BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ghost a la Mode (Ghost of Granny Apples Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Waiting for the next book.

I have read other books by the Author and this one was no disapointment, it has a different kind of story, and lets you wander what is going to happen next. I thought I had it all figured out and I was off a little, so I had to go back and reread to see where I had miss...
I have read other books by the Author and this one was no disapointment, it has a different kind of story, and lets you wander what is going to happen next. I thought I had it all figured out and I was off a little, so I had to go back and reread to see where I had missed stuff.

Like I said I am waiting for the next book.

posted by cinder1 on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Everpaw

Hey hey im done!

posted by 10361496 on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Waiting for the next book.

    I have read other books by the Author and this one was no disapointment, it has a different kind of story, and lets you wander what is going to happen next. I thought I had it all figured out and I was off a little, so I had to go back and reread to see where I had missed stuff.

    Like I said I am waiting for the next book.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Very fun, light-hearted novel!

    If you like mixed genres,this book has a few for you! I'd have to call this a humorous paranormal mystery with a touch of romance. I look forward to reading more books by this author. Jaffarian has a fun sense of humor and weaves an interesting tale. A good, light read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    Light reading, but well done

    Enjoyed this murder mystery done with a bit of a ghost twist

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    OUTSTANDING

    I love ghost stories. I have never read a story by Sue Ann Jaffarian. When I saw this one for free, I thought what have I got to lose. It was fantastic. A really enjoyable story with some twists and turns along the way. Highly, highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Light & Fun Crazy Read

    Totally silly concept with good characters and a great side step from my usual mysteries...will read more of this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun series

    I loved the characters of this book, along with the ghost concept. A great first book to an interesting series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    A 'Creative' Mystery!

    an entertaining and fun read; an enjoyeable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    Slow To Start

    Despite some spelling/grammar errors, this was a pretty good book. I loved the humorous elements and wished there had been more. And I especially loved the romance element between Phil and Emma! Again, I wanted more! The mystery part of this cozy did take a bit too long to get started (20-25% into the book) in my opinion, but once it did it was great. There was some issues with pacing in the beginning and a little during the middle, but the end was edge-of-my-seat exciting. I couldn't put the book down! It was one of those moments too where I wished I could read faster because I kept holding my breath during the climactic scenes. •_• My only issues with this book were the time inconsistencies, mainly in the span of about 12 hours Emma had at least 15 (exaggerated a little for dramatic effect, more like 5 or 6… but still) "dinners" with 3 hours between each meal! And the first was at 3pm! My aggravation was really getting tweaked and I developed a tic in my right eye every time Emma wanted food. Anyway, there were a few times in the middle where I was getting bored with the book due to the iffy pacing leading to a wandering mind, but I am soooo glad I stuck with it! The end was great and more than made up for the earlier pacing problems. I'm definitely looking forward to getting my hands on the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    enjoyable read

    Wished it had been a bit more developed but I really liked the concept and the characters were endearing and,yes, every time I read something about Phil I pictured Gerald McRainey

    WILL DEFINITLY READ NEXT BOOK IN SERIES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Story

    While not a blockbuster, this was a fun story and a quick read. It had all the elements. A little drama, some suspense, a bit of a love store and s ghostly presence. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    A ghost story as wholesome as apple pie.


    I really liked this first installment of the Ghost of Granny Apples. It was funny, not light on the romance, and had a little substance to the mystery. Definitely will continue with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Good read

    Got this book for free. I wasn't sure I would like it. The book was a fun read that didn't take itself to serious. I would read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    WOW

    I loved this story!! I have to read more! Good story. You have to read it. And while your doing that, I am gonna read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    good vacation book

    I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. A nice mystery with a touch of romance mixed in. I will definitely read more in this series when they are more affordable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    HIGHLY ENTERTAINING

    This book was a very light, easy read ... but quite funny and absolutely kept my interest throughout!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    highly recommended

    a fun weekend read with a little romance, mystery and humor-i would read more of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Fun mystery

    I thought this was such a good book. Definitely kept me guessing. I enjoyed the way the author fit in a real town with its own ghost story. Who doesn't love a good ghost story. I really enjoyed the book. I can't wait to read the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Quick easy read - fun - I believe in Ghosts, so this was extra f

    Quick easy read - fun - I believe in Ghosts, so this was extra fun for me. Can read in a weekend. Will read the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    enjoyable reading

    Sometimes the whole "talking to a ghost" thing seems hokey, but overall I did enjoy the book. The writer has a good sense of humor. It did pique my interest in the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Really Enjoyed this Book!

    This is a quick read. I like how she talks to ghosts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5