Customer Reviews for

The Ghost and Mrs. McClure (Haunted Bookshop Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A cozy and a hardboiled combined!

This is a cozy mystery with some added zip, a hardboiled character. This is a haunted bookshop in which the ghost was a hardboiled private detective. Lots of fun and originality. The combination is great and adds interest.

posted by Lucy_Mae_Braun on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting take on a mystery

The cover of this book caught my attention. Once I started reading the book that too caught my attention. I have to admit the first two chapters were hard to get through, it was a lot of "babbling". Once I finally made my way through those chapters I really did enjoy th...
The cover of this book caught my attention. Once I started reading the book that too caught my attention. I have to admit the first two chapters were hard to get through, it was a lot of "babbling". Once I finally made my way through those chapters I really did enjoy the book. Then I did not want it to end. So now I am on my way back to the bookstore to pick up the remaining series. Overall, I think this is a nice book to read on those rainy days.

posted by BookLoverDT on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    A cozy and a hardboiled combined!

    This is a cozy mystery with some added zip, a hardboiled character. This is a haunted bookshop in which the ghost was a hardboiled private detective. Lots of fun and originality. The combination is great and adds interest.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    An author chokes to death while speaking. Is it murder?

    This was a fabulous first mystery. I read it in one day! I can¿t wait for another in this series! Penelope Thornton-McClure has returned to Quindicott, Rhode Island, to become co-owner of Buy the Book bookstore with her Aunt Sadie. Penelope brought her seven year old son Spencer with her. Penelope¿s husband Calvin recently killed himself. To help increase business, Penelope sets up an author appearance by Timothy Brennan, renowned author of the Detective Jack Shield story. Unfortunately Timothy chokes during his talk and dies. The next morning when Penelope wakes with a hangover, she figures his death will be the end of Buy the Book. Boy was she wrong. Apparently they sold every copy of his new book and all of his previous books as well. The next day more copies arrive. She doesn¿t know how they will sell them until they open and are mobbed once again. Then the State Police determine he was killed and arrest Brennan¿s daughter, Diedre. She and her husband Kenneth had arrived with Brennan and Shelby Cabot from the publisher¿s the night of Brennan¿s talk. About 50 years ago P.I. Jack Shepard had been shot in a bookstore in this same location. Apparently Brennan¿s Jack Shield character was built off of Jack Shepard. Penelope starts conversing with Jack Shepard in her head. Most of the time she is trying to stop hearing him, but he is very persistent. I like the interaction of Penelope and Jack, even though he¿s a ghost. This is such a well-written cozy. She has created likeable characters, including a ghost, but it isn¿t scary in the least. Matter of fact, I found it funny! The interaction between the other characters is well written as well. I also like the setting of a small Rhode Island town. The bookstore setting gives it charm. She has a real winner! I highly recommend this! You won¿t want to put it down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    True to the series - that is, very good.

    If you love this series for the fun it provides, then you will love this one too. If you like cozies in general, then you will like this series. As always, there are at least two mysteries to be solved, but no goriness.

    For the books I recommend, I also recommend the whole series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The ghost and Mrs. McClure

    I found this book very good. it is a different kind of mystery. It is about Penelope Thornton-McClure and the ghost of jack Sheppard. Jack Sheppard helps penelope solve a murder in the book store she co-owns with her aunt sadie. The plot keeps you clue to the book until the very end. I really enjoyed it and would recommended it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Enjoyable Book

    If you like the movie The Ghost and Mrs. Muir, I believe that you will like this book. It is interesting how the author intermixes the current and past to tell 2 stories. I read all 5 books in this series in 3 days. Light, quick read and very entertaining.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    little bit of pulp, little bit of now

    I have always had a liked Perry Mason and The Shadow when I was growing up, I especially loved the episodes of Star Trek which had Jean Luc playing the character of Dixon Hill, the hard-boiled detective. When I got older, my obsession grew with mysteries and pulp novels. This book has both of these elements, a modern day mystery, but with the dialogue and ambiance of the old pulp novels. I highly recommend reading this book, you will love the main characters: Penelope McClure and Jack Shepard. I am looking forward to the other titles in the series, I cannot wait for the characters to grow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Funny and captivating

    This is a great start to a great series. A great detective team that will make you want to read more and more. I've read all 5 titles in the series and can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    EXCELLENT READ

    A great story with ghost, Jack Shepard, an old school detective and living/widowed bookstore owner Penelope Thorton-McClure along with many other interesting small town characters. Great word visuals and Extraordinary vocabulary make this book a wonderful story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Fun, Smart, and Full of Character!

    What starts out as predictable and corny, quickly moves to a brush with times past when detectives hung to the sides of fog feathered alleys, I found myself drawn in as Jack, the ghost with a past, coaches Penelope through the dark stacks of ghostwriters. Looking forward to the next installment,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Not just a ghost story...

    I loved the combination of old school detective jargon along with modern day life. Lots of fun. The method of communication between the ghost and Mrs. McClure is clever and not typical in my experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting take on a mystery

    The cover of this book caught my attention. Once I started reading the book that too caught my attention. I have to admit the first two chapters were hard to get through, it was a lot of "babbling". Once I finally made my way through those chapters I really did enjoy the book. Then I did not want it to end. So now I am on my way back to the bookstore to pick up the remaining series. Overall, I think this is a nice book to read on those rainy days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Ghost and Mrs. McClure

    The book was very good. I love suspense, romance, and humor which this story was all about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Cute!

    This is just a cute little book for booklovers. I pick up the series as a new one come out (3 now, maybe 4?). I collect fiction about books or book environments and this one is a treasure. The later books seem to be getting farther from the bookstore and more into Jack the ghost, but they are all fun.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    What do you do when the economy is bad and your little bookstore

    What do you do when the economy is bad and your little bookstore hasn't the ghost of a chance of surviving ?  A real death in the store can definitely drum up business.  Then add a real ghost of a PI whose own murder happened in that same spot more than 50 years ago, and you've got yourself a booming new business, a murder to solve, and a fun new cozy series! 




    In a small town in Rhode Island, recently widowed Penelope Thornton and her Aunt Sadie have decided to host a famous mystery writer at their mystery book store.  Though he is arrogant and demonstrative, his books are big sellers.  But before he can really get into his talk, he drops dead at the podium.  Then Penelope realizes that she can hear the ghost go the PI who was murdered in her store, and he's encouraging her to solve this new murder, before the police decide Penelope is a murderer.




    This fun mystery plays on the hard boiled noir mysteries of yesteryear.  The ghost, Jack Shepard, dialogues in the speech of past detectives.  The chapters are all headed by quotes from characters or publications that any respectable mystery buff will recognize--like Sam Spade and Philip Marlowe. Definitely reminiscent of the past, while creating a present mystery that will haunt you.  Luckily, there are already four more in this series for me to read.  This dame is ready to detect !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    A RI bookstore mystery

    A new series by the people who brought us the coffeehouse mysteries. Penelope McClure brings her son and returns to her roots to "recover" after she becomes a widow, helping her aunt run a fading bookstore. Another unbelievable character, Jack, helps her find the answers and her own chutzpah. Will be interesting to see how the series develops

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Good Read

    Fun cozy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3