Customer Reviews for

Ghostopolis

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Steph for TeensReadToo.com

Ghosts roam among the living on Earth, and it's up to Frank Gallows to go and catch them. However, Frank isn't exactly the best guy for the task - he's lazy and messy and usually eats food in people's fridges after a successful catch. Nevertheless, he still gets the job...
Ghosts roam among the living on Earth, and it's up to Frank Gallows to go and catch them. However, Frank isn't exactly the best guy for the task - he's lazy and messy and usually eats food in people's fridges after a successful catch. Nevertheless, he still gets the job done. That is, until he accidentally transports his ghost horse AND a human boy named Garth to Ghostopolis. Now, it's up to Frank and his mysterious ex-fiance, Claire, to go back and return Garth to Earth. There's one small problem: Master Vaugner controls Ghostopolis and won't let Garth - a boy who seems to have as much power as himself - go. So, not only does Garth have to get through mummies, zombies, and skeletons alongside his loyal bone-horse, Skinny, but he also has to fight a powerful dark master in order to return to his mother. Doug TenNapel writes an intriguing story about the afterlife and where ghosts come from. His graphic novel is full of eye-catching illustrations and witty jokes that pull the reader in from the first line. GHOSTOPOLIS is recommended for anyone who's up for a quick and fun read; this book won't disappoint.

posted by TeensReadToo on September 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Doug TenNapel does it again

This novel was very very good. I was hooked on the book after only two pages. It seemed like the more I read the better it got.The artwork is nice and the plot was great.also the book was very entertaining. Someof my favorite parts was when Garth was able to ride the un...
This novel was very very good. I was hooked on the book after only two pages. It seemed like the more I read the better it got.The artwork is nice and the plot was great.also the book was very entertaining. Someof my favorite parts was when Garth was able to ride the unrideable horse who he called Skinny. I liked it because out of all the people in ghostopolis who lived there for years could never ride the horse.Then Garth,some newbie comes and is able to ride it the first day he comes.Another part I liked was the end when Garth faught vaugner.I like it because a little boy like Garth faught a man twice as old as him and he still won.I was disapointed that Garth had to go throgh all that and be scared just because of some lazy gost hunter.Other than that I would definitely recomend this book to outhers. Also im looking forward to reading more books by Doug TenNael such as Bad Island, and Power Up.

posted by bigman21 on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Steph for TeensReadToo.com

    Ghosts roam among the living on Earth, and it's up to Frank Gallows to go and catch them. However, Frank isn't exactly the best guy for the task - he's lazy and messy and usually eats food in people's fridges after a successful catch. Nevertheless, he still gets the job done. That is, until he accidentally transports his ghost horse AND a human boy named Garth to Ghostopolis. Now, it's up to Frank and his mysterious ex-fiance, Claire, to go back and return Garth to Earth. There's one small problem: Master Vaugner controls Ghostopolis and won't let Garth - a boy who seems to have as much power as himself - go. So, not only does Garth have to get through mummies, zombies, and skeletons alongside his loyal bone-horse, Skinny, but he also has to fight a powerful dark master in order to return to his mother. Doug TenNapel writes an intriguing story about the afterlife and where ghosts come from. His graphic novel is full of eye-catching illustrations and witty jokes that pull the reader in from the first line. GHOSTOPOLIS is recommended for anyone who's up for a quick and fun read; this book won't disappoint.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    I fell in love wit this book, I read it at the Library, and now

    I fell in love wit this book, I read it at the Library, and now i want to buy it so i can read it over and over and over and over again OMG I LOVE IT SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Doug TenNapel does it again

    This novel was very very good. I was hooked on the book after only two pages. It seemed like the more I read the better it got.The artwork is nice and the plot was great.also the book was very entertaining. Someof my favorite parts was when Garth was able to ride the unrideable horse who he called Skinny. I liked it because out of all the people in ghostopolis who lived there for years could never ride the horse.Then Garth,some newbie comes and is able to ride it the first day he comes.Another part I liked was the end when Garth faught vaugner.I like it because a little boy like Garth faught a man twice as old as him and he still won.I was disapointed that Garth had to go throgh all that and be scared just because of some lazy gost hunter.Other than that I would definitely recomend this book to outhers. Also im looking forward to reading more books by Doug TenNael such as Bad Island, and Power Up.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Really good book..

    I liked this book, its a really interesting reading book i would recommend this book to a friend because of the mystery and its great plot. Also the book looked a bit freaky because of its cover and its Title "Ghostoplis" i thought it was going to be a book about freaking (like i said) but it turns out it had a twist to it its sad also because the boy Garth went to the spirit world and met his Grandfather, a man his mom never wanted to talk about. that was a really good twist to the book in after all i loved the book and i would recommend it to a friend

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Good story for young teens

    This is a good story for young teens, with a spooky theme.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    must check out this book!!!!!

    In this book by Doug TenNapel, A boy called Garth Hale has been zapped to the underworld by a washed old ghost wrangler called Frank gallows.He finds out that he has a special ability.Soon the leader of ghostopolis wants to take his power so that he could have more power over ghostopolis.but now, he finds his grandfather ghost cecil and both try to try and find a way to get garth back to earth. then gallows gets to ghostopolis with his ex fiancee Claire to rescue garth and fix his mistake.
    If I had to recommend this book to a friend,I would because it is a long comic book. Also their is little reading.what I like about this book is that you could look at the book and create your own dialogue.Also if you like this book, you could also read tommysaurus rex, monster zoo and creature tech.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    I would reccomend this book to a child that does not understand where the people go when they die

    I would recommend this book to my friends because this book is very interesting. This book is about Frank Gallows capturing all the ghost that did not want to go to the afterlife and decided to stay on earth. Garth has an incuralble disease and he thinks he is going to die. Garth was sent to Ghostoplis by mistake so he is trying to find a way back to earth. Frank Gallows sent him so he made a promise to Garth's mother to bring him back to earth. Frank Gallows and his ex-girlfriend went to bring him back they had a difficult time doing it there were many people after Garth especially Vaugner. Garth meets his grandfather in Ghostopolis that he never meet and told him why and Garth's mother never again talked. Garth destroyed Vaugner and Franks ex was crowned queen of Ghostopolis. Garth got back to earth and he brought back the earrings that his grandfather did not let Garth's mother use. Garth's mother said that she forgave his father. I am glad that Garth was able to come back to earth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Afterlife.

    *Engaging.
    *Fascinating.
    *Energetic.
    *You could probably read this graphic novel in one sitting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Omg

    Read this book soooooooooooo amazing i would rate more so on a scale frome 1 to 100 its a 100

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Awesome!

    This is the best comic book ive read so far.Skeleton horses,a young boy,and its up to Frank to save the day.Its just AMAZING.You have to read it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    ghostopolis

    The reason I would recommend this book to my friends, because this book is very interesting. This book is about Frank Gallows capturing the entire ghost that did not want to go to the afterlife and decided to stay on earth. Garth has an incurable disease and he thinks he is going to die. Garth was sent to Ghostoplis by mistake so he is trying to find a way back to earth. Frank Gallows sent him so he made a promise to Garth's mother to bring him back to earth. Frank Gallows and he ex girlfriend went to bring him back they had a difficult time doing it there were many people after Garth especially Vaugner. Garth meets his grandfather in Ghostopolis that he never meets and told him why and Garth's mother never again talked. Garth destroyed Vaugner and Franks ex was crowned queen of Ghostopolis. Garth got back to earth and he brought back the earrings that his grandfather did not let Garth's mother use. Garth's mother said that she forgave his father. I am glad that Garth was able to come back to earth

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1