Customer Reviews for

The Ghost Hunter

Average Rating 4
( 394 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

An exciting read!

Ashley Hunter arrives in the small English village of Crossroads ostensibly to settle into the crumbling pub she inherited from her aunt, but in reality to find out what happened to her father. She talks to ghosts, a secret she's hiding from the townspeople. But what sh...
Ashley Hunter arrives in the small English village of Crossroads ostensibly to settle into the crumbling pub she inherited from her aunt, but in reality to find out what happened to her father. She talks to ghosts, a secret she's hiding from the townspeople. But what she doesn't know is that they're hiding secrets from her, too. So is Christian, the fallen angel who has to conquer a great evil in order to get what he wants most in the world. To do it, he needs Ashley's help.

I devoured this book. Though it's a contemporary book, it has a Gothic feel that I enjoyed. Ashley and Christian are great characters, and they match a plot that kept me guessing, with a lot of surprises. Some books start of great and the excitement tapers off. Not Ghost Hunter. It started off great, and kept getting more exciting. A highly recommended read!

posted by erlovesbooks on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ok

It was a ok read, i felt that their was too much going on in the book, also it took forever for the two main characters to finally get together. I did however loved her imagination, i will definately check her other books out

posted by 8854239 on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too much going on that the story is lost

    Way to long and drawn out...too much going on that the story got lost in the shuffle. I realize that the main characters are somehow met to get together, but the round about way to get there is too much. I thought the plot was good, but the added on and added on characters and side stories lost the flow. I have been reading this book off and on for months and I can tell you it did not get better. I finished it to get it off my currently reading list.

    The sad part about it is...I have read this author before and enjoyed her work. This book needs editing to make it flow better...cut cut cut. The romance even took a back seat to all the other stuff going on that didn't seen to get the reader anywhere. 2 1/2 stars

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Confusing

    I think this story has a lot of potential. Unfortunatly it keeps jumping around I'm so confused. In one chapter she is ignoring the ghost in the next she talks about how they won't answer her questions. I think this syory has a lot if potential. I just feel like i am always playing catch up.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Less than average - glad it was only 99 cents.

    I would have rated this 2.5 if you could do half stars. It's not quite as bad as a 2, but not really a 3 either. I loved the idea of the book, but it just wasn't pulled off as well as I think it could have been. 1) There are alot of contradictions and duplications in the story line. 2) By the end of the book, nothing has really happened. They are still in the same situation as the beginning of the story, just with one different character. 3) The dialogue is horrible. I would have preferred the author just say, X character is from England, Y character is from Scottland, etc, instead of trying to phonetically "enhance" the dialogue. I can easily imagine an English or Scottish accent, but the phonetic dialog comes off pirate-like. As a result almost ever character in this book was a drunk pirate. It just didn't flow. Out of these, the dialogue was by far the worst part for me. I probably won't read any sequels unless they are very cheap, I am very bored and I'm in the mood for some pirate action.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Could be a good tale

    Needs editing
    Too repetitive
    Sory moves very slowly

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    High reviews-but what a drag

    I read the reviews before purchasing this book and thought I would give it a try. So many had talked about it being good, but I have to disagree. This book seemed like it had a good start-then I got to about page 170 and just couldn't keep reading. It was boring and slow moving. I usually sit and read a book straight to the end....This one has taken me 3 weeks and I still can't find the desire to finish it. The characters have no 'life' to them (compared to other stories I have read) and there are a a BUNCH of typo's in the book which just irritate me (and I am not talking about the language that some characters speak-but actual typo's) It seems like each interaction between the two main characters is the same each and every time...so its like constantly reading the same page over and over. (If you have ever seen a soap opera you will know what I mean when I say...things happen, but NOTHING ever happens in this book) Maybe there is a good story in the last 100 pages, but I will never know because I can't get to them through all the 'blah' in the beginning and middle. I am really disappointed that I have wasted so much time trying to give it chance after chance. What a bore...What a let down...What a bad book. Hate to say it, but don't waste the 2.99!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2014

    Buffy the Vampire Slayer meet Buffy the Ghost Slayer.  It was a

    Buffy the Vampire Slayer meet Buffy the Ghost Slayer.  It was a bit of an overkill to read this to the end.  Too much background and foreground was provided that left this a very slow and grueling book to finish reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Fair

    This was an alright book Could have been a little more exciting I would have liked it to have a little more action in the book In other words the book just dragged allong All though the charters were interesting Author could have put a little more umph in the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    677 pgs, wasn't really my thing.

    677 pgs, wasn't really my thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2