BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ghostgirl: Homecoming

Average Rating 4
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Breanna F. for TeensReadToo.com

"Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
And if I should die before I awake,
I pray the popular attend my wake."

This is the year for Charlotte Usher. The year that she's finally going to be noticed. She's finally going to h...
"Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
And if I should die before I awake,
I pray the popular attend my wake."

This is the year for Charlotte Usher. The year that she's finally going to be noticed. She's finally going to have what she's always wanted: to be a popular girl and fit in with the head cheerleader in the school, Petula Kensington. She feels that the first day of school will be the start of her new life. She'll finally have the attention of the most popular guy in school, Damen. Who is, of course, Petula's boyfriend.

In a way she does start a new life. Although it's actually her afterlife. Poor Charlotte chokes on a red gummy bear just before she leaves her first period physics class and dies. Her hopes of starting over fresh and finally being noticed for once are all crushed in an instant. Especially when she finds out that she still has to graduate even though she's dead! There's a whole class of students from her school who have died and are still attending classes there.

Charlotte isn't giving up, though. She's still determined to win over Damen. And with the help of Scarlet Kensington (Petula's younger sister) she's sure she'll be able to do it. Scarlet can actually see Charlotte and Charlotte isn't about to let that fact go to waste. She figures she can hang out in Scarlet's body and get through to Damen that way. But her new dead classmates aren't liking Charlotte's plans too much and are making it incredibly hard for her to get anything done. Plus, the more time Scarlet spends time with Damen (when Charlotte isn't in her body, that is) the more Scarlet is starting to like Damen herself.

Charlotte is determined to be noticed. She thinks that if she can just get noticed and be popular that she'll finally move on. But is popularity really what Charlotte needs? Or is it just finally realizing that you don't have to be the center of attention to matter?

This book was great. I couldn't really guess what would happen throughout the book, which I always like. Poor Charlotte has such a rough time! Especially in the beginning of her afterlife. But she pulls through and even learns a valuable lesson along the way. I loved Scarlet's character. The way she acts towards her sister is hilarious. They are total opposites in every way. I loved all the nicknames the other dead students have, too. And I thought the ending was cute. It might not have been totally realistic, but then again this book wasn't really all that realistic in the first place. So I thought the ending fit pretty perfectly. I highly suggest checking this book out.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

wow...

i think there is only one word that can describe this book........TERRIBLE!!
This book was a GAINT was of my time, i only read about a third of it and i was forceing my self to stop. which i did. let me just say this: DONT BOTHER READING THIS BOOK ITS POINTLESS, AN...
i think there is only one word that can describe this book........TERRIBLE!!
This book was a GAINT was of my time, i only read about a third of it and i was forceing my self to stop. which i did. let me just say this: DONT BOTHER READING THIS BOOK ITS POINTLESS, AND BORING AND JUST PLAIN STUPID!!

posted by bookluver98 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breanna F. for TeensReadToo.com

    "Now I lay me down to sleep, <BR/>I pray the Lord my soul to keep. <BR/>And if I should die before I awake, <BR/>I pray the popular attend my wake." <BR/><BR/>This is the year for Charlotte Usher. The year that she's finally going to be noticed. She's finally going to have what she's always wanted: to be a popular girl and fit in with the head cheerleader in the school, Petula Kensington. She feels that the first day of school will be the start of her new life. She'll finally have the attention of the most popular guy in school, Damen. Who is, of course, Petula's boyfriend. <BR/><BR/>In a way she does start a new life. Although it's actually her afterlife. Poor Charlotte chokes on a red gummy bear just before she leaves her first period physics class and dies. Her hopes of starting over fresh and finally being noticed for once are all crushed in an instant. Especially when she finds out that she still has to graduate even though she's dead! There's a whole class of students from her school who have died and are still attending classes there. <BR/><BR/>Charlotte isn't giving up, though. She's still determined to win over Damen. And with the help of Scarlet Kensington (Petula's younger sister) she's sure she'll be able to do it. Scarlet can actually see Charlotte and Charlotte isn't about to let that fact go to waste. She figures she can hang out in Scarlet's body and get through to Damen that way. But her new dead classmates aren't liking Charlotte's plans too much and are making it incredibly hard for her to get anything done. Plus, the more time Scarlet spends time with Damen (when Charlotte isn't in her body, that is) the more Scarlet is starting to like Damen herself. <BR/><BR/>Charlotte is determined to be noticed. She thinks that if she can just get noticed and be popular that she'll finally move on. But is popularity really what Charlotte needs? Or is it just finally realizing that you don't have to be the center of attention to matter? <BR/><BR/>This book was great. I couldn't really guess what would happen throughout the book, which I always like. Poor Charlotte has such a rough time! Especially in the beginning of her afterlife. But she pulls through and even learns a valuable lesson along the way. I loved Scarlet's character. The way she acts towards her sister is hilarious. They are total opposites in every way. I loved all the nicknames the other dead students have, too. And I thought the ending was cute. It might not have been totally realistic, but then again this book wasn't really all that realistic in the first place. So I thought the ending fit pretty perfectly. I highly suggest checking this book out.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    overall good read

    At first it bored me.
    It was interesting yes.
    But at the end it became phenomenal and unforgetable.
    I loved the pieces before every chapter.

    Worth reading=)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    THIS BOOK ROCKS!

    My librarian recommended this book to me a couple of weeks ago and I read it non stop! I identified as I think most teens do, with the characters and the desperation they all feel at times. I just ordered my own copy! This season's MUST have!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST BOOK EVER

    definitely gotta be smart to pick up on ironies in this book. i love that she chokes on a gummy bear, but the reason why she does is profound. this author is awesome and obviously very intelligent. i agree she's like gorey for girls. this book is smart,heart-warming with some pee-in-your-pants moments and lines. READ THIS BOOK.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    Homecoming stands on its own!

    I was at NYCC last week and got a copy of the ARC for this book, Ghostgirl - Homecoming. I hadn't realized it was the second in a series but I read it anyway (now I have to go back and read the first one!)...it was FANTASTIC.

    I won't say anything here as to not spoil the book for people but I was really blown away. I just finished reading it (in tears) about 2 minutes ago and knew I just had to write a quick post to say that it was amazing.

    It was a pleasure reading this and I can't wait to go back and read the first book!
    Jen from Brooklyn

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A very good book!!

    I purchased this book for my daguther; and she went through it like a hot knife through butter!! Which is a good sign that it was a excellent read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    I loved this book.It is very relatable to life in high school, but you learn self love and not to be a follower.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    To the Negative Reviewer(s)...

    Even if you do not like this book, just keep reading. Read anything from instructions on how to change toilet paper, to microwave warranties. Please...read anything in the hopes that you will learn the English language and learn to S-P-E-L-L.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ghostgirl is the new Twilight!

    I just read the ARC of this book and can't wait until it's out July 1. It just proves that ghostgirl is the new twilight. Let the games begin!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    CANT WAIT!

    I cant wait for this to come out! The first book (ghostgirl) was a really great book, so probobley this is going to be better! Tonya Hurley should make a third one after she finishes this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    GOREY FOR GIRLS!!!

    GENIUS!!! i loved the first book and I can't wait for this one!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    Best book this year!

    This book was such a pleasant surprise for me. I got it because of new york public library's 100 best list. It was not only the best dark romantic comedy I've read for girls, but it was also a much deeper book than I thought. I can't wait to read Homecoming! I hope this is a movie soon because it would be killer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    GET THIS BOOK

    this book is killer. i am in college and i love to read. i didn't know what to expect when i picked this book up. i bet a lot of the references and stuff go over some people's heads and the ones who don't get it, don't get it, but it is awesome! i read it all in one sitting and i have it displayed in my dorm room. it's the coolest book i've ever read and i never read a book that made me laugh the way this one did and cry, too. this author really gets it. and for the readers who don't get it, the joke is on you. i am so happy that there are smart books out there for girls instead of fluffy no brain romance trash.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    You won't BELIEVE this BOOK!

    I had no idea what I was getting in to when I picked up this book. The cover is awesome. I read the reviews in all the lit publications online and it got all starred reviews. I thought it might be 'too much' but man, i was wrong. It is heart-warming, cool, and edgy and HYSTERICAL. I loved all the name checks of cool bands and writers. I can Not wait until the next book HOMECOMING. this is the book i've always dreamed of finding. I could not put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wow...

    i think there is only one word that can describe this book........TERRIBLE!! <BR/>This book was a GAINT was of my time, i only read about a third of it and i was forceing my self to stop. which i did. let me just say this: DONT BOTHER READING THIS BOOK ITS POINTLESS, AND BORING AND JUST PLAIN STUPID!!

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    Wonderful

    I thought this book was very close to a teen who had similar feelings. It had moments were you felt sorry for Charlotte and moments were you wanted to slap her. I wish it would tell us more about some of the other ghost teens or let them participate in Charlottes goal for life. The ending I thought was akward and confusing, but it was still great. I recommend this book to anyone with an imagination.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    good ending..until i found out it was a series

    this book was truly...boring and completly ridiculous. the beginning and middle were extremly hard to get through and i am schocked of all the amazing reviews this horriblw book has gotten. the only good part in the book is when Charlotte, the main charecter, goes into the light to pass to the other side leaving the reader unsure about where she went. but then after reading the first one you soon realize that there is a second and third book which leaves the "ok" ending stupid and annoying. DO NOT READ THIS!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Warning: cheesy ending.

    Popularity, the handsome Damen, and a friend is all Charlotte wanted. The new school year would bring all these things closer to Charlotte, she knew it, if only she changed herself a tad bit. But the first day of junior year, things don't go as planned. After a deadly incident involving a gummy bear, Charlotte finds herself on the Other Side of the school. She is able to be on the outside looking in, without the Living Kids seeing her staring with eager eyes: something she always felt but finally came true. It isn't exactly a dream though because now Damen can't fall in love with her! Then Charlotte finds out she is still in high school but having to learn from a dead teacher about Deadiquette, though her hope to become popular is still shining. But when Charlotte discovers that one of the Living Kids can see her, her hope only shines brighter .

    ghostgirl was enjoyable after the first 30 pages. The beginning was dull but when I met the Dead Kids, everything was becoming 'fun'. Though the dialogue was predictable, I couldn't get enough of it! I'm not a fan of the narration (third person but completely descriptive) and the death references took up a lot of space. Things like "dying to be popular" and "he doesn't even know I'm alive" were funny the first time, but they soon became overused.

    Charlotte was selfish and only cared about herself (she even admitted to it) but this is the story of how hard she tried to overcome that. Her logic was interesting and her decisions made the storyline twist and turn with every chapter. The Dead Kids added so much to the story that I can't imagine it without them. They each explained their Life and their Death which was utterly fascinating. Author Tonya Hurley's voice is fun and distinctive but I'd like to see how she would use it in a different book.

    RECOMMENDED

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    ReTaRtEd

    This was a stupid stupid book. Anyone that comes across this book and thinks it looks good because of the cover... well your wrong. This book is retarted. lol

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT A BOOK!

    I SIMPLY LOVED THIS BOOK THE THRILLING EMOTION AND THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE CHARACTER AND ONE'S SELF CAN ONLY BE DESCRIBED AS... ASTONISHING. I LOVED IT! I WAS ALMOST LIKE A MINI-VERSION OF THE TWILIGHT SERIES.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12