BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Case study of a kid who pushed the limits

Better than Grisham because it's true. For some of us Silicon Valley natives, Kevin Mitnick has been as captivating as Howard Hughes was for a previous generation. He was an iconoclastic rebel, whose victims were monolithic corporations like the phone company, attacked ...
Better than Grisham because it's true. For some of us Silicon Valley natives, Kevin Mitnick has been as captivating as Howard Hughes was for a previous generation. He was an iconoclastic rebel, whose victims were monolithic corporations like the phone company, attacked via their guileless front office people. Because the law didn't understand his crimes, the damages were inflated and his criminal sentence was wildly out of proportion to the actual harm done. However his arrest did stop what was an escalating trajectory of criminal behavior. So although what he was punished for was out of synch with the actual damages, had he gone unchecked the harm could eventually have matched the government's claims.
But what I find interesting is the author's voice: the lack of remorse, the gleeful retelling of malicious tricks upon others. Read this side by side with Catch Me If You Can and you get a fantastic case study of antisocial personalities who manipulate others for the game, whose narcissism leads them to believe that others are stupid for having faith in them. Fascinating.

posted by TeresaHeinrich on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It should say 'people hacker' not 'computer hacker'

It is what it is: story after story after story of Kevin hacking or manipulating someone to get at whatever his arbitrary goal happened to be that day. Maybe I just don't have a great deal of respect for hackers in general but after the 200 pages of 'Ghost in the Wire...
It is what it is: story after story after story of Kevin hacking or manipulating someone to get at whatever his arbitrary goal happened to be that day. Maybe I just don't have a great deal of respect for hackers in general but after the 200 pages of 'Ghost in the Wires' I was already ready to move on only to find I was just half way through.

I expected it to be more computer-centric but in fact, a majority of his hacking seems to be schmoozing someone at the telephone company or DMV to give him information.

The book was well enough written but it left a sour opinion of Kevin for me. Taking advantage of people. Stealing. Lying. There's nothing to be proud of here.

The only great thing is at the end of it all, Kevin uses his skills to help companies become more secure.

posted by 9354415 on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great Book

    No Text Provided.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Go Mitnick!

    This is a great bio! If you are reading this then you MUST BUY this book!

    Locke

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Watch Catch Me If You Can. Same Story...More Interesting

    Although I enjoyed the walk down memory lane with computer systems and operating systems I cut my teeth on, the main subject of the book is 'social engineering', which is basically becoming whatever someone else needs you to be long enough for them to trust you and do what you want. I didn't enjoy that part of the book, or this guy's story. By the end of it, I wouldn't believe him if he said the sky is blue without external confirmation. Not my favorite book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    I'm surprised they haven't made a move of this...

    This is the perfect blend of story and technical detail that explains how Mitnick performed many of his hacks. The story is captivating from beginning to end. I'm surprised someone hasn't created a movie loosely based on the facts. If any Hollywood producers are reading this, I suggestion the title "Takedown".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Social Engineering

    The book was okay. Perhaps a little redundant at times. I dont think that Mitnic has reformed at all. He doesnt seem to think that anything that he was doing was wrong. My opinion is that this book is just another Mitnic attempt at social engineering the reader. I am not recommending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Fantastic adventure!

    Root for the "bad guy" (computer pun intended) while hanging on the edge of your seat. Dodge federal agents, hijack networks, make even the most respectable institutions look just a bit foolish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Very intriguing book- you will love it

    Very interesting book. Will draw you in if you are in to crime/tech. themes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Awesome Operator

    I bought this to follow up on an article I read in WIRED about the author. Fascinating article. The book is even better. Why? It goes into more personal details about Kevin. Relationships. Work. Home. How he got into "Super-Hacking". It appealed to my "inner Robin Hood" complex. This guy goes after Ma Bell, the DMV, and the Government. Bad Dude. His brushes with the law. Evasion. Eventual capture. His conversion to expert consultant to corporate and law enforcement. All of this made for a GREAT book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book. I was left admiring Mitnick for his experiences, ev

    Great book. I was left admiring Mitnick for his experiences, even though they were criminal by and large, and questioning the way our legal system treats cases like his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Asome

    Itnwiuld suck if u were one of the people that got tricked

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    A must!

    Great book... especially if you feel like nerding out

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended-You must check it out.

    A great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Great

    Brought out the truth ... all of kevins books are must reads.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    An interesting read but not a page-turner.

    The book was interesting, but it became repetitive...he hacks in, he gets caught, he hacks in, he gets caught. Plus, for techno-dinosaurs like me, I didn't understand some of the lingo. Techies might like it better than I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!!! A must read for hacker and non-hacker alike.

    One of the most humble and honest telling of a personal story. Kevin pulls no punches and does not hide behind any excuses for what he did and why he did it (I pulled the fire alarm on my first day of kindergarten to see what it would do). He fully acknowledges the consequences of his actions and atones for them by giving back in this book. This story is the true and original definition of hacker, not what the media has twisted it into. A must read for anyone wishing to understand the mindset and drive of a hacker. Thank you Kevin for bringing to the light (even though geeks tend to avoid light) what it is we strive for - knowledge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Amazing page-turner

    As an IT professional, i was amazed by the tactics that he got away with. Most certainly outdated techniques today but a very fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Amazing. Couldn't stop reading.

    This book was fantastic. I couldn't put it down. Kevin Mitnick describes his early hacking days as a kid, and details the lead up to his very high profile arrest as the "world's most famous hacker." I remember hearing about some of this when I was in high school and college, but I had no idea how amazing the hacking world was at the time. Mitnick provides a very detailed look into the early days of hacking, and provides a very organized approach to engaging the reader so it feels like you are there helping with the hack. It was fascinating to see how easily he was able to social engineer nearly everyone into giving him the information that he wanted. The technical details are there, but they aren't overwhelming. Anyone looking for a thrilling story should pick up this book. The best part? It's true!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5