Customer Reviews for

Ghostland

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A very enjoyable Book. Recommend you have your husband ,boyfriend close by in another room while reading this book

I found myself reseaching the orgins of the characters on the internet. All very, very interesting

posted by 1268239 on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Plot lost to Sex Scenes

I loved the whole premise of this dark fantasy but... If the author had not thrown in so much non-plot related sex and instead continued to work on the premise, it could have been really good. I don't mind explicit sex scenes but only if they are necessary or in addit...
I loved the whole premise of this dark fantasy but... If the author had not thrown in so much non-plot related sex and instead continued to work on the premise, it could have been really good. I don't mind explicit sex scenes but only if they are necessary or in addition to an already developed story line.

posted by GA_Reader on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    A very enjoyable Book. Recommend you have your husband ,boyfriend close by in another room while reading this book

    I found myself reseaching the orgins of the characters on the internet. All very, very interesting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    Ghostland is a dynamic and riveting tale set in post-apocalyptic

    Ghostland is a dynamic and riveting tale set in post-apocalyptic earth. From the first page I was swept away with the story. The heroine’s strength is subtle, but undeniable. The hero, everything you’d want a hero to be…and then some! Unforeseen twists in the plot kept me guessing until the very last page. Books like Ghostland are hard for me to read. Why? Because Jory Strong’s talent quickly ensnared me in the world she created, because I stayed up until the early morning hours reading under the covers, because I had an uncontrollable urge to flip to the last ten pages so I could see how the story ended; and when it finally did end, I was saddened because it was over. So, if you enjoy losing yourself in an exceptionally well-written story with vivid world-building and outstanding characters, Ghostland will live up to all your expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    loved it!

    Beautiful! Complex storyline, great heroine and very strong writing..loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enchanting, unpredictable, and extremely sexy!

    This book held me captivated..I just could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Powerful story

    GHOSTLAND is a powerful story of the struggle between right, wrong, revenge, passion, and forgiveness. Jory Strong wrote a complex, emotionally charged tale, successfully creating a world and characters that captivated me. Aisling first appears as a fragile woman who has never really had much in her life, but she quickly shows deep strength and while her confidence waivers, she always does what she MUST do, even when she is scared. Zureal was pissed. He did not like losing control, and he was determined to make Aisling pay. What he wasn't prepared for was the scorching heat of desire that he felt when he tracked her. I could feel the sizzle of passion as I turned the smoldering pages. Not only was their passion hot, but the action was riveting as they struggled to locate the fiend responsible for "Ghost" and in the process came to realize the feelings they held for each other.

    When I finished reading GHOSTLAND, I so looked forward to revisiting the post-apocalyptic world Ms. Strong had created that ran out to buy SPIDER-TOUCHED, book 2 in the Ghostland series, which I also loved...now I just have to wait patiently until September 2010 for the next installment, HEALER'S CHOICE.

    Aemelia
    Enchanting Reviews
    October 2009

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cool plot, Hot lovers!

    I was never really a fan of urban fantasy, but, I was so intrigued by the cover of Ghostland I bought the book! Am I ever glad I did! What a fascinating world the author has created. Yes, there are vampires witches, were wolves and even angels, but the stars of this story are a shamaness named Aisling and a Djinn named Zureal. She summoned him in a time of need and although he was compelled to help he has vowed to kill her. The attraction the couple feels for each other is overwhelming and complete. Together they join forces to stop a threat to both their worlds. The plot is complex without being too convoluted. The characters are interesting and the love scenes are HOT! Great book! I can't wait for the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    A Definite MUST-READ!

    I've never been a fan of the post apocalyptic genre, but when Jory Strong gave me the opportunity to read an advanced copy of Ghostland, I figured "It's Jory Strong, so its got to be good -- right?" Well, let's just say this book isn't 'good'. It's AMAZING!!!!!! I ended up reading it all in one day and am already slavering for the next in what I hope will be a series!!!

    As usual, her writing captures your attention from the very first page and introduces you to a fascinating, imaginative world where Vampires and Were's exist, but are secondary (at least in this story) to the Djinn and 'Angels'. In a genre that is glutted with Vampires and Were's, it is refreshing to read about the Djinn and 'Angels' and Jory's take on them is creative and unique -- I can't wait to learn more about them!

    The main characters, Zurael and Aisling are courageous, honest and likable, and the passion that burns between them is visceral and hot (burning up the pages HOT!). Even more important to me, you don't have the game-playing and misunderstandings that happens so often in romances -- the strong feelings between the two main characters may not be what they initially wanted and can actually lead to their destruction, but I love how they don't try to deny it or do something stupid to drive the other away.

    Whether you're already a Jory Strong fan, or thinking of trying her out, I can't recommend this book enough!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Urban fantasy readers will relish GHOSTLAND and look forward to more escapades in Jory Strong's new California

    The Oakland Diocese asks self-taught shamaness Aisling McConaughey to help rescue an affluent VIP constituent's mistress Elena Rousseau. She would prefer to say no, but knows she has no choice as Elena will be sacrificed otherwise and so will the orphans and Geneva that Aisling loves. Aided by Aziel her spirit guardian disguised as a ferret, Aisling enter the dangerous Ghostland where spirits dwell.

    She knows she needs help to accomplish the quest so she summons demon Djinn Zurael en Caym to her side. He is outraged, but helpless as she has him bound; however, Zurael vows to kill the shamaness the moment he completes his mission which will end her summoning spell. However, as they work together, these natural enemies fall in love.

    The vivid description of a post apocalyptic world that followed The Last War is dark, grim, but vivid; yet interwoven into the strong story line. Aisling is a terrific heroine who finds her already complicated mission becoming even more multifaceted and convoluted as she wonders why Elena is neeed as a ritual sacrifice and how love intrudes on her life. Zurael anchors the supernatural making the paranormal seem natural. Urban fantasy readers will relish GHOSTLAND and look forward to more escapades in Jory Strong's new California (and beyond).

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read for old and new Jory Strong fans!

    "Ghost Land" by Jory Strong. I love this book. I was a little skeptical about the book because it is a post apctolytic urban fiction. That is not really my favorite book to read, but I would have read it anyway, because I have loved Jory Strong's books for years. Up until now she has always written erotic romances both contemporary and paranormal. "Ghostland" is a departure for her in that it is an romantic urban fiction. I was surprised at how much I loved this book. The depth of world building is amazing. As a reader you except the story at face value, but know there are layers of this world that you can plunge into if you so chose too. The characters are compelling and complete. The love story is hot,sweet and gripping.

    If you are a long time fan of Jory Strong, you will love this new book. Yes, it is a little different from her other work, but this is just a new series for us to delve into. If you are new to Jory Strong I think you have stumbled across her at just the right time.

    I think money is tight from everyone right now. You might not want to try a new author that you might not like or you might not want to spend money on a favorite authors new series. "Ghostland" is a very well thought out story that has been written wonderfully. Diffentely worth your hard earned money! This is going on my keeper shelf and I am looking forward to the next book and where Ms. Strong will take us next in this new world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Review of Ghostland

    Jory gave me the opportunity to read and review her book Ghostland, the start of a brand new series. In the post-apocalyptic world, humans with special gifts and talents have emerged along with Weres, Vampires and other magical beings.

    Aisling summons Djinn Prince Zurael to her side in the ghostlands to save a woman from being sacrificed. Zurael is enraged with his summoning by Aisling and intends to kill her after finding an ancient tablet. However, he is ensnared by Aisling's innocent spirit and beguiling charms. Aisling is hired by Elena, the woman she saved, to investigate the origins of a new drug and how Elena ended up as the sacrificial lamb in a black mass. Zurael aids Aisling in her investigation.

    The chemistry between Zurael and Aisling is sizzling. I enjoyed everything about Ghostland. Readers of Jory's books (Supernatural Bonds, the Angelini, etc.) will enjoy her newest series. I can't wait for her next book in the series, Spider-Touched. You should check out Jory Strong's website: www.jorystrong.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2