Customer Reviews for

ghostgirl

Average Rating 4
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Breanna F. for TeensReadToo.com

"Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
And if I should die before I awake,
I pray the popular attend my wake."

This is the year for Charlotte Usher. The year that she's finally going to be noticed. She's finally going to h...
"Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
And if I should die before I awake,
I pray the popular attend my wake."

This is the year for Charlotte Usher. The year that she's finally going to be noticed. She's finally going to have what she's always wanted: to be a popular girl and fit in with the head cheerleader in the school, Petula Kensington. She feels that the first day of school will be the start of her new life. She'll finally have the attention of the most popular guy in school, Damen. Who is, of course, Petula's boyfriend.

In a way she does start a new life. Although it's actually her afterlife. Poor Charlotte chokes on a red gummy bear just before she leaves her first period physics class and dies. Her hopes of starting over fresh and finally being noticed for once are all crushed in an instant. Especially when she finds out that she still has to graduate even though she's dead! There's a whole class of students from her school who have died and are still attending classes there.

Charlotte isn't giving up, though. She's still determined to win over Damen. And with the help of Scarlet Kensington (Petula's younger sister) she's sure she'll be able to do it. Scarlet can actually see Charlotte and Charlotte isn't about to let that fact go to waste. She figures she can hang out in Scarlet's body and get through to Damen that way. But her new dead classmates aren't liking Charlotte's plans too much and are making it incredibly hard for her to get anything done. Plus, the more time Scarlet spends time with Damen (when Charlotte isn't in her body, that is) the more Scarlet is starting to like Damen herself.

Charlotte is determined to be noticed. She thinks that if she can just get noticed and be popular that she'll finally move on. But is popularity really what Charlotte needs? Or is it just finally realizing that you don't have to be the center of attention to matter?

This book was great. I couldn't really guess what would happen throughout the book, which I always like. Poor Charlotte has such a rough time! Especially in the beginning of her afterlife. But she pulls through and even learns a valuable lesson along the way. I loved Scarlet's character. The way she acts towards her sister is hilarious. They are total opposites in every way. I loved all the nicknames the other dead students have, too. And I thought the ending was cute. It might not have been totally realistic, but then again this book wasn't really all that realistic in the first place. So I thought the ending fit pretty perfectly. I highly suggest checking this book out.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

wow...

i think there is only one word that can describe this book........TERRIBLE!!
This book was a GAINT was of my time, i only read about a third of it and i was forceing my self to stop. which i did. let me just say this: DONT BOTHER READING THIS BOOK ITS POINTLESS, AN...
i think there is only one word that can describe this book........TERRIBLE!!
This book was a GAINT was of my time, i only read about a third of it and i was forceing my self to stop. which i did. let me just say this: DONT BOTHER READING THIS BOOK ITS POINTLESS, AND BORING AND JUST PLAIN STUPID!!

posted by bookluver98 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Good. Good. Good. Good. Good. Good.

    Interesting plot, to much girl drama recomend for 11 year old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    This was pretty good. I think I liked this one better than the first. It was good. Only one more left in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not great, but not terrible.

    I expected a little bit more from this book for some reason. It wasn't great, but it wasn't terrible either. The main character can be very whiny and annoying. There were times that I liked the supporting characters better. All in all it wasn't bad and I will finish reading the last 2 books in the trilogy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Idea but Lacked Depth

    Ghost Girl¿s cover art and packaging are adorable and, in my opinion, it has some of the best book marketing out there. I don¿t know about you but the cover designs kind of made me think back to the Shoe series I used to read as a child. You know the books like Ballet Shoes that had the little window inside the cover. Ah, brings back good memories. Anyway, in addition to the cover art, the story idea is incredibly clever. With all the wonderful marketing and the fun story idea, you would think this book would be a winner but unfortunately it fell a little flat.

    From the book description, you can tell the book has a little bit of a dark side, which I usually like. But the read ended up being a little too gloomy for my taste. The story did hold my interest and I wanted to keep listening (I listened to the audiobook in case you missed the book type listed above). When it was over, I didn¿t feel happy or more so I didn¿t really feel anything.

    Charlotte wants to be popular and that is the bulk of the story. Since this is her primary goal, I struggled to find depth in Charlotte¿s character. She fights hard to achieve her popularity goal even in her afterlife and her persistence is admirable but it wore on me after awhile. In the end, her character grows, which was a relief for me since in 98% of the book she was really shallow and selfish. I wanted to like Charlotte but I found that I just couldn¿t relate to her.

    On the plus side, Hurley¿s writing is expertly descriptive and has a clear tone, albeit a gloomy one. At the beginning of each chapter is a quote from famous literature, poetry, or songs. At times, I liked this touch but then again there were times when I felt the quotes were over done.

    Overall, I have mixed feelings about Ghost Girl. I really wanted to like it because the cover and story idea were so much fun. But this is one of those books that you can¿t judge by its cover and all the other little sparkling marketing features. It¿s possible that Middle School aged children would enjoy this book but I think that even they might find it a little drab and depressing. Maybe the next books in the series will be a little more fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Its ok

    This one wasnt as good as the first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    eh.

    i guess i liked it.the author is pretty dull, the lines cheesy at times. but the plotline was original, so i give kudos for that. a good read if you are into the otherworldly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    it was good

    not as good as the first 1 but stil really good i cant wait to read the next 1 i hope its good to but you have to try thes books you wont regret it at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Philosophical

    http://scholarberry.blogspot.com/

    "'I'm just going to vanish into nothing. Poof.'"

    Charlotte Usher is dying to be popular. Literally.

    When her previous years of school life failed, she promised this time would be different--it would be her year to shine. She tried everything--during the summer she studied Petula Kensington (THE most popular girl in Hawthorne High), stalked Damen (Her ultimate crush) and bought super expensive high heels.

    She even tried to sign up to be a cheerleader. Unfortunately, the rest of the school doesn't think so.

    Then she was partnered up with Damen in Physics--and they were lab partners!

    It was all meant to be (or at least Charlotte seemed to think so) until...well, until Charlotte choked on a gummy bear.

    Yep. A gummy bear.

    Charlotte's a choker, now.

    Turns out? After death, if you haven't finished High School, there's the Dead Ed! Charlotte met Mr. Brain (who spilled his brain slugs each time he laughed), Pru(denc)e who seemed to hate her, Piccolo Pam (who swallowed a Piccolo and died) and a bunch of other Dead kids.

    The Dead kids had one mission--To save their house; The Hawthorne Manor.

    Charlotte, thinks differently. She thinks being dead is an opportunity to be closer to Damen. Besides, Charlotte's learning to Possess someone...Not just someone, maybe...Petula Kensington?

    But when things with Petula doesn't work out well, Charlotte found out that she can be seen by someone--Scarlet. Scarlet Kensington, Petula's little sister (who, by the way, is totally different than Petula) that wears vintage clothes and goth make up. A good come back from the dead, huh?

    Read Ghostgirl by Tonya Hurley to follow Charlotte's ghostly trail in the story!!!

    What I love about the book: That it was philosophical, thoughtful and just really sophisticated. Also? It was very funny at times. Ghostgirl is a good book to learn about your surroundings, how to fit in, and most of all; yourself.

    What I dislike about the book: It's just me, I guess, but sometimes Charlotte seemed too..exaggerating. So it's not Tonya's work that I dislike, but it's Charlotte's capricious and whiny personality. But other than that...I'm good! :D

    http://scholarberry.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    it was ok

    There's a lot of talk about this book and a lot of people have said it's a good book.To me I don't see what the big deal is really. It was an OK book but it wasn't one of those in your face wow books that you get that excited feeling after you're done reading it. I found it a lil annoying at times. Now the cover and page artwork is amazing. It really does have pretty pages. It's a pretty book but not an amazing read. Yet it wasn't the worst thing I have read either. Most might like it but it did really nothing for me.I don't think it lived up to the hype of it. It starts out with Charlotte and her first day of school at the begining of the year.She spent all summer trying to change to impress the guy of her dreams Damen. As fate has it she is partnered with him in physics class and is over the hill estatic. But her world is turned upside down as she is leaving class and chokes to death on a gummy bear(that has to be my favorite part of the book,not that she died but because she died from choking on a gummy bear lol)After she dies she learns she has to attend classes for dead kids to help them pass on to the afterlife. But Charlotte can't quit thinking of Damen so she persues him while invisible only to find out she can be seen by Scarlet the local goth girl. Scarlet lets her possess her in order to kiss Damen once and for all. In the process Charlotte learns what's keeping her back and gains the popularity she desired while alive. Like I said it was an OK book,check it out for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    It was...eh

    While I liked the book,the main character (Charlotte) got on my nerves after a while. Overall,it was a good book that could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Ehh...

    I had high hopes for this book, but it really wasn't that great. Charlotte was WAY too obsessed with popularity, and her crush Damen. Well, it's a good book, but it's not for me. However, I liked the ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2