Customer Reviews for

Ghost Story (Dresden Files Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 930 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(681)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

Download Ghost Story (Dresden Files Series #13)by Jim Butcher For Free

Download Ghost Story (Dresden Files Series #13)by Jim Butcher For Free From Here goo.gl/InHxZ

posted by 9114493 on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

79 out of 204 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Weak Entry to an Excellent Series

    This is the weakest entry to the Dresden Files series since books one and two. The excessive amount of angst distracted from the plot, the female characters were seemingly totally lost without Dresden in their lives, and the entire thing came off as written by an emo teenager.

    The last hundred pages or so improved sharply, but I still came away greatly disappointed in the story and characterization. "Improving at the end" should not have had to happen.

    I'll keep reading the series after this-- but I seriously doubt that I will re-read this particular entry.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    Really starting to dislike this series.

    After 12 previous books this series is starting to seem like the author wanted to be a superhero so wrote a book about himself as he would like to be. And how many times can you reference other people's content. On one and a half pages we get to hear about Iron Man, Iron Fist, Silver Surfer, Green Lantern, Knight Rider, and the list goes on. Then we get to hear the whole Grasshopper thing for Harry's apprentice, and a Star Wars quote by someone every other paragraph. WE GET IT! The author likes Star Wars and comic books and so do most of the readers but that doesn't mean you have to use the same hook every freaking paragraph. Maybe describe things on your own instead of having to fall back on calling someone bald saying they have a "full on Charles Xavior".

    The story itself is interesting, I like the idea but the series has become just the same kind of one liners repeated again and again so reading this book is like trying to watch an interesting movie but every two minutes someone interrupts it. Good movie but an annoying time trying to watch it. And that sucks because I really liked this series when it first came out but between 2 million comic and movie references and Harry stopping to talk about how noble he is but being sure to add that he isn't noble (fishing for compliments anyone) and then hearing about how tough Murphy is "for being a tiny blonde woman" over and over again just ruins the book, at least for me. The series seems to be turning into the novel equivalent of a bad stand-up comedian who keeps yelling out the name of the city he is in or the resident sports team just to get cheap cheers. If the things I have mentioned in this review don't bother you and you have liked the series so far then you will probably like this book a lot. If you are also annoyed by the things I have mentioned then this is the worst of the Dresden Files books so far just because of the constant repetition and hooks being bashed into your face again and again.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A necessary evil

    It gets you from point A, where the last book ended, to point B, where the next book begins. Without spoilers, let's just say it clears up a pesky problem. There are some very good parts...and a lot of bad. This is the only Dresden Files book I did not enjoy.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Worst of the series

    The majority of the book is Harry's internal monologue and it goes on, an on, and on... Plus you can see the "surprise" coming from a mile away.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Sounds more for the boys

    My brother told me to tl you that je liked it so if you do then feedback thanks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Furious!

    If i knew i wouldnt be able to actually download this, i woyld have bought it in the store. Shame on nook for taking money and not giving the product

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1