Customer Reviews for

Ghost in the Machine (Skeleton Creek Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This second book in the Skeleton Creek series is a winner!

I loved the first book in the series and this second book lives up to that reputation. This is an awesome mystery for middle graders. It was fun, scary, and suspenseful. I love how this series incorporates online videos into the story. Very clever and fun. This is ...
I loved the first book in the series and this second book lives up to that reputation. This is an awesome mystery for middle graders. It was fun, scary, and suspenseful. I love how this series incorporates online videos into the story. Very clever and fun. This is a must read by an excellent author!

posted by tennisgirlsc on November 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Age rateing

Need an age limit im 12 is that good.

posted by Anonymous on November 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This second book in the Skeleton Creek series is a winner!

    I loved the first book in the series and this second book lives up to that reputation. This is an awesome mystery for middle graders. It was fun, scary, and suspenseful. I love how this series incorporates online videos into the story. Very clever and fun. This is a must read by an excellent author!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    I love skeleton creek

    I loved the first book so much i was even screaming on the videos i hope this does the same! Great book recommend to 5th grade and up

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    You have to read this dudes

    Ghost in the Machine
    The book that I had finished was interesting and exciting mystery. The name of the book is Ghost in the Machine and it is a heck of a ride when you read this book. This book is about a mystery of two kids named Ryan and Sarah it about them finding out the mystery of Skeleton Creek. And were ever they look for a clue it always put the two kids back where they had started. When Ryan and Sarah are trying to uncover the secret of the mystery someone dead or alive is trying to stop. As the stakes get higher, so do the risks. The clues they find the more dangerous it gets for Ryan and Sarah. And the more scare it gets so don' try to get scared because if you get scared the book is working so be careful on what you read in this book because any clue can come up in a blink of an eye and you won't even notice it.


    My thoughts on the book it is phenomenal because the book is good, it feels like you are one of the protagonist; in the story. My other thoughts are why couldn't the author give out what was go on in the last video of the story because it left me thinking if they ran from the old ship or did they should on for dear life when I started to read Ryan started to talk about it was a ship filled with gold but I kept thinking what about the ship why did it start to shake what happened so yes it left me think I do not know if the author was trying to do that but I think he or she should of put more details on what happened and I'm still wondering so thats a big an annoying thought I have about the book. Most of the characters in the story acted really weird when Sarah asked a question about the ghost in the ship for example Sarah went to a church and a janitor asked her "can I help you" and thats when she asked him and he started to look all pail and scared and he just ran to the back and came back with a video and he said "see this video and that will answer all your questions and you have to bring this back on a Sunday morning". My thoughts were what does he know and why was he so nervous all of a sudden that made me think was he a part of this.

    The time it mostly to place was at night like around at 12.00 am. But Ryan and Sarah always sneaked out so they can go find out the mystery. But there is a catch both of their parents don't know what they both were doing. My thoughts were that didn't they get a strange feeling that they where going to get cough and if they did what where they going to say I think Ryan and Sarah would get in big trouble and both of their parents where going to is that they both were going to go to the school and maybe put a restraining orders on both kids so they would not get near each other. My other thoughts are why do the parents feel that way have they ever meet with each other because to me they sound like they care for each other. And they wouldn't let someone get heart I guess their parents are just mean they just want their child safe. In conclusion Skeleton Creek is scare and fun to read when you are at home with a flash light in the dark. You can get sacred during day time but you can have fun by having an imagination of being in the story and just having the time of your life you just have to have imagination. Thats what makes it fun to read so I highly recommend it. So go out and get this book because there is not turning back.

    By, Eduardo Calles

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Great series

    I loved this book and the first. (Haven't read the third. ) and i loved them! They keep you interested, especially when you go online and watch the videos with the codes. I recommened everyone to read this. Probably 12+ since i was like 12 or so when i read the first book, and some of the videos made me jump. xD

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great YA Mystery

    I put this book in our library. Had to get all three of the trilogy. Can't keep it in the library. Kids love the computer connection

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    Ghost In the Machine.

    This is a perfect mystery book. Its the Second book in the skeleton Creek series. I have read this its a great book I say its for ages 8-12. If you child loves mysteries this is the book.. READ THE FIRST SKELETON CREEK BOOK FIRST.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Bonechilling!

    I read this book in my classroom and stillcreeped out!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Ghosts????

    The skeleton creek series is amazing. You read the books and they give you passwords to watch spine chilling videos. This book is full of suspense and once you start reading you can't put it down. The first day I got it I finished it. Its the best childrens book I have ever read and I would reccomend it to any child in need of a good THRILLER. I just can't explan how good this book is I love it and I BET you will love it too.It would be a hit if it was a movie. So go on read this mystery story and try to put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    awesome book ever

    the book so far is very great and right now i am on pge 184 i think and it is so great and i'm starting to think that ryan and sarah like each other more than justa friend ........ but it is great .. and i like it when it says awaken you coward fool , when the birdie turns. and i'm scared when it says don't make me come looking for you, the apostale will see you now: and , the apostle is dead so im thinking that maybe the apostle will come after ryan and try to kill him and anyways it's a great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Kept me going

    Ryqn is in huge troublw if i found out my dad was part of some secret society i would say bye-bye i am leaving that would be so scary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    MUST READ

    Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Spooky!

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Good

    This book is verry godd kkkkk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Skeleton creek for all

    Uh oh sarah is going back to the dredge and ryan feels its not safe for her.ryan and sarah have been e-mailing each other about the secrets about skeleton creek. Ryan thinks his dad is in a secret scociaty called "the cross bones" and gets curious. As sarah makes videos of the dredge ryan is handy capped with a brocken leg and is under close eye of his parents so he cant save saarah fron the evil of the dradge and maybe,get herself killed along with explorong the mysteries of skeleton creeks dredge. Sarah is in trouble. Ryan cant help. What is going on in the dredge? Find out in skeleton creek.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Gitm

    HsusjshdudidjduswwwwssduduhdhxddwsdhdedhdjuddfhdhjfjdjdddddddyddgddfgftuwiqijcbxkqpquuuuuuujjjjjggggrrdcbjutffgfwwsdzdYhdgdhdjshdtdjdjdghshwhsggdddssggggggggggggassdddhfhueehfgdudid

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    WE WANT MORE SKELETON CREEK BOOKS

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good!

    I love watching the videos, and it was really good. I like the ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    1 and 2 are both GREAT

    In the second book things start off great, and it's great the whole way thoughout the book, but at the end it seems like it's being rushed and too "fake", concidering the WHOLE book was very well written.
    Overall, I suggest you should buy this because it was great! If you like thriller, suspence, mysteries, then you will LOVE this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Awesome!

    In the words of my 10 year old son... It is funny and scary. On the edge of your seat thrilling. Make sure you watch the videos because you can follow the book better. Shhhhh a third book is coming out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This book is very good! It keeps you wondering the whole time. The author is very good and I definetly recommend this to middle graders!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2