Customer Reviews for

The Ghost Hunter

Average Rating 4
( 395 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

An exciting read!

Ashley Hunter arrives in the small English village of Crossroads ostensibly to settle into the crumbling pub she inherited from her aunt, but in reality to find out what happened to her father. She talks to ghosts, a secret she's hiding from the townspeople. But what sh...
Ashley Hunter arrives in the small English village of Crossroads ostensibly to settle into the crumbling pub she inherited from her aunt, but in reality to find out what happened to her father. She talks to ghosts, a secret she's hiding from the townspeople. But what she doesn't know is that they're hiding secrets from her, too. So is Christian, the fallen angel who has to conquer a great evil in order to get what he wants most in the world. To do it, he needs Ashley's help.

I devoured this book. Though it's a contemporary book, it has a Gothic feel that I enjoyed. Ashley and Christian are great characters, and they match a plot that kept me guessing, with a lot of surprises. Some books start of great and the excitement tapers off. Not Ghost Hunter. It started off great, and kept getting more exciting. A highly recommended read!

posted by erlovesbooks on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ok

It was a ok read, i felt that their was too much going on in the book, also it took forever for the two main characters to finally get together. I did however loved her imagination, i will definately check her other books out

posted by 8854239 on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Ok

    It was a ok read, i felt that their was too much going on in the book, also it took forever for the two main characters to finally get together. I did however loved her imagination, i will definately check her other books out

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    hate to give bad reviews

    i hate to give bad reviews especially to free books because i love to read and can't afford books all the time but i just couldn't get into this book and i really wanted to. maybe i'll come back to it at a later time and try again.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    Ok

    Different

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ashley has always been able to see ghosts - and now she has rece

    Ashley has always been able to see ghosts - and now she has recently become the owner of an inn full of them.  She becomes attached to a few of "her" ghosts and when she finds out Cristian, a strange man trying to buy her inn, making them disappear she begins to wonder what it going on.  I enjoyed Ashley's character, a strong female lead that has her own destiny and isn't afraid to try and take care of herself.  I really didn't like Cristian at first - very cocky and arrogant - and he was getting rid of Ashley's ghost (very rude).




    But, of course, things quickly sail full steam ahead out of control when an ancient demon comes into the picture.  A demon that has quite the history with Cristian.  The story picks up the pace very quickly and never really slows down until it's all over.  Ashley and Cristian manage to find some time together throughout and some of their scenes are quite touching.  I'm interested to see what might be happening next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Good

    Good enough that I got the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Itz ok...

    It wasnt the greatest book of all time... i guess that u have to read the reviews first...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    So so

    Got tired of lead characters constant hysterics


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Intriguing but ultimately fell flat

    So much potential but like a few other reviewers mentioned, this was all over the place and not meeting potential in others. I liked all the characters, it was witty and creative, but did not quite live up to all it could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Not bad at all

    Great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Probably should have given this a two start rating, but I did st

    Probably should have given this a two start rating, but I did stay with it until the end. The story itself has great potential but there need to be some major edits and re-writes. I don't believe that she had too many characters, but not enough development of the major players in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Ok

    I own it because it was free. Good book, don't normally like books about ghosts and hell, but it was pretty decent. Good plot line and good battle. Looking for book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Fantastic world building!

    This book ended up being pretty good! I thought the story line was great and was unique enough it didn't at all feel repetitive. I love that it was full of supernatural beings and how the entire world worked, including the angels.
    I didn't love the main character, Ashley. I didn't feel much of a connection with her and I found her to be a bit annoying. She didn't know what she wanted and was horrible about seeing the truth that was right in front of her. It certainly didn't ruin the story for me though, just knocked it down a notch.
    I loved Cristian and thought he was a super hot hunk of Angel. It did bug me that he didn't talk to Ashley and fill her in, instead he just pushed her away and tried to get her to leave. There was the cat and mouse here, like usual in paranormal romance, where they constantly deny themselves to each other. That was a downside to me- but that's a common theme so it's certainly nothing new.
    The story was easy to read and I enjoyed it while I was reading it. I wasn't blown away by any means, but I really liked the concept of everything. Keep in mind that although I love paranormal I think I'm more of an urban fantasy fan because so many aspects of the romance in books drives me bonkers. There are some authors I still read diligently despite this, but I want you all aware that the way romance tends to play out in adult books normally bothers me. If you like paranormal romance you'll likely like this one, give it a shot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Great Plot!!

    It took a while to get to the plot, but once I got there, I couldn't put it down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4