BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    I loved this book. As a young girl in 5th grade, this book and h

    I loved this book. As a young girl in 5th grade, this book and how the authors wrote it is what caught my interest in other books, and my love of reading flourished. I just found this particular book in the boxes from our move and re-read. As an adult now, I am interested in following certain authors and book series and would love to read the rest of the Samurai Detective Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Gnarley!!!!!

    This book was very good in my opinion. It always kept me on my toes about who the murderer really was. Even though the reading level was a little low I would still recommend it to all ages. It was written by both Dorthy and Thomas Hoobler so it odviously is a good book its one out of a series of 3 and from what ive heard the other two are just as good. Its full of adventure and curiousity, The visuality of this book is amazing its so easy to keep up and not get lost trying to figure out whats going on. So you have to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great start, great plot, and a great history lesson in it!

    It's a fairly well written book, and although you do get the solution as to who the culprit was, the main question was: why they did what they did. It was certainly interesting and it focused a lot more on Seikei and how he managed to help Judge Ooka capture the thief and find out the real reasons why the crime was done the way it was done. I think it was well written due to the fact that it paid close attention to detail and it was filled with good amounts of description to give the reader the feel for the time period and how it was like back then. It provided the reader with several tidbits of background information, so the reader won't be lost in all the historical aspects of the book. However it's well done so that you do end up getting a mini history lesson without being overwhelmed with information.

    Although a mystery, it also did focus on the development and growing maturity in Seikei. Dreaming of becoming a samurai, he gets taught by several characters on how to behave and even fight like one. His behavior develops from a dreamy boy to someone slightly more mature and takes this samurai business more seriously. Although geared towards younger children, there are certain parts of the book where it seems more appropriate for young adults instead. That's just my opinion about it though.

    The plot was well done. It mixes the element of paranormal and with mystery and has it's similarities with Sherlock Holmes where there's always a logical explanation to everything. Judge Ooka steps up on this aspect and is shown to be a character with a quiet form of intelligence and stays in the background while Seikei does the actual work himself. In many ways they compliment each other perfectly and make a great mystery solving team.

    Overall, I'm definitely picking up the next book after this one. This series has a great potential and has done a good job with this book. Pick this up for a good quick mystery read, with a small history lesson of Japan under Shogun rule.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great !!!!!

    This book and the rest of the books in this series are great reads and are hard to put down. I would recommend this series to everyone. These are my Favorite books ever.
    The characters are believable and the facts about japan are true. After you read this book you will want to read the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Best Japanese culture book

    This book is great is you want a story that takes place in Japan. Not only do you have a great polt and stoyline, you are learning some about the culture of Japan and the language. I would high recommand this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    full of action

    There was a lot of action in this book especially when Seiki is trying to get a job with the traveling Kabuki Theater and he sees Totomi and the others perform for food in the street and it is like they are really battling. Mr. and Mrs. Hoobler are very descriptive. I want to read all of their books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    The Japan ghost at the Tokaido Inn

    It¿s about a boy named Seikei who is a merchant son. But wants to become a Samurai. It start¿s out as a Seikei and his dad stopping at an Inn to stay. Seikei thought he saw a demon. But really it¿s a thief that steals a jewel from a Samurai general. Its up to Seikei goes on an adventure to find out who is the thief. What I like about this book was that you can¿t put the book down because it so existing book. What I did not like about this book was that you can¿t put the book down because it¿s so existing book. What I did like that it only had samurai but no ninjas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    AMAZING

    This book is the most AMAZINGLY written book you will ever read. You will not be able to put it down. The story is unique and is told incredibly well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    Amazing!

    A very good book, and very different. The story line is pretty well written. It starts with a tea merchants son wanting to be a samuri, which is a very different in ancient Japan. But it comes true you know in a story it has to, but for the character it's quite a shock. The only problem I had with it was in all books the hero is almost always a sort of rebel. So it gets predictable. However it is really a page turner, a very good historical thriller. I could hardly put it down which was hard as it was a school book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    A Real Thriller

    The Ghost In The Tokaido Inn is one of the best books I have ever read! Full of adventure and shrouded in mystery. Seiki, the main character, is a merchant's boy that has dreamed of being a samarai all his life. Then, he woke up in the middle of the night to find a figure that looked like a demon rightin his room! How would you feel in this situation like that! The next day, he finds out that the had took something that was valuable to a lord and confesses that he saw a demon to Judge Ooka, a goverment detective. You got to find out the rest. I mean it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1