Customer Reviews for

Ghost a la Mode (Ghost of Granny Apples Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Waiting for the next book.

I have read other books by the Author and this one was no disapointment, it has a different kind of story, and lets you wander what is going to happen next. I thought I had it all figured out and I was off a little, so I had to go back and reread to see where I had miss...
I have read other books by the Author and this one was no disapointment, it has a different kind of story, and lets you wander what is going to happen next. I thought I had it all figured out and I was off a little, so I had to go back and reread to see where I had missed stuff.

Like I said I am waiting for the next book.

posted by cinder1 on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Everpaw

Hey hey im done!

posted by 10361496 on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Decent for a free book. Found it hard to have any sympathy for t

    Decent for a free book. Found it hard to have any sympathy for the protagonist and found the contradictions and the way everything was so conveniently dropped into her lap to be too annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    A 'Creative' Mystery!

    an entertaining and fun read; an enjoyeable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Wonderful Read!!!

    Just a wonderful read, could'nt put it down!!! Very refreshing and interesting will continue with the rest of the series!!! Would suggest it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Great book

    First timereading any thing by this author It was great I can't wait to read #2 in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Great and so funny

    I truly enjoyed this book. The characters were so well written. You never know what will trigger the next laugh. I couldn't put this book down. Definitely will check out other books by Sue Ann.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    Slow To Start

    Despite some spelling/grammar errors, this was a pretty good book. I loved the humorous elements and wished there had been more. And I especially loved the romance element between Phil and Emma! Again, I wanted more! The mystery part of this cozy did take a bit too long to get started (20-25% into the book) in my opinion, but once it did it was great. There was some issues with pacing in the beginning and a little during the middle, but the end was edge-of-my-seat exciting. I couldn't put the book down! It was one of those moments too where I wished I could read faster because I kept holding my breath during the climactic scenes. •_• My only issues with this book were the time inconsistencies, mainly in the span of about 12 hours Emma had at least 15 (exaggerated a little for dramatic effect, more like 5 or 6… but still) "dinners" with 3 hours between each meal! And the first was at 3pm! My aggravation was really getting tweaked and I developed a tic in my right eye every time Emma wanted food. Anyway, there were a few times in the middle where I was getting bored with the book due to the iffy pacing leading to a wandering mind, but I am soooo glad I stuck with it! The end was great and more than made up for the earlier pacing problems. I'm definitely looking forward to getting my hands on the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    I finished Charlaine Harris' harper Connely series & was looking for something compatible. I almost think this series was better! You get a good feel for the characters, there is some history & some romance but not to the point of making you go "ugh, not again!" Would highly recommend all 3 books! Cannot wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    This is a fun read! I really liked this book a lot!!

    This is a fun read! I really liked this book a lot!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Very good

    This story was light hearted and fun. With 216 pages to read it had a lot going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Cute!

    Very cute "ghost story". I laughed out loud several times. I highly recommend this book for a quick, easy read. Will check out more by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    I thoroughly loved reading this book. I highly recommend it. I

    I thoroughly loved reading this book. I highly recommend it. It was so hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great

    This was a wonderful book. I hope I can find more of Granny Apples. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Loved it

    Don't usually do ghost stories but this was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Cute

    Really like the characters, and the description of Julian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    good

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    enjoyable read

    Wished it had been a bit more developed but I really liked the concept and the characters were endearing and,yes, every time I read something about Phil I pictured Gerald McRainey

    WILL DEFINITLY READ NEXT BOOK IN SERIES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Not a bad read

    Not exactly my cut of tea but I just loved the cover so I gave it a try. It was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Story

    While not a blockbuster, this was a fun story and a quick read. It had all the elements. A little drama, some suspense, a bit of a love store and s ghostly presence. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Cool

    I really in enjoyed this book and Iam 56 year old .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    A ghost story as wholesome as apple pie.


    I really liked this first installment of the Ghost of Granny Apples. It was funny, not light on the romance, and had a little substance to the mystery. Definitely will continue with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12