BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Ghost Writer

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Clever Ghost Story

The author has written a story within a story within a story creating a very clever tale. He provides many clues and gives vivid descriptions of people and houses and makes you feel you are actually participating in the story. I was sorry to come to the end of the book....
The author has written a story within a story within a story creating a very clever tale. He provides many clues and gives vivid descriptions of people and houses and makes you feel you are actually participating in the story. I was sorry to come to the end of the book.

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Kept me from being bored

This book definitely had its good points. The characters had some depth and the mini-stories within the book were really good. It just wasn't the best book I've read. The plot was obvious to me early on. The probability that such a relationship between the main char...
This book definitely had its good points. The characters had some depth and the mini-stories within the book were really good. It just wasn't the best book I've read. The plot was obvious to me early on. The probability that such a relationship between the main character and his penfriend is low. Overall, the writer painted a beautiful picture, it just wasn't a scene that appealed to me. It's a good book if you are bored and want to read something.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Clever Ghost Story

    The author has written a story within a story within a story creating a very clever tale. He provides many clues and gives vivid descriptions of people and houses and makes you feel you are actually participating in the story. I was sorry to come to the end of the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    Elegant and Stylish

    In his debut novel, John Harwood creates an eerily psychological horror story with a nod (and a wave) to Victorian literature. As the novel begins in Australia, young Gerard discovers hidden away in his mother's possessions a strange photograph and a book. His mother swoops down on him with fury, snatching the belongings from him and hiding them away where Gerard cannot find them, refusing to tell him of her past. Soon thereafter, he begins a secret correspondence with a crippled English girl named Alice, and her letters rescue him emotionally from the bleak surroundings in his Australian home. As he matures, he falls in love with Alice, who won't let him see her for fear he'll feel sorry for her. As he learns that the book his mother has hidden away contained a ghost story written by his grandmother Viola, which Harwood presents in full, Gerard confides even more deeply in Alice. Viola's lengthy - and thoroughly creepy - stories seem like separate entities until Gerard discovers some disturbing connections. Upon his mother's death, he sets out to England to finally meet up with his almost-healed Alice and to settle family matters. What he doesn't count on, however, is that nothing, not even his own senses, can be trusted. Even if the reader solves much of the mystery before it is revealed, the ending has all the force it should, thanks to Harwood's highly visual description and talent with suspense. Harwood does a marvelous job of embedding the mannered ghost stories within Gerard's story, and the stories-within-a-story works exceptionally well in his hands. The tales are so throat-grabbing by themselves that I forgot at times that they were but segments of the whole. The effect is truly eerie as details from them begin to surface in Gerard's plot. Because the author's debt to Henry James' THE TURN OF THE SCREW is obvious well before he makes reference to it, I wished he had just let the style and the allusions to speak for themselves instead of pointing them out. His acknowledgment of Dickens' GREAT EXPECTATIONS is even less successful. I overlooked these lapses simply because I could not willingly put this novel aside. This is not Stephen King-type horror but something more elegant and literary. This moody, stylish debut will capture your imagination for hours at a time. Especially if you like creepiness, you'll love this tale of multiple hauntings and mystery.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    Captivating

    I've never written a review on a book before, but I wanted to share my thoughts on this one. Harwood is a wonderful writer with a real talent for detail and suspense. Whenever I had to put the book down I couldn't wait to start again, actually looking forward to what would happen next. However, the ending left me flat. I know writers often like to leave something to the imagination, but this was really disappointing. I thought surely my copy of the book must have been missing a few pages. It's as if he had to hurry up and finish the book to meet his deadline. Perhaps I just missed the nuances of the story, but it just felt like a sequel needed to be written. If that were the case, I would purchase it in a heart beat, but there was no indication of that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    nicely done

    I enjoyed the author's tongue in cheek allusions to Victorian literature. However, that same quality which made it unusual also led to a certain predictability. Nonetheless, the language is beautiful and surprisingly unselfconscious, considering the author imitates an older style of writing. Very enjoyable!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Kept me from being bored

    This book definitely had its good points. The characters had some depth and the mini-stories within the book were really good. It just wasn't the best book I've read. The plot was obvious to me early on. The probability that such a relationship between the main character and his penfriend is low. Overall, the writer painted a beautiful picture, it just wasn't a scene that appealed to me. It's a good book if you are bored and want to read something.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    Atmospheric and spooky

    Best book I have read in some time - enough to actually write a review! I put everything else on hold this morning just to finish the last 50 or so pages! Intriguing plot, believable characters and nailbiting suspense...You will not be bored! Great first effort - cannot wait for more from this author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Delicious

    If you are searching for a book that is out of the ordinary.. You have found it. A mystery that pulls you in and keeps you wondering, wanting to push for more. I really enjoyed the writing style and prose. I still think of it sometimes. I went immediately and purchased his other read. Can't wait for his next one to come out! Hurry John. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Good, old-fashioned modern-day Gothic

    A really nice modern-day Gothic -- haunted houses, mysterious pasts, and lots of secrets. I loved the stories within the story effect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    I love this book

    I am in the middle of reading it and am finding it to be very interesting and reminds me of an old story that fades into the present. The story is very good and woud recomend reading it, but thats only from what I have read so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    This book was way to confusing and slow.  I usually like to savo

    This book was way to confusing and slow.  I usually like to savor the words I'm reading, however, I found myself speed reading through
    the book, so that I could hurry and get to the end.  I didn't care for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    An atmospheric, creepy tale

    This book was recommended to me because I was jonesing for a ghost story. While it wasn't the ghost story I was hoping for, it was a dark, atmospheric tale about the darkness that can haunt the mind. The first third was a little slow, but the ending is solid and satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Recommended

    Chilling and smart ghost story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Hmmm...

    Atmospheric. Suspenseful. I was a little confused at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Eerie!

    Quite a convoluted plot, with some surprises and some quite chilling moments.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Creepy, Excellent!!

    This has become one of my favorite books. If you are into creepy ghost stories with a twist, you should love this. Just a great story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    Great Novel

    I am not an avid reader, but I realy enjoyed this book. It was creepie and I loved the little ghost stories thrown into the novel. I will tell you when I fell asleep reading this book at night. I would have the strangest most bizarre dreams. Read it if you like a good ghost story you won't be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    DON'T BOTHER........

    It started fine, but then turned into mish mosh. And the ending........good grief, couldn't Harwood think of anything better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2004

    Exceptional

    This is an exceptional debut novel -- I am so glad I stumbled upon it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3