Customer Reviews for

Ghost Soldier

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Thrilling adventure

    This is about a boy who¿s name is Alexander! His parents are split up and his dad and he are moving to an old battleground! Alex see¿s a ghost. The ghost want him to help find something.This book is full of adventures! They travel to multiple places.I recommend this book to all people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A Real Page Turner!

    This is the first book I have read to my 8 year old son, without pictures, that has held his interest. It's a great way to give a little history lesson, and story time. Mrs. Alphin is an extremely talented author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Helping a Ghost That Only You Can See

    Alexander is a troubled teenager who lives with his dad in Indiana. His mom left him and he still thinks she will come back. His dad is computer programmer who is in love with a lady from North Carolina. They go down there for what is suppose to be just a visit. Her husband had died, but she had a son and daughter. Alexander wants to go back to Indiana. He always thought he saw ghosts as a kid, and when they go to Petersburg, an old civil war battle field, he sees the reenactment of the battle but, everyone is a ghost. But one of the ghosts can see Alexander and stays with him. His name is Richeson Francis Chamblee. He won¿t leave Alexander alone until he helps him find out what happened to his family because he died during the battle of Petersburg and doesn¿t know what happened to his family. So the two, Alexander and the ghost Richeson, go on a crazy search party that leads them across the state of North Carolina while his dad finds a now job and plans on staying in North Carolina. Alexander is left with problems in front of him. I liked how the book was told, which was from Alexander¿s point of view because the story is about him. It started out really slow but picked up once they got to Petersburg. Unfortunately, I can¿t relate this book to any other because it is very unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    A Not That Great Ghost Book

    This was a book about a boy that had to go with his dad to meet his dad¿s girlfriend, and ends up meeting a ghost while he is in North Carolina. The boy¿s name is Alexander and he meets a ghost soldier from the Civil War. Throughout the book, Alexander tries to help the ghost find out what happened to his family after he was killed. This search for the ghost¿s family leads the two back in time and all across the state researching and trying to find clues that might help the soldier figure out whether his family made it through the war alive or not. I thought the book had a good storyline with an interesting topic that I¿ve never seen before. I didn¿t like that the book drug on and on with the same things being written, and that it really didn¿t ever seem to pick up or take off for me. This book is not a part of a series as far as I¿m sure of but it could be read separate anyway. I would recommend this book for anybody that likes ghost stories that aren¿t scary and books that drag on and on. I didn¿t see this book relating to any other authors type of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    I Recommend This Book

    Imagine if you could see ghost. This is what 13 year old Alexander Raskin could do. Alex is on vacation in North Carolina, when he went to a Civil War battlefield and was teleported back into time. Alex is on a mission to help his new found ghost friend Rich find out what happend to his family after he died. I recommend this book to anyone who likes history or The Civil War. The book is a interesting read because its not to short or to long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    The best book yet.

    I thought this book taught me alot about the Civil War and the hardships were like. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    best book ever

    it was one of the best books i ever read and i recomend it to everyone who likes mistorys ,the cival war,and mostly every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    outstanding ghost story

    this story was amazing and mysterious! It will make your imagination go wild. I recommend this book for anyone who likes mysteries and spooky stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    The Best Book Ever!

    Read the Ghost Cadet, by Elaine Marie Alphin. Its the best book in the world. There is a ghost cadet who is looking for something and Benjamin Stark helps him look for it. They dig where the cadet thinks he left it just seconds after he was shot in the war between the states (civil war). Benjy is the only one who can see the ghost so he's helping him. At mid-night benjy sneacks out his window and meets his dead friend in the battlefield. im not going to tell you if they found the thing or what the thing is, so read the book Ghost Cadet, by Elaine Marie Alphin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1