Customer Reviews for

Ghostman

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Learn from my mistakes. It was almost bedtime, but I thought I w

Learn from my mistakes. It was almost bedtime, but I thought I would sample a few chapters of Ghostman by Roger Hobbs before calling it a night. Yeah, good plan - didn't work. And I was very bleary eyed at work the next morning.

Atlantic City. The perfect heist, perfec...
Learn from my mistakes. It was almost bedtime, but I thought I would sample a few chapters of Ghostman by Roger Hobbs before calling it a night. Yeah, good plan - didn't work. And I was very bleary eyed at work the next morning.

Atlantic City. The perfect heist, perfectly planned- treasury bills on their way to a casino. But.....the best laid schemes of mice and men....

When things go horribly wrong, Marcus, the orchestrator (jugmarker) of the heist gets in touch with 'Jack' (aren't all the best anti-heroes named Jack?!) in hopes of salvaging part of his plan. Jack owes Marcus for something that happened on another job. Since that job Jack has disappeared - like a ghost.

"My name isn't really Jack. My name isn't John, George, Robert, Michael or Steven, either. It isn't any of the names that appear on my drivers licenses and it isn't on my passports or credit cards. My real name isn't anywhere, except maybe on a college diploma and a couple of school records in my safety-deposit box. Jack Delton was just an alias, and it was long since retired. I'd used it for a job five years ago and never again since......Only two people in the world knew that name."

Jack is caught between warring criminals, his own proclivity for living on the edge and the past. We slowly learn what happened in the botched robbery five years ago and how Jack came to be the Ghostman.

Hobbs had me hooked from page one. The opening scenes are action filled, addictive and set the pace for the rest of the book. The story never falters or stalls and had me enthralled until I (reluctantly) turned the last page. The plot twists and turns in unexpected directions, taking the reader on a thrill packed ride.

Hobbs has obviously done a great deal of research into the criminal underworld of robberies, casinos, security and more. (Who knew you could kill someone with nutmeg?) The details included are fascinating and really add depth to the story. This is not a glossed over paint by the numbers plot. In fact, I stopped at one point to go online and read about the author. I really could not believe this was a debut novel.

"Roger Hobbs graduated from Reed College in Portland, Oregon in 2011, where he majored in English. His first book, GHOSTMAN, was written during the summer between his junior and senior years at Reed. He spent the school year rewriting it and editing. The manuscript was sent off on the day he graduated¿. A few weeks later it caused an uproar at the 2011 Frankfurt Book Fair, and has since sold in more than fifteen countries around the world."

Who is going to love this book? Well, in my opinion, everyone. But if you're a fan of Reacher and the 'Oceans' heist movies, then this is one for you. I absolutely loved it - Five stars all the way.

Roger Hobbs: "My protagonist may be on the other side of the law from Lee's (Childs) heroic Jack Reacher, but he's just as smart, rough and principled. If I can get anyone to stay up all night reading, then I've done my job." Job done, Roger - in spades. More please.

posted by Twink on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent, but hype left me expecting more. Rolling Stone said Hobb

Decent, but hype left me expecting more.
Rolling Stone said Hobbs did extensive research, interviewing real criminals to make the book as accurate as possible. I can't speak to the accuracy of the criminal lingo and lifestyle, but every few chapters there was the clunk...
Decent, but hype left me expecting more.
Rolling Stone said Hobbs did extensive research, interviewing real criminals to make the book as accurate as possible. I can't speak to the accuracy of the criminal lingo and lifestyle, but every few chapters there was the clunk of inaccurate science or engineering.

I'll read his next book, but I hope the publisher will fact-check it better.

posted by gnocci on March 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Learn from my mistakes. It was almost bedtime, but I thought I w

    Learn from my mistakes. It was almost bedtime, but I thought I would sample a few chapters of Ghostman by Roger Hobbs before calling it a night. Yeah, good plan - didn't work. And I was very bleary eyed at work the next morning.

    Atlantic City. The perfect heist, perfectly planned- treasury bills on their way to a casino. But.....the best laid schemes of mice and men....

    When things go horribly wrong, Marcus, the orchestrator (jugmarker) of the heist gets in touch with 'Jack' (aren't all the best anti-heroes named Jack?!) in hopes of salvaging part of his plan. Jack owes Marcus for something that happened on another job. Since that job Jack has disappeared - like a ghost.

    "My name isn't really Jack. My name isn't John, George, Robert, Michael or Steven, either. It isn't any of the names that appear on my drivers licenses and it isn't on my passports or credit cards. My real name isn't anywhere, except maybe on a college diploma and a couple of school records in my safety-deposit box. Jack Delton was just an alias, and it was long since retired. I'd used it for a job five years ago and never again since......Only two people in the world knew that name."

    Jack is caught between warring criminals, his own proclivity for living on the edge and the past. We slowly learn what happened in the botched robbery five years ago and how Jack came to be the Ghostman.

    Hobbs had me hooked from page one. The opening scenes are action filled, addictive and set the pace for the rest of the book. The story never falters or stalls and had me enthralled until I (reluctantly) turned the last page. The plot twists and turns in unexpected directions, taking the reader on a thrill packed ride.

    Hobbs has obviously done a great deal of research into the criminal underworld of robberies, casinos, security and more. (Who knew you could kill someone with nutmeg?) The details included are fascinating and really add depth to the story. This is not a glossed over paint by the numbers plot. In fact, I stopped at one point to go online and read about the author. I really could not believe this was a debut novel.

    "Roger Hobbs graduated from Reed College in Portland, Oregon in 2011, where he majored in English. His first book, GHOSTMAN, was written during the summer between his junior and senior years at Reed. He spent the school year rewriting it and editing. The manuscript was sent off on the day he graduated¿. A few weeks later it caused an uproar at the 2011 Frankfurt Book Fair, and has since sold in more than fifteen countries around the world."

    Who is going to love this book? Well, in my opinion, everyone. But if you're a fan of Reacher and the 'Oceans' heist movies, then this is one for you. I absolutely loved it - Five stars all the way.

    Roger Hobbs: "My protagonist may be on the other side of the law from Lee's (Childs) heroic Jack Reacher, but he's just as smart, rough and principled. If I can get anyone to stay up all night reading, then I've done my job." Job done, Roger - in spades. More please.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    I am a big fan of Jack Reacher and the character in this book re

    I am a big fan of Jack Reacher and the character in this book reminds me of Jack. There is a lot of the same type of analysis done by each character. This Jack may be a little less "heroic" by is nevertheless quite engaging and the action and suspense are very similiar to the way Lee Childs writes.Please give us more of these stories Roger!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Wow!

    Love, love, love this book. The story keeps you enthralled from page one up until the very end. I can hardly wait for more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Very much along the lines of the Parker stories of Richard Stark

    Very much along the lines of the Parker stories of Richard Stark, but far more (and unnecessarily) gruesome. Hobbs, however, lacks Stark's (Westlake's, actually) skill in quickly and incisively defining character. Plot rolls along, but the lack of character weakens it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Decent, but hype left me expecting more. Rolling Stone said Hobb

    Decent, but hype left me expecting more.
    Rolling Stone said Hobbs did extensive research, interviewing real criminals to make the book as accurate as possible. I can't speak to the accuracy of the criminal lingo and lifestyle, but every few chapters there was the clunk of inaccurate science or engineering.

    I'll read his next book, but I hope the publisher will fact-check it better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Unbelievable...

    I mean the storyline is not plausible. Do you remember the tv show Mission Impossible? It was doing the same thing back then. No sequels please.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the best book I've read this year! Could not put down t

    This is the best book I've read this year! Could not put down this page turining novel. It is gritty, adrenaline elevating, pulse pounding action story of a ghostman sent in to clean up an Atlantic City heist that has gone terrible wrong. There are scenes written with such intensity that your heart will be racing. The characters are intriguing and the story is so engrossing. I can't wait for the next book from this dedut author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Graduates from Reed College (Portland) the same day his novel is

    Graduates from Reed College (Portland) the same day his novel is published. Truly a mind like few others. And it delivers.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Great book. A must read!

    Roger Hobbs has donee a great job! Keeps you guessing right up to the end. Can't wait to read his next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Recommend

    Good reading. Action moved at good pace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    NOIR AT ITS BEST.

    Any fan of noir will see shades of some of the best noir novelists of all time. If this is his first effort I can't wait until he matures a bit. For those giving this book less than 5 stars they dont understand the genre. It is about bad people doing bad things to other bad people and getting away with it. Think the Parker novels from Westlake. This guy gets it and will only get better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Plot holes u could drive a bus thru...

    Sociopath for a hero? Was still an interesting read..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Wasted money.

    Sad criminal as a "hero".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    pretty good book...not exactly a likeable protagonist, but not u

    pretty good book...not exactly a likeable protagonist, but not unlikeable either...decent plot that is kept moving...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I purchased this book from an airport book store after I asked t

    I purchased this book from an airport book store after I asked the proprietor what he would recommend for a good airplane read.   I was not disappointed.  The plot moved along quickly, and although there were some unbelievable moments, I enjoyed this book.  My 3+ hour flight was over before I could finish so I had to finish it at my destination hotel.  

    I'm not a fan of the ending, it seems a little too unbelievable.  I believe a sequel will be forthcoming and perhaps the 'loose ends' will be tied up.  

    Good book.  I enjoyed it.  That's the point.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Great read

    Terrific thriller. Page turner. Great insights into the world of heists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    A terrificv thriller. Unputdownable! The best since Jack Reach

    A terrificv thriller. Unputdownable! The best since Jack Reacher came on the scene. And to you who brought it up, I loved Mission Impossible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great Settings and Characters

    Fun, quick, bordering on intense read. It is difficult to get these characters out of my thoughts. I INVESTED in the Ghost Man.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    This is a different perspective that's as exciting as most detective stories tha I've read. Roger Hobbs has a great career ahead; I hope he keeps writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    It might be too soon to say, but I have been waiting for someone

    It might be too soon to say, but I have been waiting for someone to pick up the slack since the last Richard Stark Parker book. Much like Parker Jack isn't considered a hero, or even liked much, by many people. I read some of the complaints on here and if you are looking for a hero as your main character than you should be looking somewhere else. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3