Customer Reviews for

Ghost World

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    so good

    so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Average

    I really appreciate the artwork in this book along with the odd color scheme. Unfortunately, the artwork is the most impressive feature for me. I find the book lacks a storyline until about halfway through, and when the story finally shows up, it is nothing out of the ordinary. Perhaps it is because I moved many times growing up, and I am accustomed to saying goodbye to friends, which happens to be a key aspect of this story. I went into this book expecting it to be funny, and to me, it was not. Overall, I find the book simply average because I have read graphic novels that are worse and several that are equal or better than this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ghost World

    Ghost World written by Daniel Clowes is an amazing read. The diction in the comic is astounding and I found the characters of Enid and Rebbecca to be sincerely hilarious. Though I did see the movie and physically enjoyed it, I also adore the graphic novel, too. If you enjoy funny and yet awkward conversations between two alternative teenagers, well drawn pictures and a memorable plot, I recommend reading Ghost World.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    Ghost World

    I saw the movie version of 'Ghost World' before I read the graphic-novel. Although, in my opinion, the book was not as good as the movie, the book is still great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    Best. Graphic Novel. Ever.

    The comic that the cult movie of the same title is based on slightly different than the movie, but both are amazing. You couldn't find something better to spend x amount of dollars on. Both the movie and the book display an eerie insight into the world of the atypical 18 year old girl, which I happen to be. Buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2003

    A Truly classic comic

    I love this book. Daniel Clowes' magnum opus is filled with warmth, heart, and cynicism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    A world left a shadow of what it used to be

    About a year ago I introduced this book to my school across the waters from Seattle. It's popularity there is only diminished by its realism, since many people dislike it for the girls' realistic tongues. But the book has been receiving a dedicated following, as people (Teenagers especially) can relate to the feelings of isolation and loneliness that the two main Characters house, and, their undeniably Human natures. It starts with the girls having only themselves, since each is a misfit and depends on the other. Then, both start aging and drifting apart. The pain of their sepperating interests only deepens when each realizes how much they both need each other. What Mr. Clowes has done is create a book that every person can relate to, because how many people can say they have gone through a point in their life where they didn't belong?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    This Novel is Awesome!

    I think everyone should pick up this novel because it is the very best! It's the Clowes graphic novel I have seem in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    This book could not be any better!!!

    This book totally rules! You would be amazed! Give it a whirl...it will only make you happy! Well unless you do not like to laugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    A Riot!

    I started reading Ghost World and couldn't put it down! It was so true to what young adults feel, say and do- especially for those who are having trouble finding themselves after high school. I really connected with Enid's character. When reading this book, it was like I was right there in the story. It was made into a motion picture, but the graphic novel was so intense, I really enjoyed it. I could read it over and over again! It's guarenteed to make the reader laugh non-stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    Clowes Writes Life

    Daniel Clowes' 'Ghost World' is a true achievment. Any young adult who is ready for it should definitly read this book. It is about two friends both different but they have been friends forever. They have graduated from High School and are talking about their future. While the friends around them become actress's and business men, Enid and Rebecca stay put and while while making wisecracks about life. Enid who is almost overly ambitious thinks about going to college while Rebecca just wants life to stay the same. The relationships Clowes writes about are to perfection. Both Enid and Rebecca play off of each other and play jokes on others. A must read book about coming-of-age gone to hell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1