Customer Reviews for

Ghost Story (Dresden Files Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 934 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(684)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

Download Ghost Story (Dresden Files Series #13)by Jim Butcher For Free

Download Ghost Story (Dresden Files Series #13)by Jim Butcher For Free From Here goo.gl/InHxZ

posted by 9114493 on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

79 out of 204 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 945 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 48
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    On a cold day where?

    Great story. It's always fun to see Harry in action. I do want to see more of Mort, though. He's a great secondary character. It was just a good, fun way of spending a couple of hours. It had some nice plot twists and a few tender moments. Now if he'd just write the NEXT book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Harry my man

    Best. Book
    Ever. Harry reminds me of true chivelry, kindness, and virtue. He manages to save his part of the world while not only being true to himself but a leader and man to look up too. With the creation of Harry, Jim Butcher was made my hero ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Fantasticly fantasmical

    If this series stops any time soon i will jump off a theroetical bridge. This installment thoroughly and expertly ties the plotlines together and sets the stage for a whole new era in The Dresden Files.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Worst novel I never finished

    I have read many Jim Butcher novels and enjoyed them. But Ghost Strory was one I could not get interested in. The story line was ridiculas and I had a difficult time of keeping the characters straight. I read a third of it and could not finish it. It was that bad.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Holodeck episode

    If you were a fan of the later Star Treks you'll remember the episodes known as holodeck episodes. Something goes wrong and our heroes are trapped in the holodeck until they can figure out a way out. Not much really happens because everything isn't real. Maybe a character is fleshed out but at the end of the episode nothing really has happened- life picks up just were it left off when the crew entered the holodeck. That is what Harry latest adventure could be boiled down to. Anything dealing with Harry wasn't really that interesting because it was transitory and we knew that eventually we'd get our old Harry back. The other characters were fleshed out a bit and they were much more interesting than Harry's ghostly adventures. Perhaps in the books that follow this one something we learned about ghosts and their realm will come into play but as of now...eh, not very useful or interesting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    OH!! Harry

    Okay, finished the book but I was not overwhelmed, and I love Harry and all his previous experiences, but I just can't get beyone him being dead!!! When I finished "Changes" I was sure that Butcher was messing with us and Harry would recover or something, but the nevernever and no friends and no Chicago. Yes, if there is another book, I'll read it, but my disappointment is big.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW.....Loved it!!!

    If your a Dresden fan, you are going to love this book. You you haven't read any books in this series, you are missing one of the best series out there today.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Good book but not up to par

    It was a slow start and didnt get rolling till a little after the middle but i realized it would be tough to outdo changes. I did expect more though and i love this whole series and still cant wait for the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    Great addition to the Dresden Files!

    I loved this book! If you like Harry you will too. I like a book that draws me in and dares me to solve the questions. This book did just that. Anxiously awaiting the one.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Another jim butcher homerun

    This book is just incredible-any fan of paranormal or urban fantasy...or sci fi or mystery...should run out and start readig this series. This book can stand alone but it would be far more meaningful if you have reafld the others first. Ghost Story continues the adventures (or tribulations?) of Harry Dresden, wizard (he's in the phone book). This is one series that hasnt run out of steam, I was laughing and tearing up and desperate to find out what was going to happen right through the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book-Jim does it again!

    This book is very entertaining. I really enjoyed it. You get to learn more about Harry and his past as he learns more about himself. Very introspective. I love all the classic quotes. I know this will be another book by Jim that I will read over and over. Can't wait until the next one!
    Oh and all those with problems with your nook, go to tech services!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Keeps getting better

    I love this series and all the characters. Jim Butcher seems to out do himself with each new book. The hardest thing is putting the book down because you get so sucked into Harry's trials of his passing. And once again, Jim Butcher made me cry and I loved every moment of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    When Is the Next one Coming out????

    I only started reading this series in the last few weeks. I saw the TV Show and it was ok, but that got me to read the first book and that got me hooked. Ghost Story was great, it kept me guessing throughout and having read the series so fast I can see the charter development that has gone into each person in the series. It makes me laugh, it makes me sad and sometimes if I were alone it would make me cry or at least sob a little. Bottom line: Great Book, Great Series, When is #14 coming out!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Yay for jim butcher!

    This is an awesome series and a great book! Those who are complaining about the price do not understand that B&N has nothing to do with setting the price for books or nookbooks. Neither bookstores or publishers are being greedy...they are both businesses and they have to make money to stay in business. And for those how have an issue paying 14.99, you have a nook so you can request the book from the library...is that not a major reason why nooks are out selling kindles. So stop all your whinging! Thank you for a great installment to the series Jim!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Zingers!

    This is a great book. Harry is back and what he lack in body he makes up in...erm...spirit...and plenty of snark. I used the highlight feature on my Nook and marked some of my favorite zingers. Some lines will have you laughing out loud and you'll see the same suspense and sarcastic barbs. It was worth the wait even though I thought I'd go bonkers. (The book release was delayed a few months.) I hope the delay was to cut from the story and we'll be treated to a few short stories between now and the next release. There are a few special treats for fans of Star Wars, Star Trek and Pink Floyd. This probably isn't an ideal Dresden book to start as it doesn't fill blanks until later in the book. It's certainly possible, but it will be ten times better if you go back to Changes. Going back to the beginning and reading in order will be EVEN BETTER. This book series has become quite the guilty pleasure. They tried a TV series but it was before its time. This book and the visuals make me want to see a series reboot with a better execution.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Awesome! Only a long wait until wait until the next one!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Great book

    Great, captivating story. Now how long do i have to wait for the nex one?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Excellent follow up to Changes. And excellent ending...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Great Book

    Ever since the last one ended I have been waiting for this book, and I am glad I got it. The story is intriguing, and you get a look at the world without Harry. Plus the revelation of who killed Harry is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Ew

    Bgg

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 945 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 48