

    Needs editing
    Too repetitive
    Sory moves very slowly

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Not worth your time

    This was HORRIBLE - if the woman said "Fanfreakingtastic" one more time I was gonna puke! Kept reading thinking it was gonna get better, ending was best part of entire book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    High reviews-but what a drag

    I read the reviews before purchasing this book and thought I would give it a try. So many had talked about it being good, but I have to disagree. This book seemed like it had a good start-then I got to about page 170 and just couldn't keep reading. It was boring and slow moving. I usually sit and read a book straight to the end....This one has taken me 3 weeks and I still can't find the desire to finish it. The characters have no 'life' to them (compared to other stories I have read) and there are a a BUNCH of typo's in the book which just irritate me (and I am not talking about the language that some characters speak-but actual typo's) It seems like each interaction between the two main characters is the same each and every time...so its like constantly reading the same page over and over. (If you have ever seen a soap opera you will know what I mean when I say...things happen, but NOTHING ever happens in this book) Maybe there is a good story in the last 100 pages, but I will never know because I can't get to them through all the 'blah' in the beginning and middle. I am really disappointed that I have wasted so much time trying to give it chance after chance. What a bore...What a let down...What a bad book. Hate to say it, but don't waste the 2.99!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Interesting....

    Took awhile to get into the book, then it read very fast. I will look for other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Great Paranormal Romance

    This was really a great story. There was romance, adventure, other worldly creatures...a great mix. I liked that we were able to see into the minds of both main characters. There was a lot of angst between them for awhile, and that added to the depth of the novel, I thought. It was really an enjoyable read.

    Having said all that, I feel like I need to point out the typos. There were more in this book than any I've read so far. It was mostly leaving out words like "a", "the", etc., but there were other errors as well. I expect to find a few typos in both indie and traditionally published books, but this one really needed a good editor. Still, the story was so good, I felt like it deserved the 4 star rating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Eeehhhhh

    Weird premise, poof character development-over half of the book before being able to figure out he was an archangel; and she was a seer• Their purpose never was exactly defined•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2014

    Buffy the Vampire Slayer meet Buffy the Ghost Slayer.  It was a

    Buffy the Vampire Slayer meet Buffy the Ghost Slayer.  It was a bit of an overkill to read this to the end.  Too much background and foreground was provided that left this a very slow and grueling book to finish reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    Lori has really given a whole new meaning to the term Ghost Hunt

    Lori has really given a whole new meaning to the term Ghost Hunter. 
    Ashley is an american girl that has just inherited The White Horse Pub and Inn of Crossroads, England,
    from her Aunt Clare. But little does Ashley know she has just walked into a part of her life that will
    change her completely. Ashley has always been able to see ghosts, she just never new other
    supernatural creates existed. But as Ashley explores the old pub she discovers there is more to the pub
    than she bargained for. Like Cristian, an angel who has come to protect Ashley. From the first moment
    Ashley sets eyes on Cristian she knows she is in trouble. With his golden hair and killer body Ashley
    has little will power. Add in some vampires, demon and witches oh my and you have one heck of a story.

    I can't wait to start book The Demon Hunter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Great READ

    I liked It !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ashley has always been able to see ghosts - and now she has rece

    Ashley has always been able to see ghosts - and now she has recently become the owner of an inn full of them.  She becomes attached to a few of "her" ghosts and when she finds out Cristian, a strange man trying to buy her inn, making them disappear she begins to wonder what it going on.  I enjoyed Ashley's character, a strong female lead that has her own destiny and isn't afraid to try and take care of herself.  I really didn't like Cristian at first - very cocky and arrogant - and he was getting rid of Ashley's ghost (very rude).




    But, of course, things quickly sail full steam ahead out of control when an ancient demon comes into the picture.  A demon that has quite the history with Cristian.  The story picks up the pace very quickly and never really slows down until it's all over.  Ashley and Cristian manage to find some time together throughout and some of their scenes are quite touching.  I'm interested to see what might be happening next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 395 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20