Customer Reviews for

Ghost Soldiers: The Epic Account of World War II's Greatest Rescue Mission

Average Rating 4.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    A must read

    I loved reading this book. Hampton Sides did such a great job describing the surroundings, characters and emotions that it was difficult for me to continue to read the book because I was an emotional mess. And because it was so heart wrenching I could not stop reading because I needed to know what was going to happen next and how it would end. I highly recommend this book but be warned that it is very detailed and emotional.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Graphic

    The book that I am reviewing is Ghost Soldiers. The author of the book is Hampton Sides. The book takes places in World War 2.
    This book is about the prisoners of war (POW) and about a rescue mission. This book will tell you what it was like in World War 2 as a POW. Also it will get in depth into how they were treated.
    My personal reaction to this book is that I enjoyed it. The reason I enjoyed the book is because of all the action that happens throughout the chapters. There are some disgusting parts in this book, like when a soldier digs out a women's fetus with a butane. The book has a lot of graphic scenes. I think this book is a must read for people who enjoy history, action, and war books

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    A moving testimony of a small slice of the "Greatest Generation"(s) sacrifice.

    I read Mr. Sides' "Blood & Thunder" a year or so ago and enjoyed it so much I did an E-book search and bought "Ghost Soldiers". I'm glad I did.
    I don't even know how to describe this book other than to say it's unbelievable what those men survived. Well written and painstakingly researched, it is an excellent book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    God bless

    Very good reading. What are men went through tears at my heart. Anyone who never read of POW need to read this book. And let's not forget the brave Rangers who risk their lifes. Just a dam good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    For those interested in military history, this is a must read.

    Excellent story, extremely well researched. A story of unthinkable brutality, severe suffering and true heroes who sacrificed their lives to save their American comrades. The story of a well planned and executed WW II rescue mission conducted under the most difficult tropical conditions. A rescue mission that would not have been successful without the support and sacrifice of our Philippine comrades. And all true. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book

    This book is about a prison break of 500 Americans that takes place in WWII. When an American general comes to take the island, he learns of the delicate situation. 500 Americans in a Prison camp. and if the Americans travel too close, the Japanese will massacre the POW's. the general decides to send out the rangers, an elite army force inspired by the British commandos. The rangers end up marching 30 miles to the camp and gain some local allies along the way, who end up covering the escape of the POW's. Their was originally a lot of prisoners at the camp, around 8,000 but most have died off. Life was very difficult for the prisoners, they were facing starvation. Their was a local girl who sent letters to the POW's and inspired morale, many had said without her, the wouldn't have survived. The story line was very interesting, but the author took a lot of pages to describe many things that were not needed. I recommend this book for anyone who loves tales of brave men who have kept our freedom in this country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    An epic war tale

    Ghost soldier by Hampton Sides is a gripping novel that will have you hopping till the end. It truly is an informational thriller that shows so much about WW2 and other cultures. It is about a group of soldiers fighting in the Phillippines at a military base named Bataan. They run out of supplies and have to eventually surrender to the Japenes soldiers. The Japenese are thrilled although confused on how to trapsort the troops to the prison camp of Cabanatuan. The Japenese have no way of mechanically transporting the prisoners so they march them on what would later be named 'The Death March.' Those who survived this march have to live in the hell of Cabanatuan. While Hampton describes all of this he also switches off to talk about the Marines coming to resque them. Mucci and his men come against all odds and against enemy lines to try and rescue the prisoners of war. The theme of this book is simple war is a horrible catastrohpe. What happens to these soldiers should never happen to any living human. This leads into the main message of Hamptons book. Americans have this belief that prisoners of war are taken care of because on the Geneva convention. Although these rules are not always followed. Japenese troops are unusually cruel to the troops and do many horrible things to them. Lots of their actions can be explained, for example why would you feed prisoners when there is barely enough food for the soldiers? All these ideas are explained in the novel. I loved how this book portrayed both kind of soldiers. It showed the true heroic elements of courageous soldiers like the ones we hear about, but it also portrayed the bad. There were multiple references to soldiers that stole and did wrong doings in order to survive. It helped show that every one is not heroes some are simply human. I did not like how much rambeling there was. A lot of the book was useless knowledge and was very slow in parts. Once you made it through that it was spectacular I just belive some information could of been left out. The author also did a fantastic job of describing the surroundings the prisoners were placed in. He painted a picture for all readers to see what it was really like. Even the temperature and scenery were perfectly portrayed. Any and every American who does not understand the significance of what a WW2 soldier did should read this novel. It does a truly amazing job describing and depicting how heroic a soldier really and truly is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    A big operation that worked

    This special ops effort late in WWII went unnoticed for many years. I had never heard about it until the book came out. I liked the book more than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Better Than The Movie

    Hampton Sides¿ telling of the rescue of 500 POWS, survivors of the infamous Bataan Death March, by U.S. Army Rangers in the Philippines during the waning days of World War II is an outstanding job of reportage. Sides tells the story from the eyes of the rescued and their rescuers, building suspense that wasn¿t always present in the The Great Raid, the film adaptation of his story. As a working journalist for more than 39 years, I know I good story when I read one, and this one falls into that category.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Soldier of all Soldiers

    I read Ghost Soldier and it was a really interesting book. Alexander lives with his dad in Indiana Alexander has always been lonesome after his mom mysteriously was gone when he was ten years old. Later on, his dad decides to move to North Carolina because he¿s in love with a woman who lives there. As they travel to North Carolina, Alexander is seeing ghosts and he doesn¿t know why. Nobody believes him and he gets really mad. A ghost follows Alexander to the time of his life and takes him to his past. He wants him to figure out what happened in the Civil War years ago but Alexander doesn¿t know what the ghost wants him to find out. The ghost and Alexander have friction between each other and they can¿t seem to get along. This book was really good and very exciting because I love history and this is what the book is about. The only thing I didn¿t like is the author kept moving from the time of the ghost soldier to Alexander¿s life. When I was reading I was lost every once in awhile because the start of the book was slow. Through half of the book the intensity picked up a lot and I was glued to the book. I was really astonished of what happened at the end of the book because it was totally unpredictable of what was going to happen. I really enjoyed the part when Alexander goes into the past and finds out what it¿s like one hundred-fifty years ago. It was a really enjoyable book that grabs you into the story. Ghost soldier isn¿t a part of any type of series but it¿s genre is history. There are books like that I¿d recommend to you such as the year of the Hangman, by Gary Blackwood. Ghost Soldier relates to a television show called Phil of the Future because they¿re both about going back from the past and the future. This is similar to ghost soldier because there are ghosts always by them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    Thank Heaven for this successful mission.

    This mission brought back two of our hometown's soldiers. The man who entertains the prisoners with his baseball game commentary may well have been, Alf Ekles. Alf certainly had the personality and the cleverness to have been Harry Carries wartime substitute. I had read an earlier version of the story published just after the war recommended by Col. Gilmer Bell, who had been on the Bataan Death March with Alf. I recognized some of the pictures that had been reused from the earlier book. Col. Bell had said that if anyone wanted to know about the Death March and the subsequent incarceration, that the old small book was the source he would suggest being read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Ghost Soldiers: The Epic Account of a Soldiers Worst Fear

    Ghost Soldiers, is the epic account of a soldiers worst fear... POW camp in the Far East. Every soldier goes into the war hoping to come out alive, but when captured and sent to a POW camp, their spirits somehow drop. This book is an emotional journey for any and all who read it. My emotions ran hay wire, when I read this book, I would be crying one second fearing that the life of a thousand soldeirs would drastically come to an end and then be crying for joy the next second, because those thousand soldeirs were just rescued and they were now apart of WWII's greatest rescue mission. This book caputres your soul and puts you in an entracement making you feel like you are apart of the gruesome war we fought during WWII. There are sad, happy, and fearful times throughout this book, but it really makes you wonder what life would be like if you yourself were faced with the triumph and hardships that these brave, corageous soldiers faced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    great book

    This is a great book. I read it during my 18 hour drive to Florida last summer. Made the trip seem much much shorter. It is a great description of what the POWs went through and the courage of the Rangers that rescued them. Not as much action as other books, but still very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    A great buy...

    Though not for the feint of heart, this book grasps the reader, with every pertinent detail laid out as a story, not as a textbook. The best story I have read of the Pacific Theater of action in WWII, and by far the most noble. Sides involves the readers emotionally, the only book that made me cry. This is mostly in part to the fact that it is a true story, and Sides nearly puts you in it! A great buy not only for a WWII enthusiast, but for any reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    Ghost Soldiers

    In 1942, Major General Edward King surrendered Bataan to the Japanese. For the soldiers in Bataan, this surrender was both welcomed and dispised. For far too long they had been reduced top eating monkeys and other wildlife just to survive. No matter how exhausted or hungry his men were, they would have fought to the last man had they known what was to come. The soldiers that surrendered were marched 75 miles to their prison camp. This march was later known as the Bataan Death March. Its result was the death of nearly 6,000 men, some died of exhaustion, others were simply slaughtered. In Ghost Soldiers, Hampton Sides compares and contrasts the history of the POWs captivity with the ongoing efforts to rescue them. Led by Lt. Col. Henry Mucci and Capt. Robert Prince, 121 Army Rangers slipped behind enemy lines to liberate the prisoners at the Cabanatuan camp before the Japanese could eradicate its inmates. Aided by Capt. Juan Pajota¿s and Capt. Eduardo Joson¿s Guerrilla groups, and with the unselfish aid of countless civilians, the rescue was a phenomenal success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    True examples of bravery and barbarism.

    And we wonder why the WWII generation gets upset at re-writing history, or under-writing it in our childrens history books. If more was known and taught about exploits like this, there would be more appreciation for bravery----and more awareness of these type of crimes committed by others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    There were more ghosts you have forgotten!

    Glad at least someone finally picked up what has been least talked about in the last war, the war in the Philippines, and the Americans and Filipinos who died here. But the writer has forgotten to include those who were able to escape and made their way through the mountains, joining Filipino underground movements, sniping here and there at the enemy which ever way they could and for almost 5 miserable years,fought war in the jungles, lived and suffered just as badly as those who were incarcerated in Camp O'donell...and in the process became more Filipino in their souls..What was written about them? The Americans who were the true ghost soldiers?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    Ghost Soldiers

    This book is one of the most dramatic and realistic account of warfare in World War Two. A decided "Yes"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    stunning story that needs to be read

    very well done. Gripping, shocking, and victorious. You shake your head in amazement of what these men went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2001

    Great WWII story

    One of the best books I have ever read on WWII, (have read many). An incredible story that actually happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3