Customer Reviews for

Ghost Soldiers: The Epic Account of World War II's Greatest Rescue Mission

Average Rating 4.5
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    A Must Read

    This is a disturbing book, well written and hard to put down. The publisher's notes and other comments make it clear what the story is about. My main comment: Why does no one know of this raid/rescue mission? I've read WWII history all my life, been in the military 20+ years, and never heard of it. It is almost as if it has been erased from our history. Was the US Army so ashamed at how it abandoned the Bataan prisoners that it indeed drew a cloak over the survivors? I don't know...but I do know this is a story every American should become familiar with. Also a movie...not as good as the book, but has actual video footage of the survivors at the end.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Ghost Soldiers recognizes not only those that were captives, but those that strove to bring them home

    An engrossing read, though sometimes I had to put it down because I was truly troubled by the treatment our soldiers endured. Well written account -- a story that had to be shared

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    A thought provoking novel that offers insight to the trials and tribulations of the American POWs during World War II

    The novel takes the reader on an emotional journey while following the horrific experiences of the American soldiers stationed on the Philippine island of Bataan during World War II. With help from American not arriving, the soldiers are forced to surrender to the Japanese Imperial army. From here the reader is shown horrific personal accounts of innumerable war crimes committed against these Americans. While recalling these hellish experiences in a story like manner, Sides gives readers equal insight to the army group known simply as the Rangers. These men were called upon when the American army returned to the island of Bataan three years later. They were given an intricate precarious mission that would finally prove themselves as an elite fighting force. The mission's main objective was to secure all of the POWs in the Japanese death camp known as Cabanatuan. Yet to get there the men would have to march countless mile deep into enemy territory all the while keeping the element of surprise. The entire mission proves to be gripping and highly suspenseful, that will make it hard for readers to put the book down. Sides masterfully shows how cultural differences, racial aggression, and new found power come together to form a deadly cocktail that consumes thousands of American lives. The suspense of the novel takes a fare amount of chapters to develop, but the wait proves to be worth it in the end. The realistic elements of the novel, such as interviews and army documents add to the authenticity of the story, yet also add gruesome and sometimes gory scenarios. Due to these situations, if readers are offended by gore and fowl language, this book might not be suited well for them. Sides is also the author of Stomping Grounds and Americana and lives up to his reputation in Ghost Soldiers. This novel truly deserves all the accolades it receives which is why it deserves five stars.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Ghost Soldiers would definitely be one of the top three books I have read in my life. It surpassed my expectations. Had me in tears as I read it. My professor even said that my book review made her cry. If you are debating on buying this book, buy it. I am planning on keeping mine and having my kids read it when they get older.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    A must read

    I loved reading this book. Hampton Sides did such a great job describing the surroundings, characters and emotions that it was difficult for me to continue to read the book because I was an emotional mess. And because it was so heart wrenching I could not stop reading because I needed to know what was going to happen next and how it would end. I highly recommend this book but be warned that it is very detailed and emotional.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story of courageous people

    Most people would recognize and understand what the Bataan Death March was and who was involved. Also most Americans would not know why it happened, how many people there were, and where was support from America to help these men and women. The author tells us about the men who were on the Death March, their lives as POW¿s on Bataan and the rescue mission by Army Rangers in 1945 of Cabanatuan POW Camp on Bataan. From this book I attained a deeper appreciation for the Filipino guerilla soldiers who were left behind by McArthur, and the determination of the American soldiers who marched, died and endured during this time. Many of these men and women felt ¿abandoned¿, lied to and discarded; but they never gave up. The rescue mission was a brilliant tactical operation attempting to free these forgotten soldiers.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Perfectly Written!

    This is an absolute must read! I love reading about the wars, but even people not interested in military history would have to enjoy this story! It is heroic and exciting! It bounces around perfectly to provide the reader with the bigger picture! This book never drags, and I would recommend it to anybody!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Graphic

    The book that I am reviewing is Ghost Soldiers. The author of the book is Hampton Sides. The book takes places in World War 2.
    This book is about the prisoners of war (POW) and about a rescue mission. This book will tell you what it was like in World War 2 as a POW. Also it will get in depth into how they were treated.
    My personal reaction to this book is that I enjoyed it. The reason I enjoyed the book is because of all the action that happens throughout the chapters. There are some disgusting parts in this book, like when a soldier digs out a women's fetus with a butane. The book has a lot of graphic scenes. I think this book is a must read for people who enjoy history, action, and war books

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    A moving testimony of a small slice of the "Greatest Generation"(s) sacrifice.

    I read Mr. Sides' "Blood & Thunder" a year or so ago and enjoyed it so much I did an E-book search and bought "Ghost Soldiers". I'm glad I did.
    I don't even know how to describe this book other than to say it's unbelievable what those men survived. Well written and painstakingly researched, it is an excellent book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Great Story!!!!

    A great story and good detail about the people helping the POWs. Very moving descriptions of the good and bad during war.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Very awsome book!! Highly Recommended!!!!

    Ghost soldiers... is a thrilling World War 2 book and Mr. sides tells the story very well giving the captives, captures, and rescuers personalities alike. My opinion is that this book is vibrantly, powerful and seems alive on the page. This book is a thrilling tale of American courage and heroism ghost soldiers Hamton side brings to life a fogotten rescuer mission that changed the lives of 513 POWs in a hellish POW camp This rescue mission alone is one that you will always remember. This book is recommended to childern interested in America's greatist World War 2 rescue mission.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    WOW!!! A Historical Masterpiece That Every American Should Read

    An exceptional book, it gives the reader a non-stop adventure from start to finish. It provides a full & heartfelt perspective of the heroic men and women from the beginning of the end at Bataan up to one of the most perfectly executed raids in American history. Mr. Sides' research and ability to express what these great men and women went through in war is a true gift to the reader. It combines courage, love, heroism, patriotism, humility.........and so much more. The veterans of Bataan, the brave Filipino guerillas, the courageous men of the Alamo Scouts and 6th Ranger Battalion, the dedicated women like "High Pockets"...... WOW!!You're talking real-life heroes here, not "Rambo" crap.The worst thing about this book is that it ends; you don't want to stop reading it. It's regretable there's not a higher rating, because giving this book a five star rating doesn't do it justice. Reading it is a gift from the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Mr. Sides tells history like a liberal

    Years of reading American history have taught me to separate author opinions from facts. I ignore the veiled opinions mixed with fact, but this authors opinions make me mad that i bought this book. He makes vicious treatment and decapitations of prisoners out to be a normal reaction from the Japanese, who had reason to hate us. Surely, a better book written on the subject is out there. Mr. Sides uses great vocabulary words, some rather archaic to appear modernly relevant, but it feels more smoke and mirrors than anything. Makes the content appear more scholarly than it actual probably is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I expected

    Sorry, I thought this would be better, read it because nothing else at
    that time, Sorry. Yankee Tony

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Best book I've read in years.

    Very touching story of endurance and the victory of good over evil. That's a poor description, but what else can I say? When I came to the end of the book I was disappointed because it was done. It's been a long time since I enjoyed a book this much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Excellent book. The stories are earth shattering. This is not a

    Excellent book. The stories are earth shattering. This is not a Hollywood book of made up facts. The authors are the real heroes who lived and died thru this hell. It's a "heavy" book to read, but, unfortunetly, it's also our history. Could not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Me

    Male 12years old. Tall solidly built blond hair outgoing personality likes to read and eat . Talkative

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Alex's bioooooo {did it cuz i was bored}

    //Name: Alexandrea Controe// Age: 13// Gender: &female// Description: A very skinny girl, with red boy short hair (the one thats like..always messy), SUPER pale, big hazel eyes, long eyelashes, yadda yadda yaddaa//Personality: Hotheaded, trustworthy, enthusiastic, rebelious, i speak up for what i think is right, goofy, outgoing// Partner: Ren!!// Crush: Someone// Boyfriend: Pshhhh aint nobody got time fo dat// Family: Marceline, Emiline, Clovis, Lucious, Emmareese, Ally, Cinniatus, Quintus, Caleb (mah puppy dog), and REN (i know hes my partner but i consider him my fam.), and Sammi Bluue (Sam)// Likes: pie, music, scary movies, Pewdiepie, Shane Dawson, Smosh, anime, and FUN PEOPLE!!// Hates: Commanders cranky days, Kim Kardashian..actually make that all the Kardashians, sl<_>uts, people who think theyre all dat//Scars: one across my torso//Other: I see dead people and i have boy short hair cuz i had colon cancer (irl)//

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Sams bio

    Name. Well duh! Hair. Long black curly. Eyes. Brown. Freakles. 6'7" 17 here 12 irl. 1 week preagnant. My personality is like Katnesses from Hunger games. Adventurous mostly. Dont like to start rping wars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Ccs bio

    Naplo 2nd to lasrt res relationship stuff is false when it changes i dont make new bios

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11