Customer Reviews for

Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Case study of a kid who pushed the limits

Better than Grisham because it's true. For some of us Silicon Valley natives, Kevin Mitnick has been as captivating as Howard Hughes was for a previous generation. He was an iconoclastic rebel, whose victims were monolithic corporations like the phone company, attacked ...
Better than Grisham because it's true. For some of us Silicon Valley natives, Kevin Mitnick has been as captivating as Howard Hughes was for a previous generation. He was an iconoclastic rebel, whose victims were monolithic corporations like the phone company, attacked via their guileless front office people. Because the law didn't understand his crimes, the damages were inflated and his criminal sentence was wildly out of proportion to the actual harm done. However his arrest did stop what was an escalating trajectory of criminal behavior. So although what he was punished for was out of synch with the actual damages, had he gone unchecked the harm could eventually have matched the government's claims.
But what I find interesting is the author's voice: the lack of remorse, the gleeful retelling of malicious tricks upon others. Read this side by side with Catch Me If You Can and you get a fantastic case study of antisocial personalities who manipulate others for the game, whose narcissism leads them to believe that others are stupid for having faith in them. Fascinating.

posted by TeresaHeinrich on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It should say 'people hacker' not 'computer hacker'

It is what it is: story after story after story of Kevin hacking or manipulating someone to get at whatever his arbitrary goal happened to be that day. Maybe I just don't have a great deal of respect for hackers in general but after the 200 pages of 'Ghost in the Wire...
It is what it is: story after story after story of Kevin hacking or manipulating someone to get at whatever his arbitrary goal happened to be that day. Maybe I just don't have a great deal of respect for hackers in general but after the 200 pages of 'Ghost in the Wires' I was already ready to move on only to find I was just half way through.

I expected it to be more computer-centric but in fact, a majority of his hacking seems to be schmoozing someone at the telephone company or DMV to give him information.

The book was well enough written but it left a sour opinion of Kevin for me. Taking advantage of people. Stealing. Lying. There's nothing to be proud of here.

The only great thing is at the end of it all, Kevin uses his skills to help companies become more secure.

posted by 9354415 on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Case study of a kid who pushed the limits

    Better than Grisham because it's true. For some of us Silicon Valley natives, Kevin Mitnick has been as captivating as Howard Hughes was for a previous generation. He was an iconoclastic rebel, whose victims were monolithic corporations like the phone company, attacked via their guileless front office people. Because the law didn't understand his crimes, the damages were inflated and his criminal sentence was wildly out of proportion to the actual harm done. However his arrest did stop what was an escalating trajectory of criminal behavior. So although what he was punished for was out of synch with the actual damages, had he gone unchecked the harm could eventually have matched the government's claims.
    But what I find interesting is the author's voice: the lack of remorse, the gleeful retelling of malicious tricks upon others. Read this side by side with Catch Me If You Can and you get a fantastic case study of antisocial personalities who manipulate others for the game, whose narcissism leads them to believe that others are stupid for having faith in them. Fascinating.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Nice to finally hear Kevin's side

    Details, details. If you ever followed Mitnick, you'll appreciate all of the details in this book. I work in cybersecurity but I feel even non-IT people could get into this book. It has quite the "Catch Me If You Can" vibe going. I also recommend The Art of Deception and The Art of Intrusion.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    If you read one book this year, make it this one.

    One of the best books out there. If you like interesting and compelling stories you will like this.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Just Gotta Wonder...

    1.) How much further could he have gotten if he had minimised the usage of the exploits he engineered (eg. not felt compelled to share the exploits so widely and not used them so frequently).
    2.) Gotta wonder how he'd manage in this "post 9/11" era where freedoms and privacy are on a level that makes Stalin's Soviet Union look liberal.

    I fully understand Mitnik's drive - the joy of conquering the unconquerable, simply to show it can be done. Not for gain or for any malevolence...just to do it. I started on "trash 80s" (TRS-80) and BASIC...C64s. Running packet sniffers and Sun Telecom network traffic analysers - simply to learn. The joy isn't always the obvious; getting behind the locked door. It's the learning. The accumulation of knowledge of systems which are becoming so intricately intwined on such a global level. It's almost religious - like getting closer to God ("God" in this case being some master server of all the world's knowledge). As such, thata desire to learn everything is ccomparable to drug addiction - you always search for better information...chase the high. And qyou can never get enough.
    Good read tho. GLAD KEVIN IS FREE!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    This book is exciting and enlightening! This is not just a book

    This book is exciting and enlightening! This is not just a book for nerds, but for anyone with an appetite for real-world adventure. Kevin explains unfamiliar terms and walks a fine line between too technical for the average reader, and too verbose for the knowledgeable reader; and he walks it well. Love this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    This is a great book. A confident, yet humble account of the gre

    This is a great book. A confident, yet humble account of the greatest
    hacker hunt in history. Some of the contents might seem too incredible
    to believe, but speaking as someone who was starting out in infosec in
    1995, it sounds just about right compared to the stories and rumors I
    remember floating around at the time. It is great to get the whole story
    of what I heard only half of.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book

    A funny entertaining read! A must get!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    Learning how to hack more than just phones

    This book follows Kevin Mitnick¿s life, from childhood to adulthood. The book explains how he got into hacking and just how far that took him. The book is a great read because its tone doesn¿t sound factual like a textbook, but rather like you¿re listening to him personally tell the story. He describes his life vividly. He talks not only about how easy and simple it was to hack into telephones and computers, but also how easy it was to trick people into giving him what he needed he calls this ¿social engineering.¿ He described the thrill of gaining new data and the ridiculous notions that some people truly believed. In the story he tells it like it is, the backstabbing friends, a person¿s fear of the unknown, rumors being accepted as truth, the law not always being just. It¿s hard to hate the character knowing that what he was doing was wrong, but he never once gained a profit from his hacking. Kevin had many opportunities to become a hardened criminal, an uncatchable thief making millions off of others hard work, but he only hacked for fun describing it like wining at the next level of a video game. When in jail he tries to explain to an inmate that he ¿didn¿t do it for the money;¿ he ¿did it for the entertainment¿ and that¿s what confused many law officials. In the book he shows no remorse for what he had done rather its sounds like he is boasting and bragging, but to me there is nothing wrong with that. People brag about anything that will get them attention, good or bad. I enjoyed this book because not only does it explain how he breaks in, but he breaks it down so that even though one may not be into technology they get the base of it. It also shows the faults that people have, and how vulnerable a person or a company can be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Good book

    It is a very interesting novel about something but i didnt read it yet. Should i?

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Entertaining Read

    The book is an entertaining read following Kevin from his initial childhood influences to his days of "hacking out of curiosity". It then follows him while he tries to hide from the law while using his skills to track those who are tracking him.

    It is filled with wonderful examples of "social engineering", using people's predisposition to trust/help others to get information, which is worth the read in itself. It was a surprising element as I was thinking his hacking skills would have been related more to technical skills. The skill to get strangers to easily give the information he lacked added a great human element to the book.

    The book has chronological flow and really only started to slow down around the 3/4 point where it felt more like a wrap up then a continuation of the "story telling" feel of the fist 3/4.

    Overall a very good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    It should say 'people hacker' not 'computer hacker'

    It is what it is: story after story after story of Kevin hacking or manipulating someone to get at whatever his arbitrary goal happened to be that day. Maybe I just don't have a great deal of respect for hackers in general but after the 200 pages of 'Ghost in the Wires' I was already ready to move on only to find I was just half way through.

    I expected it to be more computer-centric but in fact, a majority of his hacking seems to be schmoozing someone at the telephone company or DMV to give him information.

    The book was well enough written but it left a sour opinion of Kevin for me. Taking advantage of people. Stealing. Lying. There's nothing to be proud of here.

    The only great thing is at the end of it all, Kevin uses his skills to help companies become more secure.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    A thinking persons book

    One may or may not like what Mitnick did but he has written a book full of lessons for those of us using digital devices in the course of living our lives. He exposes the weaknesses we as users have and the system has that expose us to those who wish to compromise our information for fun or financial gain. This is a serious must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Ghost in the Wires is an interesting memoir about the lif

    Ghost in the Wires is an interesting memoir about the life of Kevin Mitnick, an internationally renowned hacker and social engineer who pushes the limits of the law. Beginning with simple sociological manipulation, Mitnick began forging bus punch cards and experimenting with radio mechanics in his early years. He then progressed his knowledge of manipulation and technology to the point of becoming an expert in the field of exploitation. This memoir follows Mitnick throughout his many escapades with the law and how he usually always found a way out; with the effect he has on his friends and loved ones detailed as well, as a critical element in his life.
    I would highly recommend Ghost in the Wires for individuals who take a particular interest in the career fields pertaining to Information Technology for obvious reasons. I would also love to recommend this book for average readers as well. Mitnick isn't too verbose with his technical explanations and it is fairly easy for one who might not be the most savvy with advanced technological concepts and terminology to follow along. The narrative also allows for readers to become engrossed into the non-fictitious adrenaline filled encounters with the police; which also has the negative effect of becoming repetitive throughout the book. However, this memoir is superb in both aspects of recollection and reflection and is a wonderful read.

    - Jack M.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    The worlds most wanted hacker

    Great book! It really is spectacular, but needs a better ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    STUPID

    GANGNAM STYLE WAS BETTER

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a great read.

    This was a great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Great book

    Gteat, exhilirating, and fun book. Just make sure that you're okay with cursing before you start reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Actionist

    This is horrible
    You freaking scared my kids and why would they be on my nook? Well because they to read this is horrible dont ever by this aandd waaaaaste ur money that is not cool well yeah your a FOOL ur book sucks and it made me rrate atleast one star stupid nook you give my kids nightmares u gue
    Well anyways now my kids are scared to even read...dummy


    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Fun

    Lots of ego, but a good story teller. Very fun read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Finally

    Have read all the other books about Kevin's adventures, it's nice to finally read the true story of how it all went down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5