Customer Reviews for

Ghost Soldiers: The Epic Account of World War II's Greatest Rescue Mission

Average Rating 4.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    rehash of earlier and better account

    rehash of earlier and better account

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    God bless

    Very good reading. What are men went through tears at my heart. Anyone who never read of POW need to read this book. And let's not forget the brave Rangers who risk their lifes. Just a dam good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Lovely

    My dad read this book 10 years ago.
    It is his favorite book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Amazing story

    One of the most interesting books i have ever read.A must read !!!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Good

    I have this book and im young i just learning about history and this book worked for that porpouse i reccomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    A Must Read....

    This is a story that every American needs to know about and Hampton Sides tells it in a way that makes it hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Excellent!!

    Do not pass up this novel!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    For those interested in military history, this is a must read.

    Excellent story, extremely well researched. A story of unthinkable brutality, severe suffering and true heroes who sacrificed their lives to save their American comrades. The story of a well planned and executed WW II rescue mission conducted under the most difficult tropical conditions. A rescue mission that would not have been successful without the support and sacrifice of our Philippine comrades. And all true. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    highly recommended

    great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Wow

    This is one of those books you can't put down. If you like WWII history this book should be on your list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Excellent - Highly Recommended

    Author's research was very thorough and historical facts were interwoven very skillfully. If you are studying WWII, put this on your list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    ghst soldiers

    This book iamazing and awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Icredible Book And A Must Read

    This book should be read in conjunction with 'UNBROKEN'. A must read and an addition to your WWII collection. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    awesome

    What a great book. Hard to put down. Buy it, read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Great read - Worth the time!

    "Ghost Soldiers" is the story of one hundred twenty one Rangers who attempt a rescue mission to save around five hundred POW s held in a Japanese prison camp. The Main idea portrayed through the Rangers' struggle is that America never leaves a man behind. Against all odds the Rangers mount a successful rescue mission, saving nearly all 500 POW s. This novel portrays the might of the American military and its ability to succeed on any front.
    This book covers a broad array of the aspects of war which fascinate me. From covert reconnaissance to all out fire fights this book is sure to keep the reader entertained. The author's knowledge of actual events adds to the thrill of the novel.
    Within the novel were several areas which proved to be uninteresting. At times the author rants with too many details. However these areas are short and few and should not discourage one from reading the novel.
    For those with an interest in war stories and enjoy a wonderful piece of literature I would highly recommend this novel. It will keep you on the edge as you delve into its depths and discover the fate of the POW s and their saviors.
    If you enjoy this book I would also recommend "Flags of Our Fathers." This novel will keep you nearly as entertained as "Ghost Soldiers."
    I give this novel a five out of five

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Ghost Soldiers

    The plight and rescue of Allied POWs held by the Japanese was poingnant and illuminating. The book was researched extensively and does a very complete and very perceptive job of informing readers of the conditions and fortunes of all concerned. From the POWs to the Japanese military to the US infantry force rescuing the remaining POWs one is given an insightful description of all the subjects. The craftsmanship of the author in weaving multiple stories together keeps the reader closely connected to all the parties involved. From the challenge the rescuers faced to the daily torture of the POWs by the Japanese the author provides a very complete picture.
    "Ghost Soldiers" does a complete and compelling job of profiling individual participants from common soldiers to commanders. One understands how complicated military operations can be shaped by personalities and radically changing conditions.
    You cannot fail to come away with a comprehension of the anti-Japanese attitude of men who fought against Japan in the Pacific during WW II. Ghost Soldiers is a broad saga of a sad chapter in Twentieth Century History. A must read if one wants an insightfull thrilling saga
    of heroics during the war in the Pacific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    THRILLING UNTOLD STORY

    "Ghost Soldiers" describes the thrilling rescue of Allied soldiers from a POW camp, most of whom were survivors of the Bataan "death march" in the Japanese invasion of the Philippines. Using both Army documents and memoirs of those involved, the author weaves together a thrilling narrative of a real-life "mission impossible."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    There's a lot of literature out there about the European theater of WWII but not as much on the Pacific theater. This book is an excellent read, very informative, and ultimately inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Author certainly did his research. The audiotape was full of facts.

    Superb story of valor and the will to overcome incredible hardships. This audiotape kept me revited to the story as it unfolded. I would recommend this audiotape to any history buff or military historian. The author crafted a true account of the details and allowed the reader/listener to form their own conclusions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Historical relevence

    My dad served in the Phillipines at the end of WWII and he talked about Battan and the POW's. I thought it presented itself well with the POW's stories, along with the Ranger's stories. Re-confirmed for me that war is horrible and the aftermath is even worse. We need to pay attention to how our soldier's re-enter civilian life and take care of them for their sacrifice. These soliders suffered PTS long before there was a name for it and books like this can only make us aware that we must learn from the past to make sure the same mistakes are not made in the present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11