Customer Reviews for

Ghost Story (Dresden Files Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 929 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(680)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

Download Ghost Story (Dresden Files Series #13)by Jim Butcher For Free

Download Ghost Story (Dresden Files Series #13)by Jim Butcher For Free From Here goo.gl/InHxZ

posted by 9114493 on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

78 out of 203 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    You can skip this one

    I read all the Dresden files about once a year. So I have read them 5 or 6 times. I love the series. However, I was very disapointed with this book. You can safely skip this book and go on to the next without missing anything. It was B.S.

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Was this book necessary?

    After the great novel and cliff hanger ending of changes i feel this book left much to be desired. While it was entertaining i dont really see how it developed dresden's character. The ending of ghost story could have been written as the ending of changes since dresden is inevitably left in the same predicament he had gotten himself into through changes. While the characters of mort and molly develop significantly the same development could have taken place in a story that developed dresdens character further. Coming off my favorite book in the series, changes, ghost story did disappoint a bit. Perhaps i will reread in some time and be more open to what this book offers, but for now this is my review.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Holodeck episode

    If you were a fan of the later Star Treks you'll remember the episodes known as holodeck episodes. Something goes wrong and our heroes are trapped in the holodeck until they can figure out a way out. Not much really happens because everything isn't real. Maybe a character is fleshed out but at the end of the episode nothing really has happened- life picks up just were it left off when the crew entered the holodeck. That is what Harry latest adventure could be boiled down to. Anything dealing with Harry wasn't really that interesting because it was transitory and we knew that eventually we'd get our old Harry back. The other characters were fleshed out a bit and they were much more interesting than Harry's ghostly adventures. Perhaps in the books that follow this one something we learned about ghosts and their realm will come into play but as of now...eh, not very useful or interesting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    OH!! Harry

    Okay, finished the book but I was not overwhelmed, and I love Harry and all his previous experiences, but I just can't get beyone him being dead!!! When I finished "Changes" I was sure that Butcher was messing with us and Harry would recover or something, but the nevernever and no friends and no Chicago. Yes, if there is another book, I'll read it, but my disappointment is big.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Good book but not up to par

    It was a slow start and didnt get rolling till a little after the middle but i realized it would be tough to outdo changes. I did expect more though and i love this whole series and still cant wait for the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Good, but unable to download.

    It's supposed to be available for download on the 26th. Oddly enough, it's not available for download. I'm a big fan of the series, and I'm sure this one will be great but if I can't download it, I'll never know.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Silverpaw to Hopeful

    If you can read this, please go to 'my best friend' res 1. If you cant post there, keep going through each of the results until you find one that you can post in. Silverpaw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was far from my favorite book in the series. I haven't read

    This was far from my favorite book in the series. I haven't read Cold Days yet, so I can't say it's my least favorite either.

    The pacing was very slow compared to the other books and, given that I love when Harry interacts with some of my other favorite characters, really lacked in entertainment for me.

    It felt like Butcher took a whole novel for something that could have been easily covered well in a short story or as a sub-plot to a novel. I did still enjoy it a bit, so I'm sticking with 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    An interesting change of pace from previous novels in the series.

    An interesting change of pace from previous novels in the series. We get to dive into the deep end of some mystical elements hinted at one of the previous Dresden books. I liked the exploration of this new material, and how the author used it to have a reason to flash back to Harry's youth. And we get a couple of things in the climax that had me laughing out loud (including one scene that almost topped the crowning moment of awesome from Dead Beat).

    What brings my opinion of the book down a bit is that Harry is sidelined. He's limited in what he can do this time around. He has to rely heavily on his friends and associates to get things done. And while people have backed Harry up on his cases since about the third book in the series, it's still been Harry's show in the end. This time, Harry's little more than a witness in the end. It's like an 80s action movie where the hero that always annoys the police chief spends the entire film working a desk job at the precinct while his former partners get into gun fights and complex chase scenes. It may still be good on some level, but you kind of hope things go back to normal for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Began reading the Dresden Files Series a month ago.  Read all 12

    Began reading the Dresden Files Series a month ago.  Read all 12 previous novels in order.  This one is by far his weakest endeavor.  I enjoy Butcher's action scenes, but really...The last third of the novel was devoted to the showdown between the good guys and the Corpsetaker.  This story premise was really good, but I wish the author would invest more time into character development and not resolving stories through monotonous 100+ page battles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Definitely interesting

    Just finished this book & #14 as well. You really need to read the series in its entirety to understand all the nuances in these last couple books. Otherwise, you'll be lost. I think I actually liked #14 better than #13. He does give an interesting perspective of the ghostly side of an existance, I'll give him credit for that. I have enjoyed the whole series. Some of them more so than others. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Exciting premise but...

    Kind of fell flat in the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I¿ve been a big fan of the Dresden Files series. It¿s a bit like

    I’ve been a big fan of the Dresden Files series. It’s a bit like a combination Rowling’s Harry Potter and Dashiell Hammett's Sam Spade. For those of you who don’t get the reference watch “The Maltese Falcon.”
    Unfortunately by the time I got book twelve I had gotten tired of the formulaic plot Harry Dresden getting a case, going up against impossible odds with his friends and winning. Ghost Story is no exception but it has a twist. Harry having been killed in off in the previous book, “Changes” comes back to do what he has done in all of his other books as a ghost and no powers. Unfortunately the ending was no surprise and very predictable. I figured it before I was halfway through the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Sucks and realy good

    It realygood & suck

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    25% Brilliant, 50% BORING, 25% Ok

    Over the last six weeks I have blown through the Dresden Files. I was not able to stop reading, until I came to Ghost Story. I had to force myself to keep moving forward through 50 per cent of this book - recycled villains and muddled action scenes that extended through chapters and chapters.

    Read the book - it is a bridge to what comes next I suspect. You will be able to speed read half of the content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but not great!

    The story is entertaining, but the book isn't near as good as some of
    the previous ones. It is worth breading. Just don't expect too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good but

    It's a good read . If not a little slow in places. But all in all I would recmend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Forget about preorders

    Don't bother with preorders, I waited over two hours for a different book. Just wait till they flick the switch order at 12:03 and start to read by 12:04

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4