Customer Reviews for

Ghostly Paws

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    168 pages

    This 168 page story is well edited. It is cute. It reminds me of "Bewitched," the television series. Only Chance is just begining to realize her witchiness. This is a really clean, fluff type of book. It is a light hearted, fun book even though it it is a paranormal mystery. There is a very undetailed murder, with a bonk on the head and some blood splatter. There is a dab of romance, a coven of cats, some wicked brew, a Bates' hotel like mansion with some rather odd Bateses living therein. I hate to admit it, but I really enjoyed this funny, wacked out book. I found it rather spell binding. For ages 12 and up. Chick lit.

    AD

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Great weekend read

    I really enjoyed this book. I absolutely love cats, I have 3 myself, and i loved the relationship between Willa and Pandora. This book was a very light and entertaining read. Great for a weekend getaway, or when you need a sort of palette cleanser between heavy novels. I eagerly anticipate the next journey with Willa & Pandora!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    surprised by the story

    I was caught up in this quickly and couldnt wait to get to the next clue
    And here i thought my cat was just yelling because he was hungry, i need to pay closer attention!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Great Short Read!

    Was a quick, great read! It reminded me of an afternoon TV movie. Great mystery which kept you guessing the outcome till the end.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Liked it

    A little magic, mystery and romance in a cute story

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Very good; cries out for a prequel.

    Although this is #1 in a series, and I look forward to the next book, I found myself wishing for more backstory. There were references to a past that sounded very interesting, and I want to learn more about it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    Enjoyable debut to a new series! Wilhemina "Willa" Ch

    Enjoyable debut to a new series!

    Wilhemina "Willa" Chance has been a crime journalist "down south", but after being seriously injured in an accident she returns to her hometown, Mystic Notch.  She's settling back into the small New Hampshire town where she's opened a bookstore, getting reacquainted with her younger sister (who happens to be the sheriff) and spending time with her good friend Pepper who claims she can "fix what ails ya" with what she adds to your tea.




    One morning as she walks to the bookstore, she notices lights on in the library and is curious as Lavinia, the librarian never opens the library that early.  She investigates and finds Lavinia dead at the bottom of the steps.




    Where it really gets interesting is back at the bookstore when she sees a mist, knowing what's to come.  Since her accident, Willa can see spirits and sure enough, Lavinia is there to tell Willa that she did NOT fall but was pushed down the steps.




    Add to the mix Pandora, the cat Willa "inherited" from her grandmother...a cat that...could it be?  Is Pandora trying to tell Willa something? 




    I couldn't help but think "How wonderful it would be if Joe Grey and Dulcie would visit Pandora and the other cats" (if you haven't read the Shirley Rousseau Murphy books, I recommend them!).




    I'm looking forward to the next installment!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2015

    A Delightful Read

    A cute book to finish the day. Well edited, and few errors. Look forward to reading another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Good vs evil.... Fast paced

    Very interesting magic cats
    Bingaux

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2015

    Fun and lighthearted murder mystery. "Fun and lighthearted&

    Fun and lighthearted murder mystery. "Fun and lighthearted" might seem incompatible with "murder," but Ms. Dobbs makes it work. Quite well, in fact.The mystery isn't particularly complex, but it's interesting. The characters aren't deeply developed, but they're appealing. And the touch of the paranormal is just fun. Plus, you know, cats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. It's nice light reading.

    I really enjoyed this book. It's nice light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    Highly recoment ghostiy paws as a fun and enteranting read.

    Im making this author one of my favorites. I cant wait to read her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    great read

    I really enjoyed this book, loved the cats

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    This was a 304 page fast read.  Very entertaining.  Full of myst

    This was a 304 page fast read.  Very entertaining.  Full of mystery and clues at every corner.  Cats, 
    ghostly endeavors, questions and more questions to figure out.  Just when you think you know who did 
    another puzzle shows up.  The only reason I didn't give this five stars is when the author starts talking to 
    animals it pulled me out of the story line.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Very cute easy read. I really liked it. While reading it I was visulizing every scene. Some times it is nice just to read a cute, clean mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was a really great cozy mystery. The main character, Willa,

    This was a really great cozy mystery. The main character, Willa, is an ex-crime journalist that has returned home to run her grandmother's book store. She has a hard time keeping her nose out of investigations and likes to know what's going on. When she finds the local librarian dead - it doesn't look like an accident and the librarian's ghost confirms it. Knowing the ghost won't give her any peace until the murderer is found, she dives right in.




    Now Mystic Notch is a special place, with some very special people and animals. The cats in particular are a special variety. They help keep evil from taking over the town and were a really great addition to the story. Pandora helps out whenever she can and I loved her personality. The mystery seemed to be a simple one at first, especially with some inside information from the ghost.




    The mystery takes some interesting turns though and Willa finds she may be the next target. She needs to work with Officer Handsome and her sister, the Sheriff, to figure out what's going on. I was surprised several times at the turn of events the story took - and that's always a great thing in a mystery. The only downfall was right at the very beginning. The writing style took me a bit to get used to - at times it seemed almost like the author was taking down to me. Once I got used to it, it didn't bother me at all. It was just not what I was expecting going right into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Delightful Read

    I enjoyed this book and ordered the second in this series as soon as I finished it. Using her cat, Pandora, to help solve the mystery is a fun twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Also nonymous

    Being a cat lover I enjoyed thi book. It had mystery and some magic which is a good combination. I will certainly read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Enjoyed

    Just a cute book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2