Customer Reviews for

Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

beware

If you're fan of Peart because of his drumming (such as I), and are looking for something related to drumming, you're not going to find it here. If you're a motorcyclist looking for stories about a motorcycling adventure, you're not going to find it here, either. This b...
If you're fan of Peart because of his drumming (such as I), and are looking for something related to drumming, you're not going to find it here. If you're a motorcyclist looking for stories about a motorcycling adventure, you're not going to find it here, either. This book was written from the perspective of a man that lost his whole world and was attempting to find himself and his way, by escaping into the 'unknown', and traveling 55, 000 miles using his 'vice', a motorcycle. He wasn't on the road simply touring north american highways and hotels. He was on a journey of self discovery, hoping to find something left inside of himself, to let him know he really did have continued purpose, and to carry on. Along the way, he let us in on many private letters, thoughts, and emotions. Also along the way, he included very nice imagery and descriptions of the landscapes he was traversing. I enjoyed the book very much and found it to be very revealing of Peart in a most personal way. I've been a fan of his, and Rush for some 25 years, so I was acutely aware of his passion for reading and writing. As much as I've respected him as a musician and player, I have even more respect for him as a human, dealing with tragedy. I would recommend this book to someone looking for a deeper insight into who Neil Peart is, aside from the person we, as music fans, think he is. Hope you enjoy.

posted by Anonymous on November 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

This book was nothing but disappointing. After reading Mr. Peart's previous book, 'The Masked Rider,' I had high hopes for this one, only to have them dashed by over 400 pages of what I can only call 'not much.' What makes the book even more disappointing is to see th...
This book was nothing but disappointing. After reading Mr. Peart's previous book, 'The Masked Rider,' I had high hopes for this one, only to have them dashed by over 400 pages of what I can only call 'not much.' What makes the book even more disappointing is to see the clearly talented author's writing gone to waste on this material. There's very little story here or plot in a traditional sense in this book. Instead, what the reader gets is a slice of the inner workings of Mr. Peart's mind from a period covering a little more than a year during which the author attempts to recover from the deaths of both his wife and only child by removing himself from town and driving around North America on his motorcycle. Readers will undoubtedly understand just what he saw on his travels and just how he felt. This is what the reader gets, plain and simple. It is an unfiltered, raw, painful, intimate and very honest account. This is no lightweight material. The author has terrific talent for putting words together and conveying just exactly what was on his mind at the time. The book's brazenly and almost proudly unapologetic style is unmistakable; the author really doesn't care what the reader thinks. Most of these things are promising ingredients for this or any book. But after a while, one is reminded of a teenager far too full of his own bluster and self-purpose not to share it with the rest of the world, yet too immature to understand that the rest of the world has its own share of problems and that life does not and should not revolve around himself. When reading the book, one eventually feels like saying 'enough about you already, what about something for me!' And that's the main problem here and the key ingredient that's missing: the author has nothing to say that's of real interest to anybody. There's nothing for a general audience. They can't learn anything or grow from anything in this book because it doesn't seem as though it's written for the actual people who will be reading it. It seems to be a gift to a husband or a wife only; an intimate sharing of oneself that is satisfying and full as an offering to someone close, yet empty and meaningless as an offering to strangers, presumably the vast majority of the readers. It's as if only a mother or a lover could enjoy this book. To sum it all up, one can only wait eagerly for the next book and hope that it will be much better.

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    beware

    If you're fan of Peart because of his drumming (such as I), and are looking for something related to drumming, you're not going to find it here. If you're a motorcyclist looking for stories about a motorcycling adventure, you're not going to find it here, either. This book was written from the perspective of a man that lost his whole world and was attempting to find himself and his way, by escaping into the 'unknown', and traveling 55, 000 miles using his 'vice', a motorcycle. He wasn't on the road simply touring north american highways and hotels. He was on a journey of self discovery, hoping to find something left inside of himself, to let him know he really did have continued purpose, and to carry on. Along the way, he let us in on many private letters, thoughts, and emotions. Also along the way, he included very nice imagery and descriptions of the landscapes he was traversing. I enjoyed the book very much and found it to be very revealing of Peart in a most personal way. I've been a fan of his, and Rush for some 25 years, so I was acutely aware of his passion for reading and writing. As much as I've respected him as a musician and player, I have even more respect for him as a human, dealing with tragedy. I would recommend this book to someone looking for a deeper insight into who Neil Peart is, aside from the person we, as music fans, think he is. Hope you enjoy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    MUST BE NICE

    This book was enjoyable to if your a fan of the author. The one thing we have to remember is... It doesnt hurt to be rich wile riding your motorcycle across the the US, Canada and Mexico. If you break down who cares. Yes he does ride a long way, but he has all the resources in the world to help him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    Were it not Rush, we'd not read it...

    Great book, well-written. Tough at many times to read.. very descriptive writing, open. Suffice it to say were it not Neil, a guy from Rush, I would certainly not have read it, nor would I choose to read it in the future. Therefore, it's bit ironic that his fame 'allowed' him to publish this book, despite what he might otherwise believe. I cannot imagine going through what he did... I would not read the book again.. it gets a bit pathetic at times, and the publishing of letters found me wanting to 'Turn the Page' [without reading them].. again, I am not making light of what transpired in the man's life. We all know Neil is articulate, calculated.. but when they started selling 'Ghost Rider' tshirts during their latest tour, I just rolled my eyes.. nothing against him.. I just found the book to be lamenting vs soul-searching. And understandably so. I don't think Americans are portrayed in any manner within the book.. and we all know Neil lives in CA, has for some time. We wish him well, but I wish he could simply NOW write about why we WANT to read his writing.. his drumming, writing, and work for Rush. Great book, thoughtful, recommended, just very long. There is one part where he rides in America and mentions Toronto's countryside.. also too many other depictions and excerpts from others' works (long-winded at best). Get thee.. an editor, please.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Sad story but a great read for a real getaway.

    Sad story but a great read for a real getaway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    A great read. A friend recommended it to me. A Non Motorcycling

    A great read. A friend recommended it to me. A Non Motorcycling friend. She really liked the book. I was pretty stoked because it talked about a bunch of rides and places that I;ve done myself. But the key is the journey of the heart that Mr Pert takes. You can see in his writing the healing that takes place.

    I am ready for the meditation of the healing road. Thanks for the inspiration and the great music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    4 out of 5

    A great read, though the ends of several chapters were missing at the time of my reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good book by a great drummer and an even better writer

    Neal Peart is the drummer for the legendary band Rush. In the span of one year he lost his daughter in a car accident and his wife to cancer. In this book "Ghost Rider" Mr. Peart spells out a story thats sure to touch your heart and lift your spirit. After a 45,000 mile motorcycle trip around Canada, The United States and Mexico, Mr Peart tells us what it took for him to cope in those difficult times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    Healing Ghost Ride

    I enjoyed this book very much. Found myself looking forward to my next moments with this book. Many parallels to my life being a musician who had so many losses in one year,it made my head(body,soul) spin. Could relate on many levels. As Neal stated, you can't listen to your (or other's) music and it feels like a whole other previous life or person that existed. Glad to see Neal makes it back to creating music. If you are hurting, this book helps to validate your emotions and is a fun ride with descriptive scenic and emotional travels beside the Ghost Rider!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    The road less traveled...made all the difference.

    The novel written by Mr. Peart is one many authors do not have the guts to write. Writing about personal tragedy, how he got though it, and releasing it to the world (which can be harsh at times) is a very bold move. Even for a man like himself who has been known to be aloof. Having lost a loved one to cancer and also losing my only child, I can relate to how he felt. Granted it would have been nice to see certain characters fleshed out better, such as 'that woman,' as well as to find out why he decided to change the tone of the book from his first person account of events (which really started the book off right) to the postpartum recollections in his letters to Brutus (he could have used this for awhile, and then segued back to the first person account - just my opinion). However, I kept in mind this is a work coming from someone in a very fragile state of mind. After taking that into consideration, and relating to my own experience, I am glad to have picked up this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2003

    Not a lark of a trip, but it wasn't meant to be

    I've read some reviews that say Peart obviously hates Americans, or hates his fans in general. I don't think, from reading this account of his long journey, that this is a fair assessment. True, he often refers to Americans as "fat", but then, let's be honest and take a look around. There's a weight problem in this country. Truth hurts. This is a tale of a man whose emotions were left extremely raw, his tolerance for things flippant or annoying cut to the quick. What the book does show is how much Peart came to appreciate the people he encountered along the way. In one passage, and I'm paraphrasing, he says he had always felt that "Life is great, but people suck," but had changed his mind to "Life sucks, but people are great." The book shows how he progressed from the first cold morning, setting off on the motorcycle, to gradually getting back into life and finally getting remarried and going back to work. If you like Rush at all, it also gives a new perspective on his lyrics -- likely not what he intended, but at least it did that for me. For anyone who's gone through a trauma that left them wondering, "Well, what next? How, or why, do I go on from here?" this book is highly recommended. Peart doesn't sugar-coat things. If you're looking for a light-hearted story of a fun trip to Tuscany, look elsewhere. Accept his flaws and consider what he was going through at the time, and it goes down a lot easier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1