Customer Reviews for

Ghost a la Mode (Ghost of Granny Apples Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Waiting for the next book.

I have read other books by the Author and this one was no disapointment, it has a different kind of story, and lets you wander what is going to happen next. I thought I had it all figured out and I was off a little, so I had to go back and reread to see where I had miss...
I have read other books by the Author and this one was no disapointment, it has a different kind of story, and lets you wander what is going to happen next. I thought I had it all figured out and I was off a little, so I had to go back and reread to see where I had missed stuff.

Like I said I am waiting for the next book.

posted by cinder1 on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Everpaw

Hey hey im done!

posted by 10361496 on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great

    This was a wonderful book. I hope I can find more of Granny Apples. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Loved it

    Don't usually do ghost stories but this was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Cute

    Really like the characters, and the description of Julian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Cool

    I really in enjoyed this book and Iam 56 year old .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Fun Read

    This was a fun read for me. Good characters and setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Charming and fun

    After reading Granny Ala Mode I knew I had to get all the books in the series. Although the first made me laugh quite a bit, the other two were more serious. All three were well crafted, perfect character development and a great mystery. I hope there will be many more adventures for Granny, Emma and the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The first of a new series, the Granny Apples Mysteries promises

    The first of a new series, the Granny Apples Mysteries promises solid mysteries spiced with humor, ghosts, pet dogs, and romance. Emma Whitecastle, a forty something soon to be divorcee, is finding her single identity again. Her husband, the scion of Hollywood royalty, had found fame as a child actor but only found fame as the equivalent of a bad boy talk show host on television as an adult. When Emma refused to have plastic surgery, Grant started to stray and strayed enough to father a baby. When the marriage was teetering, Emma’s dad recommended that she make copies of their financial papers, open her own bank account, and get her own credit cards. Luckily she did, and when Grant began to hide assets, Emma was able to stop him. While both agreed to the divorce, Emma refused to take less than half of their assets and half of the cost of their daughter Kelly’s college education. Things came to a head at Kelly’s graduation party when Grant approached Emma again about the disposition of assets. Emma found her former spunk and gave Grant her terms, impressing Granny Apples that she might be the descendent to clear her name.

    Granny Apples was lynched in 1910 by three hooded men. Her husband had been beaten and hung three days earlier, and some thought the men had taken matters into their own hands. Most thought she was innocent, but the guilty were never found, and history recorded her as her husband’s murderer. She has been on a quest ever since to clear her name. Emma’s best friend Tracy took Emma with her to research a medium named Milo. After the séance, Granny started talking to Emma who was definitely not a believer in things supernatural. From this inauspicious beginning, Emma agrees to help Granny clear her name. The man who began suspected Emma of harassing his aunt becomes her ally in what becomes a race to save herself. Both fun and a little scary, a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    quriky fun book

    I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Enjoyable read!

    I really enjoyed the book different from most mysteries that I have read where the character Emma is investigating the death of her relative Granny Apples who dies over a hundred years ago. And is aided in the investigation by Granny since Emma recently found out she can see and hear ghosts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    this was an exciting, adventurous story. I couldn't put it down

    this was an exciting, adventurous story. I couldn't put it down & can't wait to read the others in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    A fun series to read!

    Skeptical about purchasing a 99¿ book, but thought I would give it a try. I just finished the third book in the series, and I can't wait for the next one! Stories are fun to read and keep the reader guessing. First mystery/ghost books I have read, but they are a change from the typical cozy mystery I usually read. I enjoy the historical references to places you can actually visit today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Awesome!!

    I was hooked from the first chapter. Sue Ann is an excellent writer and I truly enjoy reading her novels. I have read all three books in this series and wanting for more..You cannot just dangle that carrot for a sequel and leave us hanging..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    You got to read this book! Granny Apples will become a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Great Book!

    I really enjoyed this book! It was the first I read by this author...but will not be the last! I could not put this book down....and now I'm off to buy books #2 and #3. Sooo excited!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Just plain fun:)

    Entertaing way to pass the day on the beach reading or curled up on the sofa in the winter. Fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Super tasty story!

    Sweet apple pies,ghosts,imaginative characters and a great story with a sweet and satisfying ending. I hope there are many more in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Cute story.

    Kept me interested until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Fun story- written well (not first person- few do that well!) i

    Fun story- written well (not first person- few do that well!)
    interesting characters. great for a vacation/travel read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    great read

    loved this book, hard to put down. kept me on my toes trying to figure out characters. a series would be great !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Great book!

    I wish I ould see & talk to the son I've lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6