Customer Reviews for

Ghost Road Blues (Pine Deep Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pleasently surprised

I could not put this book down! Im a fan of Stephen King and Dean Koontz and I have to say Jonathan Maberry is the first writer i have ever thought is of the same caliber as them! I couldnt wait to read the other 2 books! I was not disappointed!

posted by bookwormCO on March 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ugh

Made the mistake of purchasing the trilogy. Trying to get through the first one, too wordy and slow, hoping it picks up. It's overly descriptive with alot of filler information that's not relevent to the story.

posted by 9631756 on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Good not Great

    Book starts out slow but not in the sense of action or pace. It just takes at least two thirds of the way to get a sense or any type of feel for the characters or plot. That being said the last half of the book will make you want more. So I will defiantly try Dead Man's Song. Would Recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Pleasently surprised

    I could not put this book down! Im a fan of Stephen King and
    Dean Koontz and I have to say Jonathan Maberry is the first writer i have ever thought is of the same caliber as them! I couldnt wait to read the other 2 books! I was not disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Ugh

    Made the mistake of purchasing the trilogy. Trying to get through the first one, too wordy and slow, hoping it picks up. It's overly descriptive with alot of filler information that's not relevent to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Great read!

    Wonderful trilogy, all of the books are wonderful, they keep your attention! Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    I had to get a night light!

    This series is the stuff of nighmares, and I hardly slept until I finished all 3 books. I couldn't put them down. Maberry really gets you to care for the characters and experience the horror with them. He also nas a great sense of humor. I am definitely hooked on Jonathan Maberry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I got the Blues

    I've read many books by different authors with all of them being great with a few favorites. Then I saw the cover of this book on a myspace page awhile back and checked it out and simply bought the book based only on it's cover. I gotta say after reading the first few pages, I was blown away by the style of writing jonathan uses. I read that book quicker than any other book and it is a original thrill ride from first to last page. This book is so different from alot of other supernatural thrillers in the fact that it's better than most others already out there. My favorite author is still Dean Koontz but Jonathan Maberry ranks a close second now. I just purchased the second book to this trilogy "Dead Man's Song" and I can't wait to see what happens next. If you see this book, grab it and run home with it, wait til nightfall and read it then. It is without doubt a good scare of a read..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    'Mythical and often, all too real...'

    Thirty years after a serial killer wreaked havoc through the small peaceful town of Pine Deep, long past the time when a thin black man and a lone German fought by the light of the moon, the truth of what really happened still lay hidden deep within a forsaken swamp, waiting ... waiting for the chance to once again come forth ... stronger. With a solid cast of characters, Maberry draws readers in with his well-written, rhythmical words that resonate a tale that is both mythical and often, all too real, with the ease of a master bluesman effortlessly plucking out a tune. A compelling read, 'Ghost Road Blues' is speckled throughout with classic lyrics, evocative intention, and an ample supply of 'can't put it down' moments, and although I'm not typically a reader of this genre, the opening scene where a young man is being ripped from his seat on a hayride as the rest run for safety is what caught my interest--only to be followed by the phrase that kept it: 'The Bone Man killed the devil with a guitar...' Great job, Jonathan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2006

    To of the Line Thriller

    Ghost Road Blues is a very cool book -a creepy thriller with a whopping dose of the supernatural and some genuine heart. I particularly love the characters, each of whom are realistic. You feel you know them...which is scary because there are some you'd definitely never want to know. And the very ending is quietly chilling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    Lots of fun

    Ghost Road Blues is a return to old school horror, the kind that made us love the genre to begin with. At the same time, it also offers a newer, more modern feel to it. Always believable, it is almost impossible to read the book and not care for the characters. Just when you think it is going to get predictable, you are in for a surprise. Can't wait to read the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    A wonderful ride

    Ghost Road Blues' is a thrilling roller coaster ride that grabs hold of you from the first word and doesn't let go until the end. And just when you think you've got it all figured out, the novel twists and turns along its tracks, leaving you amazed at Maberry's writing genius. This is one ride you don't want to miss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Wow

    Loved the book.gave me chills..highly recommend..cant wait to start the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Excellent Thriller

    If you like thrillers and not squeamish, this the book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Good read

    Not as good as the Joe Ledger series but defintely a good read. Dont buy unless you plan to read the next two in the series since this one leaves everything unresolved. Very well written but does tend to drag a bit at the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Okay

    Too wordy. It drags a little at times and is a set up for the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Love it!

    Cant wait to read the next two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    loved this series!!!

    couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    It's Okay

    I think it was okay but I wouldn't encourage anyone to buy it. Get it from your town library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Late Night Page Turner

    Exactly the kind of top notch writing I've come to expect from Maberry. Short review because I need to start reading the next instalment right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this Book

    started reading Maberry's books with the Joe Ledger series "Patient Zero". been hooked on his stuff since....this is a great thriller/horror book.....do yourself a favor and check it out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Good story

    Hope the second installment is just as good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6