BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ghost Knight

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite In "Ghost Knight

Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite

In "Ghost Knight" by Cornelia Funks, we are introduced to 11 year old Jon Whitcroft, a very unhappy boy. Jon's mother is soon to marry a man Jon calls "The Beard", and to make matters worse, Jon's sisters ar...
Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite

In "Ghost Knight" by Cornelia Funks, we are introduced to 11 year old Jon Whitcroft, a very unhappy boy. Jon's mother is soon to marry a man Jon calls "The Beard", and to make matters worse, Jon's sisters are absolutely captivated by the man Jon abhors. After all, Jon has been the man of the house since his father's death and he feels things are running smoothly and just fine without "the Beard." Since Jon's attitude causes problems for the entire family, he is sent to boarding school and initially, this location transplant only causes Jon further grief. He soon meets ghosts that terrify him and he feels his life has surely come to an end. Enter his lovely friend Ella, a girl with a passion for adventure and exploration. Together, the two try to solve the mysteries that have plagued the boarding school for centuries.

Jon summons the ghost of Knight Longspee and the adventure kicks into high gear. Funke is highly adept at captivating the interest of the young reader and pulling the child right smack dab into the center of the adventure. No child will be able to resist playing the part of Jon or Ella as they make their way through the world of the dead. The story is just frightening enough that the child wants to work to resolution but not so tame as to discourage the imagination of the child adventurer who wants to slay dragons and put to rest the walking dead. A truly delightful tale!

posted by ReadersFavorite on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

When I was younger I really liked to read fantasy books set in a

When I was younger I really liked to read fantasy books set in a medieval era. This book was an interesting blend of fantasy and contemporary that was actually pretty well done.

Reasons to Read:

1.Jon:

Jon is one of those boys that is very misunderstood. He gets into...
When I was younger I really liked to read fantasy books set in a medieval era. This book was an interesting blend of fantasy and contemporary that was actually pretty well done.

Reasons to Read:

1.Jon:

Jon is one of those boys that is very misunderstood. He gets into trouble a lot for various reasons, and adults seem to instantaneously hate him. I liked that he was the narrator of the novel because then we got to see into what he was thinking, and why he did the things he does. I liked that he was especially interested in being rebellious for the sake of being rebellious, but it was mostly just big misunderstandings. I also liked how he wasn't perfect. He says and does some things that are not the best. He's also the one being rescued most of the time, although that changes a bit near the end of the book.

2.Sir William Longspee:

Longspee is a ghost that is a knight. That should be enough to explain it right there, but I'll go into a bit more detail. Basically Longspee is this awesome knight that's just epic in every way imaginable. At first, he's painted as this perfect figure that never makes mistakes and always has good morals. You do get to learn a bit more about his past, which made him the most complex character in the entire book. He's also very handy with a sword, and constantly wins his battles throughout the book.

I do wish that a bit more character development could've been established in this book, but the main focus is an older, more mature Jon telling this story. I am glad though that Longspee's character was very well established. This book could definitely appeal to a lot of people, including an older audience, since some of the scenes in this book were a bit frightening and there was some language in it. Overall though, I would reccomend this if you like fantasy and contemporary books, then this is the book for you.

ARC received from HBG Canada.

posted by SweetPeaBubbles on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    When I was younger I really liked to read fantasy books set in a

    When I was younger I really liked to read fantasy books set in a medieval era. This book was an interesting blend of fantasy and contemporary that was actually pretty well done.

    Reasons to Read:

    1.Jon:

    Jon is one of those boys that is very misunderstood. He gets into trouble a lot for various reasons, and adults seem to instantaneously hate him. I liked that he was the narrator of the novel because then we got to see into what he was thinking, and why he did the things he does. I liked that he was especially interested in being rebellious for the sake of being rebellious, but it was mostly just big misunderstandings. I also liked how he wasn't perfect. He says and does some things that are not the best. He's also the one being rescued most of the time, although that changes a bit near the end of the book.

    2.Sir William Longspee:

    Longspee is a ghost that is a knight. That should be enough to explain it right there, but I'll go into a bit more detail. Basically Longspee is this awesome knight that's just epic in every way imaginable. At first, he's painted as this perfect figure that never makes mistakes and always has good morals. You do get to learn a bit more about his past, which made him the most complex character in the entire book. He's also very handy with a sword, and constantly wins his battles throughout the book.

    I do wish that a bit more character development could've been established in this book, but the main focus is an older, more mature Jon telling this story. I am glad though that Longspee's character was very well established. This book could definitely appeal to a lot of people, including an older audience, since some of the scenes in this book were a bit frightening and there was some language in it. Overall though, I would reccomend this if you like fantasy and contemporary books, then this is the book for you.

    ARC received from HBG Canada.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Awesome

    Ghost Knight was the best book I've ever read. It's about a boy named Jon who goes to boarding school for the first time and feels deserted by his family and angry at his soon-to-be stepfather... The Beard. But once he gets there he meets a beautiful and smart girl who becomes his best friend as they have many adventures together fighting murderous ghosts. I think anyone who has liked the Harry Potter books will enjoy Ghost Night, or anyone who loves to read 24/7 because they can't put the book down! :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite In "Ghost Knight

    Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite

    In "Ghost Knight" by Cornelia Funks, we are introduced to 11 year old Jon Whitcroft, a very unhappy boy. Jon's mother is soon to marry a man Jon calls "The Beard", and to make matters worse, Jon's sisters are absolutely captivated by the man Jon abhors. After all, Jon has been the man of the house since his father's death and he feels things are running smoothly and just fine without "the Beard." Since Jon's attitude causes problems for the entire family, he is sent to boarding school and initially, this location transplant only causes Jon further grief. He soon meets ghosts that terrify him and he feels his life has surely come to an end. Enter his lovely friend Ella, a girl with a passion for adventure and exploration. Together, the two try to solve the mysteries that have plagued the boarding school for centuries.

    Jon summons the ghost of Knight Longspee and the adventure kicks into high gear. Funke is highly adept at captivating the interest of the young reader and pulling the child right smack dab into the center of the adventure. No child will be able to resist playing the part of Jon or Ella as they make their way through the world of the dead. The story is just frightening enough that the child wants to work to resolution but not so tame as to discourage the imagination of the child adventurer who wants to slay dragons and put to rest the walking dead. A truly delightful tale!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Want to read

    This was one of the best books about ghosts that i have ever read, put into a nonfiction point-of-veiw. I hope everyone will read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Amazung

    I want this book. I read it in the school library and i've wanted it ever since

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Bookhead

    This was a great read! Its around 200 pages but goes by very quickly. But not nerly as good as "inkheart" or "the thief loard" it seems like their is mire then one book, because the main chrtor says things like "she gave me the your so dumb look" even though it only happends once. also it seems very rushed. However once you read it you feel like you have to read it again. Even though it wasnt perfect it was great! I think tthat 4 stars is more then fair. So enjoy this great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Sounds good!

    I didnt read it yet but it it looks good and souds good. I will get it soon! Btw it is Aug. 1 2012. I will probably probably get it in 2-4 days. HI!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!

    This a GREAT book about a misunderstood boy who finds him self in boarding school he at first hates it and sees ghosts! But then he meets Ella who helps him fight off ghosts with a lot of help from a DEAD friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    I am such a fan of Cornelia. I had so many great memories with h

    I am such a fan of Cornelia. I had so many great memories with her writing. I remember The Dragon Rider...oh that was brilliant. Well, now let's talk about Ghost Knight.


    I think I would have completely love this book if I am a little younger. The book was great. I love the setting of the book, the characters, the fantasy of the book.


    The main character Jon is rebellious. Normally I find rebellious kid annoying (because most of the time they are just soooo stupid!). He is one kid that one understand (kind of reminds me of Jamie from Department 19). But unlike Jamie, he is not "strong". He is not the one that is owning everything he do. He is not the "hero" that helps everyone. Instead, he is the one that needs rescue most of the time. I just adore that! I hate how most books depict the main characters as trouble but perfect at everything. Jon actually had to transform through the whole book to become someone stronger. Ella is a strong female character. She is ghost expert! COOL right? The ghost knight is an epic character! He is perfect! The interactions between the characters are so beautifully written.


    The adventure is amazing. The illustrations in the book is magical! The story is beautifully written, and the metaphors are just cute. A great read for younger readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1