Customer Reviews for

The Ghost War (John Wells Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

If you like spy thrillers, or military thrillers this is a great book! If you like Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Ted Bell, Tom Clancy, etc... you will like this author. This is the 2nd book in his John Wells series, and I immediately went and bought the 3rd boo (The silent ma...
If you like spy thrillers, or military thrillers this is a great book! If you like Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Ted Bell, Tom Clancy, etc... you will like this author. This is the 2nd book in his John Wells series, and I immediately went and bought the 3rd boo (The silent man). The story line is a little repetitive but the action, and writing is great. I personally love this type of fiction. I read at work to kill the long hours and I finished this book in less then 48 hours, it is hard to put down, I had to force myself to leave it at work and not take it home LOL.

posted by JoshH on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not great.

This was my first book from author Alex Berenson. I listen to audiobooks and read when I can. I would have enjoyed this book alot more if it weren't for all the history and military jargon that he inserted indepth. I can remember thinking "this is almost a history book ...
This was my first book from author Alex Berenson. I listen to audiobooks and read when I can. I would have enjoyed this book alot more if it weren't for all the history and military jargon that he inserted indepth. I can remember thinking "this is almost a history book and a small story is entangled in it." It got alot better towards the end-finally kept the storyline going. History is okay but you don't have to knock the issue to death and I feel as though he did that. I will try Silent Man and see if it will be better.

posted by sadeev on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    One Good Book

    I honestly don' t think the author could write a bad novel if he tried.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Great book and Enjoyable Read!

    This is only my second Berenson book and now I'm scrambling to find the other two in this series! He has great prose and fluid style. The plots aren't predictible and the characters are believable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Excellent quick read

    Highly addictive writing and excellent continuation of The Faithful Spy. Definite recommend for anyone who enjoys spy novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Thriller

    Great book; great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review of "the Ghost War".

    The book was a enjoyable follow-up to "the Faithful Spy". I am glad the author tackled a dfferent group of villians this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT STORY.

    GREAT. AS GOOD AS BRAD THOR AND VINCE FLYNN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Great Book

    Great book typical of this author. A fun read and very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    Entertaining, thrilling with some real world lessons

    This was a compelling book. I read all the Vince Flynn books and this is somewhat similar but better in some ways because its seems a little more realistic with more international relevance, although it is a bit outdated. I ripped through most of it in a couple of days so appreciated its 500 page length.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    Ghost War's is a great second book by Alex Berensen. You can add him to the list of Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Dale Brown, Lee Child, Tom Clancy and W. Griffin's Presidential Series as great thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Outstanding Read

    This was an exciting and fast paced read. Once I started reading it I could not put it down until it was finished. I have always enjoyed Clive Cussler and now have a new author to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Setting the bar high for fellow thriller writers

    A brilliantly crafted plot, Berenson's sequel to The Faithful Spy will keep you awake and turning pages all night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    great espionage thriller

    The CIA knows the best way to insure that North Korea¿s nuclear weapons aspirations is slowed down considerably is to abduct leading scientist Dr. Sung Kwan from the rogue state. The snatch plan is perfect and the team succeeds in a grabbing Kwan however, the CIA unit and the Korean scientist are killed during the escape. Someone from within the intelligence community sold out the mission. Agent Jennifer Exley is assigned to find out whom. --- As she works the impossible task of uncovering the mole her lover CIA Agent John Wells returns to Afghanistan where he previously uncovered an al-Qaeda plot to destroy Times Square (see THE FAITHFUL SPY). This time his assignment is to determine who are the outsiders abetting the Taliban return to power as the political answer of blaming Iran makes no logical sense after being brutal enemies for years. --- Uncovering a mole has been used many times, but Alex Berenson keeps it fresh due to the plausibility of the North Korean gambit the Afghan subplot also feels possible. Thus readers obtain a great espionage thriller as Mr. Berenson uses international headlines to write an exciting action-packed novel focusing on two CIA operations. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3